We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Boven Villa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterval Boven
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Boven Villa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Boven Villa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 59: English reviews
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The place is really beautiful and a relaxing break from hectic city life. Sean shows a lot of concern for his guests. I liked the fact we were able to be as noisy as we please. The rooms were really beautiful and in a very clean state.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zinhle N
Summerland, British Columbia
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I spent the night of Valentine's day 2014 at Boven Villa on our way to Kruger Park. Sean gave us a very warm welcome and took great care of us. The guest house is a beautiful thatched building with 5 suites and our room was top quality and roomy with lovely bedding and towels and very convenient...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris And Carol S
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review

Good afternoon Chris and Carol Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of Boven Villa. We are so pleased that your stay with us met your expectations. Sending you both best wishes Regards from Sunny South Africa Sean

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 18 February 2014

If you are looking for a welcoming and comfortable place to lay your head and feed your tummy Boven Villa is the only place you should consider when visiting Boven. The management are friendly and well equipped to make your stay a great experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dalton91
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review

Good afternoon Dalton Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of Boven Villa. Amos, my gardening assistant wishes to thank you for your very kind donation. Any time you are in the area to climb our fabulous mountains please pop in. Kind regards Sean

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We went to Boven for a climbing weekend and stayed at the Villa! Sean was a gracious and amazing host not to mention a excellent cook!! My advice if staying there definitely ask Sean to make dinners as well as breakfast you wont go wrong. Rooms and entire setting was first class!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarcoBrocc
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review

Good afternoon Marco Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to write such a lovely review. The mountains around our picturesque town are world famous for their rock climbing routes. A little bit of heaven on our doorstep. Enjoy the 'Lowveld Memories ' Book and anytime you are in the again please pop in. Regards...

Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent 3 nights at Boven Villa this December. Sean was a gracious host and was on hand at all times to sort out any issues. Sean and his support lady, Joyce, provided a professional service. We were given free reign to use the kitchen which is normally reserved for staff only. He made us feel completely at home. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bflouw
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review

Good morning to the Louw Family Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am so pleased to hear that your stay at Boven Villa was a good one and that you were looked after. Have a great 2014 and look forward to welcoming you back to Boven Villa in the near future....

Bruxelles
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at Boven Villa 2 nights on the way to and from Kruger NP. Elephant room upstairs is lovely and very comfortable. Beautiful and interesting garden : roses, trees, birds Sean is very friendly and helpful. Anne Marie & Jean Paul, Brussels

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amjp66
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review

Festive Greetings Anne Marie and Jean Paul Thank you so much for this cheerful review. It restores my faith in TripAdvisor. I appreciate that one cannot please everyone all the time, however the previous reviewers nasty attacks were unjust and personal. So thank you for such positive feedback. I am so glad that you enjoyed your trip to South Africa...

Alberton, South Africa
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The stay and the accommodation was pleasant but the attitude of the owner was nothing but poor. Sean Larkin (Owner) is very facetious and pedantic and childish when we stayed there on the weekend from the 21st - 25th of November. We then booked for the weekend of 13 - 17 December and when we got a confirmation email on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SonjaFroneman
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review

Good Morning It is difficult to know how to respond to your review of Boven Villa. You stayed at Boven Villa for 4 nights, then on departure booked another 4 nights bringing your family along as well. This would not have been done if you had been treated as terribly as you have indicated. That is a complete contradiction. The...

Bali, Indonesia
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I recently stayed here and agree with all the other great reviews! Sean is indeed an excellent and charming host. He made us laugh and organized requested tours before we even arrived! We made our reservations while driving there.... The guest lodge is clean, expansive, welcoming, spacious and very nicely appointed. The amenities are abundant and first class, so many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ceslie
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review

Good morning Ceslie Wow, thank you so much for those excellent words. We strive to deliver a good service to our guests and this type of feedback makes it all worthwhile. Thank you for bringing your special kind of inner peace to Boven Villa. Kind regards from Sunny South Africa Sean

Nelspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 6 October 2013

One night at Boven Villa and our group felt as though we had been on a week long holiday!!! Peaceful, private, safe, secure and so beautiful! Sean is the perfect host, nothing is too much trouble for him. Dinner - bed - breakfast...EVERYTHING is just perfect. (Dinner was especially delicious - home baked bread to die for!) Boven Villa is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl v
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review

Good morning Cheryl Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of Boven Villa. I am so glad that your group had a good experience. Hopefully next time will be an extended stay, so that you are able to explore the nearby waterfalls and mountain bike trails. See you soon on your travels. Seanj

Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

The attentiveness and great experience starts with the interactions during the booking... It continues at the same level. Great place for a stop over to Kruger. Easy to find and good food. Safe parking. Will return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GertdeBeer
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review

Good morning Gentlemen Thank you for your lovely review of Boven Villa. I am very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable overnight stay. Here's hoping that you managed to see some of the big cats in KNP. Whenever you are passing through this way be sure to bare Boven Villa in mind. Best wishes Sean

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterval Boven
0.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Waterval Boven Malaga
1.2 km away
Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven
0.4 km away
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
#1 of 7 in Waterval Boven
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 km away
Saragossa Game Reserve
Saragossa Game Reserve
#1 of 10 in Waterval Boven
17 reviews
34.1 km away
Peace Corner
Peace Corner
#1 of 11 in Dullstroom
52 reviews
17.1 km away
Gooderson Kloppenheim Country Estate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Boven Villa

Address: 8 End Avenue, Waterval Boven 1195, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Waterval Boven
Price Range: $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Boven Villa Hotel Waterval Boven
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Boven Villa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“book on weekends and book room with en suite”
 of 5 bubbles 348ryant, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The elephant room was lovely”
  • fabulous bath
  • lovely bed
 of 5 bubbles 920tracyt, 1 Jul 2015 | Read review
“The main upstairs bedroom has it's own private balcony... very cosy.”
 of 5 bubbles MoiraGene, 7 Apr 2015 | Read review
“We had a bedroom with a veranda which was super cool.”
 of 5 bubbles miranda747, 27 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Check it out and the suite is a must have if you are part of a group, if not take the Lion Room.”
 of 5 bubbles MEMabotha1, 4 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5