We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Oak Inn

TravelocityUSD 100*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 103*
USD 100*
USD 103*
USD 100*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Oak Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 51: English reviews
Start your review of The Oak Inn
 Click to rate
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at another hotel on Good Friday and as they were full the following evening, they recommended The Oak Inn. We popped over and booked a room for one night and the room was really lovely and had everything we needed. The bathroom was quite new and had a very powerful shower which was much appreciated. Very comfortable experience...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ManCityfan55
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Stayed here back in mid-July for one night with brother and two friends on a walking trip. Nice choice of beers at the bar and a very pleasant and sympathetic update to a traditional pub, good ambience and not spoilt by loud music and fruit machines. I particularly liked the local railway pictures inside. Rooms stayed in were spacious, clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grahamf692016
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

I was attending a family gathering near Buckfastleigh and the Oak was the nearest hotel I could find. The place had recently been done up so the bedroom was fresh and clean. The breakfast was excellent and the people who ran it friendly. In the evening there were friendly locals at the bar and some very good beers. I could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChuckCo2016
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Characterful pub in pleasant village not far from Plymouth and very easy to find. There was a nice friendly atmosphere in the bar which was enhanced by the absence of TV and piped music. Beer was very tasty and so was the food, which was good value. We had a one night stay, booked through TripAdvisor; our double en-suite room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coyzone
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

I nipped into the Oak last night for a quick drink and a snack. I had a fantastic build your own burger . Just superb 10/10.but keep a look out for the man who ate my chips . A fantastic local run by a lovely family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichStarChef
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Fantastic family run hotel. Rooms are so well kept and you get more toiletries, tea making facilities than you would in a 5 star hotel. Eat in the pub as the food is amazing and great value. A hidden gem

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A C
Andrew D, Owner at The Oak Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review - good to see we are getting it right. Hopefully we will get the outside sorted soon - unfortunately this pub like the Forth Bridge and there is plenty needs doing inside first - the outside is a pretty major job too.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016

We were really impressed with our room, we got the one with the four poster bed. Our hostess was brilliantly helpful and friendly. Breakfast was a real treat with loads of choice. Wifi was quite poor but I would definitely recommended The Oak Inn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annette M
Andrew D, Owner at The Oak Inn, responded to this review

Hi Annette Many thanks for taking your time to leave a review - glad you enjoyed your stay. With regard to wifi we have just recently changed over to fibre optic not realising our existing access points wouldn't be able to cope. We have such thick walls and are looking into improving the wifi but at the moment the expense...

Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Came here for a night with family, rooms were nice and very clean but very hot with all the lovely sunshine we had. Whenever I stay at a B&B in the countryside I get a bit excited about the breakfast, this was highly disappointing- overlooked poached egg, cheap sausage, tasteless bacon and cremated baked beans. No offer of tea/coffee refills...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Miss_sylv
Andrew D, Owner at The Oak Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - I would have liked to known whilst you were here about your problems so we could have done something about it . Everyone said they had a lovely stay so getting this review was rather surprising. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy breakfast - as I said above had we known...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Stayed here recently and congratulated myself on my choice.The staff were great and friendly and the room comfortable and quiet.The food was simply superb and served in innovative ways.The bangers and mash you order by selecting choices are to die for..I have never enjoyed that dish so much.The chef really is extremely good and it shows in the food.Good ranges...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Lovely local pub offering exceptional food, ales, lagers, and atmosphere. Highlights: - Sunday roasts - Specials - Wide selection of meat and fish mains - Quiz night and 'folk at the oak' - Easy parking (by the old train station) - Free wi-fi

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theBBSS

4 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Brent
9.8 km away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
1.2 km away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
296 reviews
0.2 km away
The Pack Horse
The Pack Horse
#3 of 6 in South Brent
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Garfield House - Your Place in the Country
1.4 km away
Turtley Corn Mill
Turtley Corn Mill
#2 of 6 in South Brent
73 reviews
0.9 km away
Bridge House
Bridge House
#5 of 6 in South Brent
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Oak is a friendly, family run Inn at the heart of the Dartmoor village of South Brent. A complete refurbishment in 2008 now include a cozy bar, air conditioned restaurant, covered courtyard area, private function room and 5 luxury en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Oak Inn

Address: Station Road, South Brent, Dartmoor National Park TQ10 9BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > South Brent
Price Range: $123 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Oak Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Oak Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 5 was great!”
ManCityfan55, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I had room 2 which was great”
478andrewg, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“There is a noisy extractor fan outside the fire escape so a room further away would be best; we were in 3 which was fine.”
AngelaIreneBristol, 9 Jul 2015 | Read review
“I've stayed in Rooms 1 and 3 and to be honest the only real difference is room 1 has a larger bath and is a little more luxurious, but not a lot!! Exquisite!”
82damianh, 26 Feb 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms seem very nice, our friends were in room 1 which had four poster bed so that seemed lovely.”
kirkgirl, 28 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
USD 100* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Orbitz.comUSD 100
TripAdvisorUSD 100
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates