We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Luz Ocean Club

#6 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
08/05/2017 09/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Luz Ocean Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Luz Ocean Club
See the most recent reviews
Showing 184: English reviews
Méribel, Rhone-Alpes, France
Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

We rented a beautiful apartment, located in the Centre of Luz, what more could you need. Reception staff were welcoming, knowledgeable and always helpful. We had access to all the pools, but we're also a short walk away from the beach and an even shorter walk to the lovely bars and restaurants. It's not our first time in Luz and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Omar B
Donna H, Manager at Luz Ocean Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again.

Liverpool
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

I would strongly advise you not to book your holiday at Ocean Club resort, Praia Da Luz. My nan & grandad has booked the holiday for them, me and my sister and on their website it stated many false promises about their facilities as we found out during are 10 day stay in August 2015. Are accommodation was vile, dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Maryqueenx
Donna H, Manager at Luz Ocean Club, responded to this review

It is a shame that you have posted this on the 16th April 2016 when you stayed with us in August 2015. The greatest regret is that you did not bring your issues to light to us when you were in resort and we would have addressed these with you. No where is it advertised that we have air-conditioning in...

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2016

Another visit, as always a nice apartment clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly and always willing to help. The pool area is well set out and child friendly. Close to shops and restaurants. Good value.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MarilynMacDonald
Donna H, Manager at Luz Ocean Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again.

Twickenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2015

It’s the time of year to be thinking about booking next year’s summer holiday and I would strongly advise that you avoid the Ocean Club Resort, Praia da Luz through Thomas Cook. Thomas Cook made false promises about facilities on offer at the resort as we found out during our week’s stay last August. The Gym was closed, and had...

 Report
Helpful?
13Thank SusanY51
Donna H, Manager at Luz Ocean Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, your issues are obviously with the advertising of the tour operator. Our Gym as advertised is a small amount of basic equipment. We have a running machine, Weight bench, two spinning biked and various floor equipment for use. We do not advertise a spa facility gym complex. We are confused by comments regards to one...

Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2015 via mobile

Lovely apartment, quiet and lovely surroundings. People are friendly and helpful and mostly British or speak good English. Abundance of excellent restaurants within a short walking distance and the sandy beach is beautiful. Will definitely come here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rogdavis
Donna H, Manager at Luz Ocean Club, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review and we hope to see you again next year.

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2015

Stayed in Block 2apartment at Waterside Village in Luz Ocean Club. The apartment was well equipped with washing machine, dish washer and a fully equipped kitchen. The view of the sea from the lounge and balcony was superb and unobstructed. No wifi available but this was a bonus. Less than 10 minutes to a clear sandy coved beach with life...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patricia P
Donna H, Manager at Luz Ocean Club, responded to this review

Dear Patricia Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are actively encouraging our owners to install WIFI in their apartments. We do have free WIFI in our club areas. Just so you are aware we did put in an official compliant to the condominium manager regards to the works that were undertaken in...

Reviewed 1 September 2015

The rooms were clean but that's were the good stuff ends, no wifi or air con in the rooms or at the pools, you could get on at the pool reception only which was a good 10 minute walk from our apartment, two TV channels in English. They advertise a swim up bar but this was never manned, still waiting...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alan R
Donna H, Manager at Luz Ocean Club, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your review, we are sorry that our services did not satisfy you during your stay. As you are aware all of the apartments on our books are privately owned. We are actively encouraging the owners to install WIFI in their apartments, so that we can offer this service to all of our guests. We do...

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Went on holiday on a breakfast only base. Rooms were large, & clean. No air conditioning though. Pool area lovely. Children's park area with paddling pool close by. Tasty cooked breakfast served fresh every day, with buffet style cereals, fruit, & croissants etc. Nearly all the staff very friendly and English. Well equipped Supermarket (baptiste) very close by. Good selection...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eileen B
Donna H, Manager at Luz Ocean Club, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 18 August 2015

I booked this holiday for a group of 7 - 4 in one apartment and 3 in the other. I have to say the apartments were absolutely beautiful and had lovely views. We went as a group of 26 - 28 year olds but would also suit a family with children. Very spacious apartments including lilos, rubber rings, balls and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hjane112
Donna H, Manager at Luz Ocean Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are hoping to reinstate the services to the swim up bar in 2016 therefore we hope to see you again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2015

Beautiful surroundings. Quiet and relaxed. Great lunches by Didi and her colleagues. Both adult only and family pools.. Perfect. Feeling happy and relaxed. Main children's pool area with toddler area which is gated and has little garden apparatus and splash pool. Lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Carolynn B
Donna H, Manager at Luz Ocean Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon.

150 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
08/05/2017 09/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luz hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Baia da Luz
6.1 km away
Hotel Luz Bay
Hotel Luz Bay
#8 of 8 in Luz
266 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Belavista da Luz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
0.5 km away
Vilamar Hotel
Vilamar Hotel
#7 of 8 in Luz
21 reviews
0.4 km away
Estrela da Luz
Estrela da Luz
#2 of 8 in Luz
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Luz Ocean Club

Address: Praia da Luz | Vila da Luz, Luz 8600-160, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Price Range: $173 - $637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luz Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luz Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz Ocean Club Hotel Luz
Ocean Club Portugal
Luz Ocean Hotel
Luz Ocean Resort
Ocean Club Apartments
Ocean Club Praia Da Luz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Luz Ocean Club staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Luz Ocean Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try and get a property in Ocean Club Gardens as they are the newest”
boxesandboxes, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are accessible via lift mainly level access so good for oldies like me,but we stayed in the ground floor units,”
ricksatluz, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“don"t go to this complex”
416michaelm, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor and sea view”
butt0ns12345, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“higher floor to get a sea view”
kathleenc609, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Booking.com
Hotwire.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates