We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Sands at Nomad

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Sands at Nomad
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

402 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 228: English reviews
Start your review of The Sands at Nomad
 Click to rate
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Fantastic visit with Sand at Nomads. Visited twice in the last 4 months. Very Zen with friendly staff, nice Spa and fantastic beach restaurant.Looking forward to the next visit. Nomads in an addiction.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris_NBO
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Diani is the main beach town on Kenya south coast (ie south of Mombasa), and we'll worth a visit. We flew into Ukunda airport, which is about 5 km from the Diani hotel strip. You can also fly in to Mombasa airport and drive the less than 100km to Diani, but this road trip will entail a ferry crossing for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anton B
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A lot of reviews here say the Sands is "the best hotel in diani" ....but how would they know? We had the privilege to stay at another hotel down the road (towards Galu) for a few days with some friends. We thought we would treat ourselves (just me and my partner) to 4 nights at the Sands after. We are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aisha R
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the sands just over a week ago. We had a very pleasant stay. The staff played a huge part in the enjoyment of our stay. They were all very friendly and efficient! A special thanks to Benson for being so welcoming. From the moment we arrived he reinforced that if we had any queries or problems to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucie C
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review! We will look into improving our Garden Services, so our guests can enjoy regulary cold drinks on the sunbeds! I am sorry, that our kitchen did not fully convince you, I will talk to our Executive Chef to have a closer look, when fish dishes are being prepared!...

Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

1 month after the stay the resort has contacted me to pay a Valentine's day dinner that we did not have. After my negative response the hotel staff continued to insist so I had to send them a photo of my 14 February immigration exit stamp. While my negative mark is mainly based on the unprofessionalism of their staff, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Art1980
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

I have to apologieze big time to you! Some members of staff have made their own decision to contact you, - even you where not the one whos bill have been left unpaid! I am really sorry about this incident, as the e mail adresses of our guests have to be handled as a confidential matter!! I had a meeting...

Cagnes-sur-Mer, France
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We have been in this hotel end of February 2017, it is the best hotel in Diani. Very good service, Very nice rooms, the restaurant is managed by a chief coming from Swizterland, very good service, wine and foods at a very good price.. Don't hesitate

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmtdu06
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review! We hope you will visit us soon again!!

Reviewed 27 February 2017

We combined a product award with a weekend getaway for valentine's and it felt like a honeymoon. The ambiance was so calming, the service was great all round and the food was perfect. The area was quiet and safe though guests are cautioned against walking at night. The sunrise walks are a must.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky G
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We are happy, that you had a great holiday in our hotel!! Hope to welcome you back soon!!

Reviewed 27 February 2017

I rarely struggle to leave a hotel/holiday as much as I did on Saturday when leaving the Sands at Nomad. Firstly, the location of the hotel really is stunning. It's on the best stretch, of the best beach in Kenya. White sand, warm water, and endless sunshine are in abundance. We flew from Nairobi Wilson - Ukunda which I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review! We are very happy, that you have enjoyed our services in The sands at Nomad! Looking forward to welcomming you back soon!!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 January 2017

We stayed here for 4 days in December 2016 and it was such a fantastic experience from the minute we walked in. First of all, the staff were the loveliest, most friendly and attentive people - always happy to help and with big smiles on their faces. The actual room (garden facing) was beautiful, large, always clean and a super...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smatt000
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to compose this review! We are very happy, that you had a great time here in The Sands at Nomad and hope to welcome you back soon!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2017

We have just returned from the Sands where we stayed for one week on honeymoon, following on from safari. We stayed in a beach cottage, with interrupted views of the pristine beach. The staff were extremely polite and helpful and went to great lengths to ensure our stay was perfect - thank you so much to Richard and his team....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beec_8
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review! We are very pleased, that you have enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back in the future!!

542 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (502)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (123)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (152)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (9)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel is set amid 25 acres of indigenous forest fronted by 225 meters of Kenyas most unspoilt stretches of white sand and aquamarine sea. All rooms with en-suite bathroom, hairdryer, individual air condition. Minibar, Safe, Satelite TV, Telephone and Internet access, 24 hour room service.The restaurant offers a wide selection of international cuisine, pastas, pizzas & Japanese dishes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sands at Nomad

Address: Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Price Range: $172 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sands at Nomad 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sands at Nomad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani
Sands At Nomad Diani
Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Sands at Nomad staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Sands at Nomad staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room with cockroaches was by the car park”
, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a bungalow style room if you have the budget”
luciec959, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had the junior suite, which we felt was the best room! Set back slightly with a huge varanda, and views of the beach and ocean.”
876jonathanh, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Beach Cottages highly recommended for uninterrupted views to the beach & private loungers”
Beec_8, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Beach bungalows have the best location but are of course bit more expensive than standard rooms.”
vet0n0, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5