We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Alex

Save
Share
Furkastrasse 88, Naters, Brig 3904 Switzerland
Lowest prices for your stay
USD 228
View Deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (18)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (3)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 5 hotels in Naters
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting Naters, Hotel Alex is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its proximity to great restaurants and attractions, Hotel Alex makes it easy to enjoy the best of Naters.

Rooms at Hotel Alex provide a minibar, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

In addition, while staying at Hotel Alex guests have access to room service. You can also enjoy free breakfast. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at Hotel Alex.

If you’re looking for a pub, consider a visit to The Alexander Restaurant or Venezia Naters, which are all conveniently located a short distance from Hotel Alex.

If you are interested in exploring Naters, check out a military museum, such as Museo delle guardie svizzere.

Whether you’re travelling for business, pleasure or both, Hotel Alex is sure to make your visit to Naters one worth remembering.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Spa
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Ski In / Ski Out
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Minibar
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
54Somewhat walkable
Grade: 54 out of 100
15Restaurantswithin 1 km
2Attractionswithin 1 km
73Reviews1Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 23
  • 22
  • 23
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Burkaboo wrote a review Jan. 2020
Rockingham, Australia124 contributions74 helpful votes
It’s in the middle of nowhere. We don’t mind walking but not in -1° at night after having a meal at another restaurant. One very slow, small elevator. Can hear people coughing in the room next door and doors banging. Dinner at the Alex was basic and bland breakfast was much better good coffee, delicious eggs, and bread. Our room was spacious and clean. We had a kettle with tea, coffee & sugar but no milk or creamer and no fridge. The hotel offers free bottled water but I suspect the bottles are refilled each day. The bathroom shower is very awkward to get in/out of, once in thou water is hot with good pressure. It’s a bit sad and tired could do with a refurb. I feel it’s overpriced for what you get and very surprised that it’s got 4star rating.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
kevmacc1 wrote a review Jan. 2020
Boston, Massachusetts44 contributions39 helpful votes
If you can only visit one place in Switzerland I would recommend Zermatt. It is the quintessential Swiss mountain village. The shops and restaurants are great, the views are incredible, topped off by the up close and personal view of the Matterhorn. And there is much to do there in any season, skiing almost all year round, shopping, taking the tram(s) to Glacier Paradise which offers stunning views of the Alps, and on and on. The only way to reach Zermatt is by train and I've read that they're having issues with too many tourists, mostly day trippers, overwhelming the place, so try to go during less busy times of the year, you'll still have a great time and you won't have to dodge large groups of day tourists with selfie sticks! We stayed at Hotel Alex and it was perfect. Walking distance from the train station and just off the main street through the village but close enough to everything you want to see and do. The Hotel was built in the early 60's but it was fashioned to look like an original, very old ski lodge. The results doesn't come off as phony or tacky at all, on the contrary, it's a beautiful hotel. And it has a very unique room key system! We went in early October on our last trip and the crowds were manageable. I highly recommend it. Btw; my choice for second place if you can only visit one place in Switzerland would be Lake Lucerne.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the village, that way you should have a view of the Matterhorn.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Grandoj wrote a review Apr. 2019
15 contributions1 helpful vote
This hotel is outside Brig, but the views over the Alps from our room was absolutely unforgivable. Although it seems that they mostly work with groups, we totally enjoyed our stay. They gave us a very good room, and took particularly good care of us. Danke schön, merci vielmal!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
yellowparrot wrote a review Jan. 2019
Singapore, Singapore54 contributions41 helpful votes
First impression of Hotel Alex wasn’t great... staying confirmed it. Once we entered the main door, it was the small reception, which also doubled as a piano-bar. There was a lounge area for the bar. and with a working piano. Problem? ONE MISERABLE LIFT. Our room was on the 6th floor, which was the problem because everyone was stuck waiting at the lift. In the end, many of us decided to walk up the stairs instead. Dinner at the hotel was nothing to shout about - but then again, it could be because we were a tour group and eating tour group food? The room was not small - of a reasonable size. And because there were 3 of us, the sofa was opened to a bed for me. We asked for extra pillows, but was told by the reception that they didn’t have anymore! The sofa bed was a disaster. First, there was barely any mattress; so it was quite hard to sleep on. Plus, there was no pillow; just 2 small square, flat cushions pretending to be pillows. So I used the comforter as additional mattress and with whatever left of it, as a blanket. I was very unhappy, waking up twice. The next morning, I complained to our tour director, and she promptly informed the reception. They offered to change the room for us, but all I was asking for was a comfortable bed. So kudos to the hotel, when we returned from our tour later that day, my sofa bed had an extra layer of mattress, with several soft pillows! Overall - if I were travelling on our own, I would probably not book Hotel Alex, but I'm not sure what better hotel choices there are in Brig. This was the only time in our trip that I marked Insight Vacation down - they should have offered a better hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Lower floor, as there is only one small lift; unless you don't mind lugging your luggage up...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from 39043, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Alex
Responded 28 Apr. 2019
Dear Sir We are very sorry that you did not get on first night what you have asked for. We think it was a problem of understanding of languages and we are very sorry but Asian languages we don’t understand. Just next day your tour guide has explained us your problem. We have immediately tried to make you the best comfort in the room. On departure day you have told us your big gratitude about this service and you have told us “thank you”. A wise man said in the quote: “Ungrateful people complain about the one thing you haven’t done for them instead of being thankful for the thousands of things you have done.” Hotel Alex Team
Read more
wynbunbury wrote a review Dec. 2018
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates23 contributions8 helpful votes
The Alex is a lovely place to stay when visiting the Aletsch Glacier region either for skiing, hiking, golfing or sightseeing. The rooms are fairly classic but extremely comfortable with great beds, showers, tea making set and a desk with a place to sit and relax. Many of the staff have been here for years and create a very cosy family atmosphere. The location is wonderful and is right next to the bus stop to take you into Brig. The brand new spa right next to the hotel can be used free of charge for hotel guests. This facility with it's soft mineral waters, swimming pool, steam room and more is beyond fabulous. Way beyond my expectations
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Higher rooms would have better views
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexander I, Inhaber at Hotel Alex
Responded 20 Dec. 2018
Dear wynbunbury Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel! Best regards Your Hotel Alex Team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 186 - USD 203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwitzerlandSwiss AlpsCanton of ValaisBrigNaters
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Alex
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Alex?
Nearby attractions include Word Nature Forum - UNESCO World Heritage Swiss Alps Jungfrau-Aletsch (1.1 km), ViaStockalper - Stockalpertrail (1.2 km), and Beinhaus (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Alex?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Alex?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Alex?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Alex?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brasserie Cheminots, Palazzo Patatut, and Restaurant Pizzeria Post Naters.
Is Hotel Alex located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Naters.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Alex?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Alex?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Alex offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Alex?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Landmauer Gamsen (4.6 km).
Is Hotel Alex accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.