We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls

Booking.comUSD 56*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 159: English reviews
Start your review of Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the Kiwicabins, perfect for 1 or 2 people. Short stroll to the amenities block and Whispering Frog cafe/restaurant. The cabins literally fit two single beds, a small table and a TV. Free movies from reception a plus. A great base for local activities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brad A
Paul B, Owner at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

Thanks for the nice review. The cabins were "single men's cabins" in a by-gone era, so lot of history there. The are very comfy and fun.

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 April 2017

My husband and I have stayed at the Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park twice - both times in the small cabins made for two. The cabins were nice - a double bed (although two twins are also available) with comfortable linens, a small table with a kettle and tea/coffee supplies, a flat screen TV on the wall, and a panel heater....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Suzanne B
Paul B, Owner at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

Yes, all the comforts of home, but during holiday times can be a bit crowded, as any other resort. We do our best with the wifi, but it is the end of the line and all radio operated, so better than the alternative? Thanks for your nice review.

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

The cabin we stayed in was nice, clean, warm and had comfortable beds and a green surrounding. Also nice to have a bar with tasty beer on the premises. On the negative side the children's playground was really dated and next to a not so child friendly generator. Also, they tried to charge us for the stay although we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
Paul B, Owner at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

Thank you for you nice words, the restaurant is very popular. The generator is unfortunately really necessary as we have power outages in this part of the world and our guests get really unhappy if they can't dine during a power failure. The play set is a functional for little kids I agree, there are lots of walks and things...

New York
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We were in the gorgeous Catlins for a few days. Stayed one night. Room was good with 2 separate beds and private shower/toilet facilities. We chose this for the private facilities - and of course you pay extra for this. Nice appointed room. Ate at the Whistling Dog restaurant. Very nice meal (blue cod fish and chips). Lovely presentation. However,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
Paul B, Owner at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

Thanks for you nice comments, Lisa. The restaurant is the "Whistling Frog", but I do like the "Whistling Dog," kind of fun! We do stay open for the later Caves, but being so remote, we just run out of staff hours...! They work like mad for our guests. They are often there till 10 pm at night, and breakfast is...

Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

55 dollars for 2 people for one night and RVs have to park in a gravel car park. No grass area near rv, no picnic table no view. It's worth 25 dollars. We are in one now with a lake view, grassy areas and 38 dollars

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrewhall76
ISPIDunedin, Owner at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

Andrew, You forgot to mention that we are in a gorgeous temperate rainforest, where it rains a lot and you are now in Central Otago, where it is rocky, dry and barren, but does have a lake..! It's all great. What can I say? I'm not being mean, I'm being honest... Enjoy where you are... If I put you on...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We paid for a tent site and it was ok. Nothing special, common areas also typical camping. It was so far the most expensive camping in NZ for me and definitely not the best one. Free Wifi codes that we got were not working at our site and also not in common areas... Nice thing that the restaurant is nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mateusz Ż
Paul B, Owner at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

Camping is camping, not glamping. Not the most expensive that's for sure, it does include showers, common room, wifi, dvd hire. But it is more expensive than DOC, which is heavily subsidised by the local taxpayers for our overseas visitors who now feel that we are ripping them off at $20 for all facilities, so probably need a wee reality...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 20 December 2016

I stayed overnight here on a weekend trip down around the Catlins area. The location of the Holiday Park is lovely surrounded by bush and with the Whistling Frog Cafe & Restaurant as part of the complex, then this was the ideal place to stop. It was a cold night so our electric blankets were most welcomed. The room had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JazzyPerth
Paul B, Owner at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

Thanks for your very honest review...

Rome
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Nice well-equipped cabin. Kitchen and bathroom old, small and needs renovation. No cancellation possible when booked. Very stricked to their well stated policy... However good starting place to explore the Catlins

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sjirk F
Paul B, Owner at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

Thanks, we are doing our best, but don't have an unlimited supply of money to do everything at once...

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Location and accommodation were fine, but my biggest grievance was the wifi implementation. When there's no mobile coverage you're relying on wifi, but implementation here was poor. I have no issues with a 100MB cap, but I do have issues with repeatedly having to re-enter the access code on the same device time after time. It would also help if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveXNZ
Paul B, Owner at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

We just spent $5K upgrading, there were issues but all sorted now...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Pulled-in to get something to eat at the Whistling Frog and ended up staying the night in a cabin. Staff were really friendly and helpful. We stayed in a old single mans quarters unit from the hydro power plant construction. We were impressed with how comfortable the beds were and how quite it was. Also notable was the lack of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nglenjarman
Paul B, Owner at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice review.

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaslands
28.1 km away
Owaka Lodge Motel
Owaka Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Owaka
52 reviews
28.3 km away
Thomas's Catlins Lodge And Camp Ground
30.6 km away
Catlins Newhaven Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.8 km away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
17.4 km away
Waikava Harbour View
Waikava Harbour View
#1 of 3 in Waikawa
106 reviews
21.0 km away
Catlins River Ridge Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Central Catlins location, next to the major attractions, including the Cathedral Caves & McLean Falls. Accommodation ranges from private cabins, motels, self-contained chalets and cottages, powered RV & tent sites. Chef prepared, local cuisine, barista coffee and craft beers are available within the grounds, at the acclaimed 'Whistling Frog Cafe & Bar.' All day dining and evening meals. One of the only places in the central Catlins that offers such amenities and convenience. Ideal for couples, families, tours and groups. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls

Address: 9 Rewcastle Road | off Chaslands - Papatowai Highway, Chaslands 9586, New Zealand (Formerly McLean Falls Motels & Holiday Park)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Chaslands
Price Range: $75 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We chose a simple cabin, super quite”
michelleskinz, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid staying in a motel room if you want don't want to hear the neighbours”
jmW6290DW, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The motels rooms are nice with ensute. there is a well set up communal kithen. But the chalets are all self contained and very special”
361micks, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
“instead of a motel unit, perhaps a villa is better value”
604roberth, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Standard cabins are lovely, number 5 is closest to the shower block!”
AdamJ725, 3 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 56* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 56
Orbitz.com
PricelineUSD 56
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates