We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Abel Tasman Motel

Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 15: English reviews
Start your review of Abel Tasman Motel
 Click to rate
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

This place is ok for overnight travellers self catering with full amenities in the rooms has a laundry free WiFi which is poor limited TV stations . Friendly greeting on arrival and helpful staff who show you to your room. No cupboard space in the rooms so if you have an extended stay you share the communal cupboard with room...

Thank Jeremy B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Had to use this for 1 night as I found myself stranded! The property is old (even for nz standards) and needs maintenance work. The shared kitchen and laundry had signs things were out of order. The one thing though was that I didn't see any smoke alarms in bedroom or kitchen. Is this legal in nz? If you don't...

Thank Huck L
abeltasmanmot, Manager at Abel Tasman Motel, responded to this review

We do have smoke alarms by New Zealand standards regulations Examine officially by authorize person .We know our accommodation is old clean and quiet good to sleep on but happy customer enjoy it , I'm sorry we did not meet your modern standards. We do our best for all our customers .

Reviewed 11 February 2016 via mobile

The place is pretty basic but is clean, the bed was comfortable and decent value for money. We were booked in for 3 nights but left after only one as the owner's wife was so rude to us on arrival. When we told her that we would be leaving on account of her behaviour she threatened to call the police!...

Thank robt432
abeltasmanmot, Owner at Abel Tasman Motel, responded to this review

This couple come in late as they are booking advanced for 3 Nights upon there arrival to check in , I ' ask them to pay the total amount before they check in , They are refuse to paid the total amount and cancelled the 2 nights accommodation and start yell out loud angry they are threaten to report in...

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 28 November 2015

This is an older but well maintained property. I was in a studio that had a refrigerator, microwave, eating utensils and a small dining table. The motel has paper thin walls, but my neighbors were very quiet. Very reasonably priced. When dealing with the motel directly, I paid NZ $80 per night.

Thank 505badgolfer
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 24 May 2015

I would rate this place as good option (better than average and less than very good) according to NZ standards considering quality/cleanlyness/service. In Europe this kind of accomodation would be a pension with 1* in some countries not existing! We went there following the recommendation from another motel that was fully booked and we got the last room in busy...

2Thank nrruiz
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 April 2015

We spent two nights here at Easter, paying $86 per night for two people. We had a room with coffee/tea making facilities, an ensuite and tv, with access to the large well-stocked communal kitchen next door. Considering that the next cheapest option available was a studio motel at the camping ground costing $150 per night, we thought it was really...

1Thank Kim B
Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2015

Very well located for excursions to the Abel Tasman National Park. The room was spacious, well equipped, clean but had seen better days. We did make use of the cooking facilities in the kitchen area. Staff were friendly and efficient. The gardens are well kept and colourful and there were seats to sit outside the room in the garden. We...

Thank Funseekers1
Christchurch NZ
Reviewed 19 February 2015

My wife and I along with 2 friends spent two nights at this motel. the lady at reception was very friendly and gave us a warm welcome. As well as being in walking distance of the township it was a bonus being next door the the local RSA where we. had a very nice meal and a cold beer or...

Thank Bruce G
Uki, Australia
Reviewed 8 February 2015

These look the ugly ducklings at the end of a row of swish modern motels, but they are quite nice and extremely good value, especially for those with cooking facilities. Run by a charming, hard working and efficient Filipino woman, whose Kiwi husband trundles around with a wheelbarrow yarning to the guests. A genuine Kiwi classic.

1Thank Chris1199
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 January 2015

We had originally booked a cabin at the camping ground but found it way too cramped & overpriced so we moved. Just as well we did.. This place was a thousand times better. Very clean and comfortable. Owners just lovely and convenient location. Why wouldn't you stay? Great for budget travellers.

2Thank Wendypoole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Abel Tasman Motel

Address: 45 High Street, Motueka 7120, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Price Range: $177 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As:
Abel Tasman Motel Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Abel Tasman Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?