We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Happy Apple Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Happy Apple Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 61: English reviews
Start your review of Happy Apple Backpackers
 Click to rate
Riwaka, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

*After receiving no response to this email and our request, please read the following as a warning to other backpackers, especially tent campers, of our very negative experience staying here. We found many friendlier and more affordable places to stay in Motueka, I could recommend this only as a last resort. It is clear from the responses to these reviews,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rajhpall
Janet G, Owner at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this review

You had been camping in our private area for four days. No one knew who owned the tent. Effectively you were trespassing. Unhappily, we haven't yet received an apology from you for encroaching on our privacy nor have we received the emails that you claim have been sent to us. Our weekly rates are much cheaper but non-refundable and our...

Peterborough, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We checked in after hours and there was an envelope with instructions taped to the front door. Huge yard for all sorts of activities. Even a BBQ that we made use of. Large kitchen with good organization system for everyone's dry food. Plenty of places to sit and eat or hang out inside and out. Two tvs pool table and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kegr123
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

The happy apple was recommended to us by the Sea Kayak Company as we were going on an expedition with them. My son and I stayed in a twin room and it was a great place to stay and we were glad of the recommendation. The room was clean, tidy and comfortable, shared bathroom facilities were good. I have seen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Huw P
Reviewed 9 March 2017

We stayed in the double room. The facilities were nice, my husband only did not feel comfortable that the showers were in the same room as the toilets, and that they were unisex. The kitchen was well-supplied, and common areas were very cozy. My only complaint was that there wasn't a screen on the window to keep the bugs out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justine D
Switzerland
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We had a nice stay while exploring Abel Tasman National Park. But it's a bit far away from the town centre if you don't have a car. The room (twin) was spacious and close to many showers and toilets but not noisy at all. The kitchen was large, but would need some more sharp knives. The big garden was nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catalina M
Janet G, Owner at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay, Catalina and thank you for your comments. Re sharp knives: Bill is a butcher, in the 40+ years we have been married I have never had the luxury of a sharp knife and its always been a mystery to me why the "professional" is unable to transfer his skills from work to home. Your comments...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Might be being a little harsh, but not a whole lot special about this place. Manager has a short temper and doesn't know much about hospitality - makes strangest remarks. Wifi is turned off from 930am - 11am for whatever reason. Kitchen is closed at 10pm. Big grass yard in the back. Volleyball court. Pool table. Spa. Tv. Bathrooms a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skcivkwkacy
Janet G, Owner at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this review

Yes we are lucky to have a very good wifi provider, its free and unlimited throughout the building, and garden with the exception of the two cheapest dorm rooms at the very edge of the signal, its a good strong signal 23 hours a day, 7 days a week. WIFI goes off at 9:30am each morning for an hour, there...

Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

The best thing about this hostel are the few rooms at the front of the building, other than that, nothing to really say. Oh and they let you make local calls for free which is a great thing :) however.... The staff member on duty (manager?) had a serious attitude problem and was always rude and or shouting at us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy R
Janet G, Owner at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this review

This is not a forum in which to punish someone for telling you something you didn't want to hear. I think our Manager handled a vexing situation with a huge heart. No sooner had he completed cleaning the private bathroom ready for the next guests, there you were, in there like a robbers dog shaving your legs!! Its normal for...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, because of proximity to Abel Tasman. There's very little positive to say about this place; the kitchen & bathrooms were all filthy, the beds were incredibly uncomfortable & the rooms poorly ventilated. We hardly slept the whole time we were there. The staff were incredibly rude; we were scolded for cooking breakfast at 10am....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna K
Janet G, Owner at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this review

There is a poorly concealed hidden agenda here. Bathrooms are not filthy, neither is the kitchen. Sometimes, at peak times they do get messy, but we keep everything clean, have good systems in place and we receive many verbal affirmations from guests who appreciate the care we take. All windows open in all bedrooms, there are no ventilation issues,.... just...

Bordeaux, France
Reviewed 15 February 2017

The place is really nice, the rooms are really nice, comfortable, nice beds, good nights, the lounge is very pretty we feel like home in french Britain. I liked the kitchen as well. The garden is also very cool, few tables outside to enjoy a friendly dinner in summer. The rules are very stricts, like nobody in the kitchen after...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alexishak
Janet G, Owner at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this review

Yes you're right, Happy Apple is a fabulous place, but clearly not the place for you

Santiago, Chile
Reviewed 9 February 2017

The hostel is amazing! is clean and the staff is very friendly!!! We rented a double room with privet bathroom, the only problem is that we don't realize that the bathroom isn't ensuite! and that could be a big deal, but the room is just outside of the reception, so any chance to go to the toilet only with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LaPuntoLore

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
30.0 km away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
348 reviews
1.7 km away
Laughing Kiwi Backpackers
2.2 km away
Hat Trick Lodge Backpackers' Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Motueka Garden Motel
Motueka Garden Motel
#2 of 4 in Motueka
63 reviews
3.2 km away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.3 km away
Fernwood Holiday Park
Fernwood Holiday Park
#13 of 13 in Motueka
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Happy Apple Backpackers

Address: 500 High Street, Motueka 7120, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Price Range: $32 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy Apple Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Happy Apple Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Apple Backpackers Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Happy Apple Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't pay extra for the privet bathroom! don't worth it!”
LaPuntoLore, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do not book through WotIf!!!”
371andr_k, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a large room with no long term people!”
158alexm, 31 Dec 2013 | Read review
“If you want a double room and light sleepers don't sleep opposite the toilets. The doors are a bit squeaky”
KimjaA, 20 Nov 2013 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the dinning area.”
Aklu, 14 Apr 2013 | Read review
5 of 5