We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

478 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 455: English reviews
Ascot
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It is hard to imagine a better location for a resort-style hotel in this scenic, relatively remote and undeveloped part of Northland. Our comfortable room was in a more modern wing, with an excellent outlook to gigantic sand hills and harbour entrance opposite. The main rooms in the hotel (dining, bar, lounge etc.) are splendid; we thoroughly enjoyed the ambience...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While the location by the beach is amazing the part of the hotel we stayed in was very disappointing, very very dated, required maintenance to the windows, no air conditioning so could be hot in the summer months. We had a large & spacious two bedroom apartment with great parking but it would have been so much better with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
Pip L, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this review

Kia ora Jan M I would have to agree with your comments. The location is outstanding and I am pleased to say the revamp is two weeks away. We would love to have you back to stay. Regards Pip

Cleveland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This motel is in a stunning location overlooking the sea. The area is quite remote, but the facilities and food quality do not require you to leave the resort. Staff were very friendly and introduced themselves as they served us for dinner. Nice quiet area to relax and walk along the beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClevelandHarleygirl
Pip L, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this review

Kia ora ClevelandHarleygirl Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review your stay. The Hokianga is a beautiful and unique part of New Zealand. It definitely ticks the boxes if you want a relaxing break, but there are also some pretty cool things to experience while at the hotel. The guided night tours into the...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here in July 2016 for one night whilst doing a loop of NZ North Island with family and small child. Hokianga is a very quiet little resort with great scenery. The hotel has easy access to the beach, has a nice swimming pool and outdoor seating area looking out to sea. We travelled in winter so didn't make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Owen B
Pip L, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this review

Thank you Owen B for staying with us and for the full and interesting review. We look forward to having you back with us sometime in the future. regards Pip

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

This hotel is right on the beachfront with a lovely lawn going down to the beach. There is a nice outdoor pool unfortunately we arrived too late to use it and were only staying overnight. The room has a small kitchenette with fridge and kettle but no plates or bowls so if you intend to self cater for breakfast take...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jlynch841
Pip L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this review

Kia ora and thank you for staying with us. With the exception of our 2 bed roomed, fully self contained family units, the remainder of our rooms are hotel rooms and not motel rooms. They have tea and coffee making facilities as do most other hotel rooms. However if you require anything further, we are more than happy to help....

Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Coming over the hill into Omapere there's a stunning view of the Hokianga harbour. And the Copthorne sits right on the waterfront overlooking it. We had a room with a view on the second floor which cost $166 for the night. What a view (see photo)! The room itself wasn't up to much. This hotel hasn't been well maintained. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigZed52
Kawakawa, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We spent a few days last week at this beautiful spot, for our annual work retreat. Right from the first contact Marina was brilliant in helping to organise the event. The units were all next to one another, enabling us to get together in the evenings without bothering other visitors. The units we very clean and tidy and had everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luca_nz
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Wow what a magical place. This beautiful hotel rests peacefully on the edge of the Hokianga harbour facing directly out through the entrance.... Sunsets and sunrises are magnificent to watch from your room or the restaurant . The meals were beautiful with a lovely wine selection. All staff from all area of the hotel were warm and friendly. Apparently the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vinoeaves
Pip L, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this review

Kia ora Vinoeaves I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. There really is something special about the Hokianga and I think you described it perfectly. It is spiritual and very, beautiful. Our team at the Copthorne are predominately our local people. This is very important to us. We would love for you to come back and visit...

Christchurch
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Right on the water at the Hokianga Harbour, this is a part of New Zealand which still feels like the summer holidays us Kiwis used to love as kids. Sad to say it, but some parts of NZ are getting too busy now in peak times, but the Hokianga Harbour still has that magic. Ask them to tell you the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wellsynz
Pip L, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this review

Kia ora wellsynz Hokianga is as you described, the old NZ, still with it's magic. We have an amazing location and love to share the stories of our ancestors. Hokianga was the home of Kupe. this is where Maoridom began, chapter one, page one, paragraph one and the very first words - "The beginning." It is a special place. Start...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

Incredible location! We stayed in 2 bedroom unit on waterfront. The unit was spacious & perfect for our family of four. Only reason I wouldn't say 5 stars is that the unit is getting on in age, which aside from refurb cannot be 5 stars. Service was top notch!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heresmythoughts
Pip L, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have 5 great family rooms, fully self contained, right on the beach front. The expansive lawn in front of the unit is great for cricket, volley ball and touch rugby etc etc We would love to see you back and there will be a number of changes noticeable in our family units. Thanks Pip

280 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (239)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omapere
2.0 km away
Opononi Hotel Limited
Opononi Hotel Limited
#1 of 2 in Opononi
90 reviews
1.5 km away
Opononi Lighthouse Motel
3.4 km away
Waiotemarama Falls Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.0 km away
Wai Hou Oma Lodge
Wai Hou Oma Lodge
#3 of 12 in Dargaville
57 reviews
36.0 km away
Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park
31.4 km away
Pupu Rangi Nature Sanctuary
Pupu Rangi Nature Sanctuary
#9 of 12 in Dargaville
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga

Address: State Highway 12 | Omapere, South Hokianga, Omapere, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Omapere
Price Range: $132 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Hokianga
Copthorne Hotel Hokianga
Copthorne Hotel Omapere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Elevated rooms may have improved outlook”
  • Looking across Hokianga Harbour
 of 5 bubbles johnmD1716FP, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The apartments which appear to have been built recently would be the best option”
 of 5 bubbles JanM592, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the water get the most sun and a gorgeous view of course”
 of 5 bubbles judib2014, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Request a room with a beach view”
 of 5 bubbles Morgan361, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Beach views are worthwhile if you expect to hang out on the property.”
  • Shower. It could be a bit tight for heavy people.
  • Vestibule with sink and refrigerator.
  • Sink.
  • Bed and wardrobe.
 of 5 bubbles davidmR4183QL, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay