We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Boars Head Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Boars Head Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 185: English reviews
Wirral
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Would defo recommend this hotel. We were going to a wedding nearby and location was ideal. The village is small but lovely. Only problem may be that you need to book taxis in advance if you need them but to be honest if you were just visiting the local area, if the breakfast was anything to go by, dinner would... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MazzafWirral
drrnp, Owner at The Boars Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and took the trouble to let others know. We hope your able to visit us again in the future. Regards Darren More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Booked a table for One O'clock. Arrived on time , Waited well over an hour before the meal eventually arrived and what a disaster The Shropshire Beef was as tough as leather,Cauliflower was hard and there was one small dish of veg to feed three people.very disappointed.

Helpful?
1 Thank elainecarr1
drrnp, Owner at The Boars Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review as I only had one table of 4 booked for 1pm Sunday you must be connected to the previous review I have already responded to. I note you must have arrived separately as you say you were there at 1pm when your fellow reviewer states you all arrived at 1.07pm..... very confusing I must say!... More 

St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Service awful waited 1hour for our meal and food was not very good ,beef needed a hacksaw and veg was hard entered pub 1307 served our meal 1415. We will not be returning again. No management there to complain to AWFUL.

Helpful?
Thank albert182
drrnp, Owner at The Boars Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank yo for taking the time to review, however I am disappointed that you felt the need to tell lies! The management are always there and especially yesterday as we were so busy! you booked last minute on the day, kindly fitted you in and as you specified you arrived at 13.07, might I ad late as your tale was... More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Eat in the restaurant. Good cooking and plenty of it! Thats a good review so why does Trip advisor demand more words? I may stop writing these reviews if the demand more. Its a good place to stay OK!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Colchestered
drrnp, Owner at The Boars Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us. We hops to see you again soon! Regards Darren More 

Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

we were attending one of the local estates to attend a day in the field. It was in an ideal location and had all we required for an over night stay. The staff fully understood our requirements, rooms were excellent as was the hospitality. breakfast was laid on nice and early for us!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 760dge
drrnp, Owner at The Boars Head Hotel, responded to this review

Great to hear we got it right for you! Thanks for taking the time to review our property and hope to see you again! More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

i had a really relaxing stay at the Boars Head Hotel. My room was very cosy and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel is very easy to find and i enjoyed having a drink by the roaring fire. thank you

Helpful?
Thank shaleen11
drrnp, Owner at The Boars Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to review our property, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Regards Darren More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the Boars Head Hotel last week and had the most enjoyable time. The room was fantastic, very clean and spacious. It had all the facilities you need in a room including a safe. Meals were fantastic too and a reasonable price. I would recommend them to everybody. All the staff we met were friendly and very helpful.... More 

Helpful?
Thank xx-Rachael-Jones-xx
drrnp, Owner at The Boars Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our establishment, we look forward to your return visit. Regards Darren More 

Oakley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location for West Shropshire, Good service from all staff .We didn't have breakfast as we thought it was rather expensive so we used Kirstys up the road which opened 8.30am also very good. Some very nice pubs for a wonderful ale choice and food

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank steveR7008MD
drrnp, Owner at The Boars Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon! Regards Darren More 

1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed for a night as a quick mid week get away recently. Great beer and wonderful food, although we were greedy and ate too much !! The room was lovely with an amazing shower that certainly woke me up. Thank you to Darren and Stuart for making us feel so welcome . We have already recommended... More 

Helpful?
Thank Millyandted
drrnp, Owner at The Boars Head Hotel, responded to this review

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you felt able to recommend us to your friends is such a compliment. We hope to see you again soon! Regards Darren More 

liverpool england
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2016

The room was well furnished with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was good with an excellent shower. Perhaps the TV could have been a little larger and the wifi free but for the price it was very good value. There were plenty of choices for breakfast and the full english was cooked to order and was excellent. The menu for... More 

Helpful?
Thank geoff h
drrnp, Owner at The Boars Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing our property we are always thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and very much look forward to your return visit Regards Darren More 

14 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishops Castle
0.4 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
644 reviews
7.3 km away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
365 reviews
22.7 km away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
235 reviews
0.1 km away
Old Brick Guesthouse
Old Brick Guesthouse
#3 of 12 in Bishops Castle
106 reviews
9.9 km away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 3 in Newcastle-on-Clun
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Boars Head is a Seventeeth Century former Coaching Inn and has the oldest license in the town dating back to Sixteen Forty Two. Darren & Stuart took over in 2008 after a period of closure and purchased the freehold Fifteen months ago. Since then we have been lovingly restoring it and now enjoy an official AA rating of a Four Star Inn. Our Restaurant is open everyday from Midday - Nine PM all our food is made in house, and is good hearty pub food. Our rooms are in a converted barn across the car park at the rear of the property where you can enjoy the freedom of your own front door but all the services you would expect from a well run establishment. I have been in the service industry Twenty Two years, we care about our customers wether there local or passing through you will find a warm welcome. Our rooms are all en suite bath & Shower with Ipod Docking Station, Tea & Coffee, Iron & Ironing Boards, Digital Safe, Flat Screen TV/DVD Player. We look forward to your visit soon................. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Boars Head Hotel

Address: Church Street, Bishops Castle SY9 5AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Price Range: $58 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boars Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and PitchUp so you can book your The Boars Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Boars Head Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Martley, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Boars Head Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All look quite similar. ”
 of 5 bubbles MazzafWirral, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Nice warm clean room comfortable bed with good en suite”
 of 5 bubbles steveR7008MD, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are in a converted barn, room 3 has twin beds”
 of 5 bubbles missdizzy47, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get your order in early!”
 of 5 bubbles Wediblino, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“3 lodge rooms only”
 of 5 bubbles 466jojo, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay