We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Devonshire Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Devonshire Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Devonshire Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 83: English reviews
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2016

From booking it went wrong but to be fair that was late room.com. Our room was ok but the bathroom was dusty behind the door. The beds where comfy so had a good night sleep. The room was warm for us but hotel rooms always are, would rather that can always open window as we did. Now the restaurant and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sweetingthorns
Jayne Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you sweetingthorns for you complex review. I would like to bring to your attention that we have just had a new head chef started with us and he is currently looking at all the menus and suppliers. We are hoping shortly to correct the issues concerning the restaurant (inc breakfast). Your review has come at the perfect time. I...

Batley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Our room was spotlessly clean and overlooked the lovely square.Large and comfy bed and large tv.However there was no soap in the bathroom and the toilet needed thumbs of steel to flush it.There was the last guests water still in the kettle and the the cafetière only served one cup so had to cleaned out before we could make another....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
Jayne Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review Chris. We have taken on board all of the points you made and are working on correcting them. Unfortunately we cannot do anything about the parking. The hotel is very old and obviously parking wasn't an issue back then. Our menu is also being reviewed for the new year. Thanks again, Jayne

Worksop, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Went to Grassington for the Dickensian Christmas Festival this weekend. Thought we'd get in the Devonshire early before the crush and were pleasantly surprised by the choices on offer for the set menu. Placed our order after deliberating for some time over which main course to choose as they all sounded delicious. However, when we saw the meals coming out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GalaxyRider50
Jayne Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us during the Dickensian Festival. We are very sorry to hear you were disappointed. As you pointed out this is a very busy time for us therefore our menu has to be greatly reduced. After reading your review we took on board your comments and changed the wording on our menu for the following weekend. We...

Buckden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2016

We didn't stay her but had a very nice meal at the Devonshire today with the family - staff demonstrated a good level of customer service and were very friendly - The different areas add character - thank you very much and keep it up

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BuckInn1
Jayne Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We are very pleased that you chose us to visit for your family meal. We look forward to seeing you again perhaps in the new year when we will have a new menu to tempt you. Regards Jayne

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed for two nights - room and bathroom recently refurbished and comfy, staff helpful and friendly, breakfast excellent, location right in the centre in the square. Will stay again and would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MTB99Mike
Jayne Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you MTB99Mike. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try very hard here at the Devonshire to create the perfect atmosphere for all our guests and very pleased to receive such lovely feedback.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

In early November our family party stayed at the Devonshire in grassington. We had a very pleasant time, good food, excellent real ale and comfortable rooms. The staff were helpful and nothing was too much trouble, all the ladies chatted away to us when serving food or drink. All in all a very enjoyable 3 night stay and we will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank john b
Jayne Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review

Hi John B. It is always a pleasure to hear such lovely comments. Hopefully we will see you all back here soon to enjoy more of our "excellent real ale" and "good food". Spring is a picturesque time in Grassington and makes for a beautiful time to visit. Maybe we will see you then. Regards Jayne

wakefield
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Just spent a wonderful night here.On arrival we were welcomed by a staff member and shown to the 2 rooms we had booked.The rooms were on the first floor(numbers 3&5) and were simply gorgeous.They were well proportioned with a large double which was so comfortable and accompanied by firm pillows and a sumptuous duvet.The decor was immaculate and we even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WakefieldShakywakey
Jayne Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review

What a glowing review from you Wakefield/Shakywakey. Thank you for taking the time to write so much detail in your review. How lovely for the snow to arrive during your visit. It really adds that extra delight. All the seasons here in Grassington do give the hotel a different feel and we look forward to you joining us again shortly...

Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2016

For the first time since Timothy Taylors took over this pub, we had a good meal and pleasant evening. The beer was good (somebody cleaning the pipes again?), the red wine served at room temperature by efficient and pleasant bar staff. The menu was simple fare as is true of many dales pubs, with a few notable exceptions. With a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David P
Jayne Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks David P. We appreciate here at the Devonshire that all our efforts here are being noticed and that we are finally turning things around. We assure you that our focus is on the wonderful Timothy Taylors offerings and that our food is now going from strength to strength. We have a great new team and the new year is...

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

First impression was not good. Three people behind the bar whilst we waited to announce our arrival, all of them ignoring us. Once we got served things improved. The room we stayed in (No. E) looked like it had been recently refurbished and was well up to the job. Great position overlooking the square Breakfast was a laid back affair...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gadger68
Jayne Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Gadger68 We apologise for your first impression of us on arrival. You are correct in saying that the bedrooms have all been refurbished recently and are glad you found them "up to the job". Unfortunately we do have a problem with parking due to the age of the village. This is definitely worse depending on the time of day...

hersham
Reviewed 28 October 2016

10 of us stayed for one night last weekend in 2 family rooms and one double. All three rooms were very spacious but felt cosy with the welcoming decor. The bathrooms were excellent, clean and very modern looking. We ate dinner in the restaurant and the food was excellent quality and the portions were massive. The steak and ale pie...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hershamx

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grassington
0.1 km away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
89 reviews
4.3 km away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
4.1 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
10.2 km away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
874 reviews
0.0 km away
Grassington House
Grassington House
#2 of 22 in Grassington
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Devonshire Hotel

Address: 25-27 Main Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Price Range: $160 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Devonshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Grassington
The Devonshire Hotel Grassington, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Devonshire Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Devonshire Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The reception staff would be the best to offer advice”
 of 5 bubbles 578jacky, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 overlooks the pretty square and has a window seat,perfect for gazing out from”
 of 5 bubbles WakefieldShakywakey, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms off the main square would be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Sam538, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The Ainton suite room 6”
 of 5 bubbles stevemacAshbourne, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid Room 1”
 of 5 bubbles AnnualOxford, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5