We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Protea Hotel Clarens

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel Clarens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

238 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 231: English reviews
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

5 Nights at the Protea Clarens, although enjoyable, was marred by repeated problems with door key cards not working. Bar personnel could also be better trained to be more professional in their work. My take on their toiletries - soap/shampoo/hand cream - is that it has a distinctly masculine scent, not at all appealing to females! Other than this, it... More 

Helpful?
Thank 123Maxie123
LeeAnnBClarens, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear 123Maxie123 Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. My sincerest apologies for the inconvenience with the key card - the magnetic strips are relatively sensitive. Thank you for your comment regarding the service you experienced in the bar, my Food and Beverage Manager will appreciate the invaluable feedback and realign training to ensure future GUESTS experience excellence.... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at the hotel over the weekend. The hotel is in the perfect location and has secure parking and wifi.The food was excellent. Dinner was superb with an A La Carte menu. Breakfast was good with an amazing pancake machine. Rooms are small but with very comfortable beds. Would recommend the hotel anytime.

Helpful?
Thank AndreanaOchse
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

The rooms were comfortable and neat. Breakfast was big with a very nifty pancake making machine, which were liked by the whole group. Staff members however were not very friendly and helpful. The way they answer when phoned from the room was very unprofessional and blunt. Did not had dinner, but friends of ours did and regretted not going with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adri H
LeeAnnBClarens, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear Adri H Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed our breakfast offering and more importantly the pancake machine - I hope it brought back childhood memories. My sincerest apologies for the unprofessional experience you had with the Restaurant team - I will address your concerns with my TEAM... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Needed an overnight in Clarens and this looked handy. The hotel is walking distance to the attractions on the square and has off street. parking. We were greeted by a helpful bellhop who stacked luggage, efficient and friendly checkin. The popcorn and ice tea in the lobby is a nice quirky touch. We were in the mountain facing rooms which... More 

Helpful?
Thank AndieChisholm
LeeAnnBClarens, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear AndieChisholm Thank you for sharing with us your experience of the Protea Hotel by Marriott Clarens. I am so glad that you enjoyed the popcorn and iced tea on arrival, it is always good to be reminded that life doesn't need to be serious and that something fun is all that we need to make a day that much... More 

Boksburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Protea Hotel in Clarens for a 3 day business conference. The food and the facilities were great. Very good location. Food was also very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful as well. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Clarens.

Helpful?
Thank Marcolegrand
LeeAnnBClarens, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear Marcolegrand Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am delighted to hear that my TEAM, food and facilities are great. More importantly, I hope that your 3 day conference with us was productive and had some great take home value. Thank you again for taking the time to review the Protea Hotel by Marriott Clarens. I look... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
250 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We stayed at Protea Clarens this weekend. Positives : The staff were friendly and efficient throughout. They also catered for the wedding function that we attended on Saturday and at all times, the staff were excellent. The breakfast provided was OK.... - not spectacular but adequate....BUT the room....We had what I believe was a standard room and I personally consider... More 

Helpful?
Thank africantravel
LeeAnnBClarens, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear africatravel Thank you for visiting the Protea Hotel by Marriott Clarens and for sharing your experience with us. I hope you enjoyed Bev and Willie's wedding - It was truly a spectacular occasion and indeed very beautiful. I am very happy to read that my TEAM were excellent and that they are friendly and efficient. Thank you for sharing... More 

Edenvale, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Always a winner to visit.Booked through Bookings.com and got a far better rate than at the hotel itself.This was a bit of a shocker to me. My one night with Bookings .com was far cheaper than with the hotel itself.So be aware where you do your bookings.

Helpful?
1 Thank ElmarieBooysen
LeeAnnBClarens, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear ElmarieBooysen Thank you for your recent review of the Protea Hotel by Marriott Clarens. We unfortunately experienced a gremlin in our machines which incorrectly displayed rates. We have the best rates guaranteed - in future, there should be no variances in rates available throughout various channels. Thank you again for sharing your reservation experience with us. I look forward... More 

Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

We're able to do a telephonic booking, which was very useful. Good, clean accommodation. Bar service was fast and efficient. Decor modern and tasteful. What one comes to expect from a Protea hotel. Breakfast was above average and the service good.

Helpful?
Thank peterpapenfus
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We had a free night at this hotel and definitely did not feel welcome at all. What a great location with lovely views. Hotel were quite empty upon asking for an upgrade to a better room we were refused. baked beans were off and breakfast quite expensive and not great. Much better options in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank aubrey182
LeeAnnBClarens, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear aubrey182 Thank you for sharing your experience with us. My sincerest apologies that you did not feel like the VALUED VIP you are to us. My TEAM have been made aware of the shortcomings you experienced and remedial action has been taken to ensure that this does not happen again. I hope that you will give us an opportunity... More 

Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

We had a fleeting visit to the Protea Hotel in Clarens and would have loved to have stayed longer. Nothing was too much trouble for the awesome staff. Would love to return for longer to explore the town and stay here.

Helpful?
Thank Kirsty45

290 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (184)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clarens hotels
1.2 km away
Mont d'Or Hotel
Mont d'Or Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clarens
68 reviews
0.1 km away
Golden Gate Hotel
Golden Gate Hotel
#6 of 25 in Clarens
143 reviews
13.8 km away
Kiara Lodge
Kiara Lodge
#5 of 25 in Clarens
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Clarens Country House
0.3 km away
By the Way Guesthouse
By the Way Guesthouse
#6 of 37 in Clarens
35 reviews
0.7 km away
Clarens Eddies
Clarens Eddies
#2 of 37 in Clarens
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel Clarens - Home is where the Art is. The Protea Hotel Clarens is located in the best kept secret in art and culture circles of the Free State. The picturesque village of Clarens is framed by the majestic Maluti Mountains, sandstone cliffs and is in close proximity to the Golden Gate National Park and the mountain kingdom of Lesotho. This artists’ haven is a tapestry steeped in history and rich in legend. Experience a living masterpiece that exudes sheer style, luxury and design. Protea Hotel Clarens blends in with the natural splendour that has inspired artists, eco lovers and tourists who simply enjoy the art of living to explore this tranquil, magical landscape and relax, in style. Take in the breathtaking scenery with sundowners on Protea Hotel Clarens’ terrace, enjoy fine dining or laze away the hours in luxury and comfort. This sanctuary embodies state-of-the-art excellence and service. From adrenalin rushes to cultural expeditions, Clarens offers it all. With an abundance of activities nearby, from San paintings and dinosaur trails to white river rafting and rock climbing; Protea Hotel Clarens’ warm hospitality completes the picture. So whether you plan a romantic getaway, team-building exercise, business conference or African adventure, Protea Hotel Clarens has it all. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Clarens

Address: corner of Main & Van der Merwe Streets, Clarens 9707, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Price Range: $116 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Clarens 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Protea Hotel Clarens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel Clarens staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Polokwane, South Africa

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel Clarens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms to the front not good. Busses starts up in the early hours of the morning, to wake you up and then to shut down again.”
 of 5 bubbles ElmarieBooysen, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 112 was great”
 of 5 bubbles DavidL299, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Street-front rooms have a better view. The town is quiet so not noiosy.”
 of 5 bubbles pjvg9141, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the rooms with a view of the mountains, other rooms are viewing the parking lot or the town”
 of 5 bubbles Vettie01, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“some rooms have good views of the town”
 of 5 bubbles BARRYBE, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay