We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
05/11/2017 06/11/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Bell At Sax'

    31 High Street, Saxmundham IP17 1AF, England
    Lowest prices for your stay
    05/11/2017 06/11/2017
    USD 132*
    USD 128*
    SAVE USD 4
    USD 128*
    Traveller (36)
    Room & Suite (8)
    Dining (7)
    • Excellent57%
    • Very good32%
    • Average8%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible2%
    Travellers talk about
    “burger” (9 reviews)
    “great food” (15 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Airport Transportation
    Room Service
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    5 Nov.6 Nov.
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      USD 128
      View Deal
    • View details
      USD 128
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      USD 132
      View Deal
    View all 11 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (205)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year

    1 - 5 of 205 reviews

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

    Stayed here for one night on the way north. Not sure what to expect we were very pleasantly surprised. Our room was spacious and clean with a nice warm and cosy feeling. The bathroom was larger than usual and well appointed. Room had tea and...More

    Thank Bruce S
    Response from Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax'Responded 2 weeks ago

    Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are so pleased you had a lovely stay.

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

    Lovely family room, friendly staff, fabulous breakfast and very good value. Unfortunately we didn't get there until late so can't comment on the bar etc, but it looked busy with a nice atmosphere. All in all, thoroughly recommended.

    Thank Goldy_73
    Response from Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax'Responded 3 weeks ago

    Thank you that is lovely to hear. I hope that next time you will have more time to enjoy The Bell and all it has to offer.

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

    I was very happy with my nights stay here. The decor throughout the establishment is lovely, really making the most of its heritage. My room was bright with high ceiling, huge window and a very fine iron fireplace. I have to give a particular thumbs...More

    Thank Louise B
    Response from Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax'Responded 3 weeks ago

    Thank you for your lovely review, that is so nice to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of The Bell. We look forward to seeing you again.

    Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

    Despite being unimpressed with the online menu, reviews reassured us that this establishment caters for vegetarians. Unfortunately, our expectations were not realised. The menu had not one vegetarian option. When I questioned this I was told I could have either a risotto (which wasn't prepared...More

    Thank Amelia1310
    Response from Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax'Responded 4 weeks ago

    Thank you for your review and I am very sorry that we dissapointed. We have taken a serious look at our menu to make sure we satisfy our vegetarian customers from now on.

    Reviewed 7 September 2017

    Having driven up from Surrey, we were provided with a very warm and friendly welcome at The Bell at Sax. Our room was spacious, with a huge bathroom. Everything was absolutely spotless. We were offered lunch shortly after our arrival. I can honestly say it...More

    Thank Gungahlin
    Response from Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax'Responded 7 September 2017

    Thank you for your lovely comments, what a glowing review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay.

    Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
    1,215 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Woodbridge
    Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
    540 reviews
    #7 of 10 hotels in Lowestoft
    Novotel Ipswich
    863 reviews
    #3 of 18 hotels in Ipswich
    pentahotel Ipswich
    514 reviews
    #6 of 18 hotels in Ipswich
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Room Service
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Spa
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Room Service
    • Airport Transportation
    • Breakfast Available
    • Breakfast included
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Spa
    • Price range
    • USD 125 - USD 164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 10
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Bell At Sax' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • East Anglia >
    • Suffolk >
    • Saxmundham
    • Also Known As
    • The Bell At Sax' Saxmundham, Suffolk
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (36)
    Room & Suite (8)
    Dining (7)
    Hotel & Grounds (23)
    Bathroom (2)
    Novotel Ipswich
    863 reviews
    29.35 km away
    Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
    540 reviews
    33.09 km away
    Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
    1,215 reviews
    14.92 km away
    pentahotel Ipswich
    514 reviews
    30.10 km away
    Nearby Restaurants
    The Bell Hotel
    187 reviews
    .00 km away
    Trinity's at No.14
    73 reviews
    .08 km away
    Trawler's Catch
    45 reviews
    .05 km away
    The Bistro
    55 reviews
    .04 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Glemham Hall
    8 reviews
    5.67 km away
    Aldeburgh Music
    35 reviews
    5.70 km away
    Snape Maltings
    521 reviews
    5.72 km away
    Long Shop Museum
    75 reviews
    5.74 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    10 November 2016|
    Response from Jonathan N | Property representative |
    Good morning there is street parking on the market place which is free from 6pm till 8am. alternativly there is the town car park two minutes walk which is £2 for 24 hours monday-saturday and free all day sunday. I hope you... More
    Malcolm H
    30 August 2016|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from CliveW16 | Reviewed this property |
    I don't work there either so don't know for sure. There weren't any wheelchair bound residents or guests during our stay.😉 have you tried their website or even phoning them?

    Recently Reviewed Hotels around Saxmundham

    Room Tips
    "I expect all rooms to be very good based on our experience, but there are stairs up which you need to climb..."
    Read review
    "Quieter rooms not overlooking back yard preferred."
    Read review
    "We only used the restaurant because we live close by."
    Read review
    "Not attic rooms we were told if you're tall."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing