We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Muweti Bush Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Muweti Bush Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 135: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a wonderful place sadly we only stayed 1night but will definitely return for longer. The self catering cottage was very neat and lovely and Mike and Laura are very nice and warm hearted hosts. We were very fortunate too have had n pride of male lions on n buffalo kill within a few meters from our cottage something that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wiann d
Mkhulujo, Owner at Muweti Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for this fantastic review.We regret you were only able to stay 1 night but maybe next time a little longer.The roaring of lions close by is really one of the bush's iconic experiences. Kind regards from all at Muweti.

Nuremberg, Germany
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Our second visit to Muweti, this time for 4 nights. Great place, great food, great sightings! Mike and Laura, thank you so much for being our hosts and giving us such unforgettable moments. We enjoyed very every moment of our stay! We will visit you again maybe very soon! Cheers and vielen Dank!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucentis
Mkhulujo, Owner at Muweti Bush Lodge, responded to this review

It really was our pleasure to host you as return guests. Thank you for your exceelnet review and we are again very pleased you enjoyed your second visit. And we look forward to your return trip. Kind regards from all at Muweti.

Fjenneslev, Denmark
Reviewed 11 October 2016

My daughter and I were very lucky when choosing "Muweti bush Lodge" for our first trip to south Africa. I would like to find new beautiful words to praise the place and especially Laura and Mike. We found comfort, beauty in the lodge, knowledge, cleverness, humor and a warmth of the heart in our hosts...And yes two years of drought...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mireille H
Mkhulujo, Owner at Muweti Bush Lodge, responded to this review

You guys were great company for us and we had good fun with your visit. We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here, and pleased we were able to satisfy your holiday needs. Thank you for this wonderful review and we do trust we will meet again one day. Kind regards from all at Muweti.

Waltham Cross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016

This is the second time in two years we have stayed at Muweti. This time we took our three sons and a girlfriend. As usual, Laura and Mick were the ultimate host's. The food was impeccable and Laura went out of her way to spoil the boy's. Nothing was to much trouble, and it is the most fantastic and relaxing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Philip S
Mkhulujo, Owner at Muweti Bush Lodge, responded to this review

It was great to see you guys again as well as to meet your boys (and Holly). We are thrilled your second trip was as successful as you had wanted. Great lion sightings I must admit. And you got to see Polo again. Thanks for an excellent review and we trust you will visit again. Kind regards from all at...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 14 September 2016

My wife and I drove from Cape Town to indulge and be indulged in an idyllic, tranquill, small, caring and beautifully located 'Muweti Bush Lodge.' Our affable and kind-hearted host and hostess, Mike and Laura, showered us with good food, good care and sincere friendship. There is great attention to all the details of 'bush creature comforts.' Sitting under the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbball2016
Mkhulujo, Owner at Muweti Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for this fantastic review and by reciprocation the stories told by yourselves to us were fascinating as well. Until next time all the best from Muweti.

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Easy booking. Easy Access to reserve. Friendly reception. Decent accommodation and facilities. Nice and quiet setup for a more private bush breakaway - not too many people around . Will definitely make the effort to visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bertusueckermann
Mkhulujo, Owner at Muweti Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for this wonderful review. We hope the reasons for your visit were well satisfied. Kind regards from all at Muweti.

Lohmar, Germany
Reviewed 25 August 2016

An absolute amazing location, where the elefants, monkeys, warthogs...... look right into your place and warmhearted people care for you in a perfect way! Sitting at the bonfire was very romantic and the steaks were delicious.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank monikaf297
Mkhulujo, Owner at Muweti Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for this wonderful review. It was really our pleasure to host you and we are very happy indeed that you enjoyed our little piece of paradise even when it was so dry. Kind regards from all at Muweti.

Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands
Reviewed 15 July 2016

It has been a while since I've been there, but the memory is still fresh and it is one of my favourite memories of our trip to South-Africa. If we would have known about this place beforehand and we hadn't already booked a night in Kruger Park afterwards, we wouldn't have stayed onlye one night, we would had extended our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kim W
Mkhulujo, Owner at Muweti Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for this fantastic review. I am sorry you never got to meet Laura. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully if you're in the vicinity in the future you will stay with us for a longer time. Kind regards from all at Muweti.

Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed four nights at Muweti Lodge and for us it was one of the best experiences we had during our time in South Africa. From the game drives with Mike & Jess to Lauras awesome food always freshly cooked and the evenings around the fire with them and the other guests it was a perfect stay. For people who...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christoph K
Mkhulujo, Owner at Muweti Bush Lodge, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to host you guys at Muweti Bush Lodge and you are welcome back at anytime. Thanks for visiting us and thank you for this fabulous review. Best regards from all at Muweti.

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 25 April 2016

My fiancee to be and me stayed here at the beginning of April 2016. Before hand I had contacted the owner to set up things for my proposal. Mike and his wife Laura were the sweetest ever, and the proposal went exactly as planned. A beautiful sunset, champagne ready. The bed room was extremely cool, looking over a small puddle...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 591anneliesw
Mkhulujo, Owner at Muweti Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review. Understandably the reserve is looking harsh at this time, having had 2 dry seasons in a row, with this year's drought being the worst in at least 33 years and maybe even since the 1930's . This is part of the wet/dry cycles we have. We certainly look forward to ANY rain at this...

261 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (207)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (125)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phalaborwa
23.6 km away
Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
#2 of 6 in Phalaborwa
256 reviews
24.6 km away
Bushveld Terrace Hotel & Guest House
22.7 km away
Baluleni Safari Lodge
Baluleni Safari Lodge
#7 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Casart Game Lodge
Casart Game Lodge
#1 of 2 in Grietjie Nature Reserve
264 reviews
22.7 km away
Sunbird Lodge
Sunbird Lodge
#1 of 25 in Phalaborwa
240 reviews
16.0 km away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An intimate tented camp within a big 5 reserve where the tented chalets are positioned to give a truly unusual sense of fusion with the bush. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Muweti Bush Lodge

Address: Plot 38 Grietjie | Balule Nature Reserve, Phalaborwa 1390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Phalaborwa
Price Range: $120 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Muweti Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Muweti Bush Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Muweti Bush Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Either tented chalet is nice.”
 of 5 bubbles Neish, 28 Dec 2015 | Read review
“all food and game drives included. Beverages the only extra cost. Meals are fantastic”
 of 5 bubbles Jules592014, 12 Nov 2015 | Read review
“The tent accommodation was brilliant”
 of 5 bubbles 81arg, 17 Aug 2015 | Read review
“we stayed in the tented camp which was fantastic. Both rooms are identical but the front one has a view of the waterhole.”
 of 5 bubbles 10RIVERSIDEHOUSE, 15 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Go for one of the tented camp/chalets”
 of 5 bubbles mtobin61180, 17 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay