We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Chestnut Lane Cottage

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matamata
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Chestnut Lane Cottage
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

347 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 340: English reviews
Russell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Chestnut Lane was an excellent choice of accommodation for our five night stay. It exceeded our expectations in every way. We were two friends wanting peace and quiet after a long day hacking around the golf course! We got this in the bucketload. The fantastic ammenities in the cottage, meant we didn't need to venture out for a meal if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharyn S
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are planning to visit hobbitton there is no better place to stay. The accomodations are great, clean, spacious, warm and confortable (wifi included) , the breakfast is delicious and the conversation with Kathleen and John is even better. 15 minutes away from Hobbitton. Even Bilbo Baggins (Martin Freeman) decided to stay here in the filming.

Helpful?
Thank Polo C
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review

Polo it was great to meet you and have you stay with us on your very special anniversary. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. John and I hope you had a lovely night in Queenstown before heading off to Australia. Warm regards and best wishes Kathleen and John. More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and I spent a night here while visiting Matamata for a much-anticipated trip to the Hobbiton Movie Set. Kathleen and John greeted us on arrival and showed us to the cottage, and Kathleen provided us with lovely tea and scones! The next morning after our fantastic evening at Hobbiton, Kathleen prepared us a delicious breakfast before we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank trib22
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review

Hi to you both in Canberra. Thank you very much for your nice review. We want to say thank you for coming to stay with us in Matamata. It was so nice meeting you. I hope you enjoyed your travels to Wellington and the South Island. We hope one day you will be back again to see us. Warmest regards... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staying at this B&B was a real pleasure. We were welcomed by Kathleen and John with fresh scones, which were delicious. The property is spacious and spotlessly clean, as well as comfortable. Breakfast was very tasty too and Kathleen was a most attentive host. I would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation.

Helpful?
Thank Sally P
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review

Sally thank you very much for taking the time to write a nice review for us. We did enjoy meeting you both and enjoyed our chat with you at breakfast. Have a wonderful time during the remainder of your holiday in New Zealand and have a safe trip back to UK in a few weeks. Warmest regards Kathleen and John More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Chestnut Lane Cottage was simply phenomenal. My wife and I stayed with Kathleen and John in the cottage as part of our honeymoon and visit to the North Island. What a wonderful way to travel and 'break-up' the ho-hum that you get with a hotel. The cottage felt like home and we looked forward to Kathleen's breakfast every morning -... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard M
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you so much Richard for your lovely review and thank you for choosing to stay 3 nights with us on your Honeymoon. We enjoyed having you stay and loved the chats with you both at breakfast time. John and I wish you a wonderful married life together. Warmest regards from Matamata, New Zealand. More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Chestnut Lane Cottage is a gorgeous, modern, self-contained cottage, located in a quiet area and set in immaculate grounds with idyllic views across green fields towards the ‘hills of Hobbiton’. Kathleen and John are the perfect hosts, so friendly and helpful but without being intrusive. We stayed two nights whilst visiting the Matamata area : on arrival we were greeted... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amegilla
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely words you wrote in your review, you are so kind. We loved having you both stay and are happy you enjoyed your 2 nights with us. John and I often speak about how lucky we are to have so many lovely, friendly guests stay at our B&B. Best wishes to you both, warmest... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We recently stayed at Chestnut Lane Cottage with our 3 daughters. It was a perfect stay. We all fit in the private cottage which was immaculately clean, very comfortable and well appointed. The grounds are quiet and peaceful and the location is convenient to Hobbiton as well as the town centre of Matamata. Kathleen and John were very welcoming and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul K
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review

Paul thank you very much for your kind review. We did enjoy having you stay and meeting your lovely family, your daughters are delightful. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. Best wishes to you all with warmest regards from Kathleen and John. More 

Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2016

After reading the rave reviews, the bar was already set pretty high... Kathleen & John did NOT disappoint! Well-organized arrival & delicious scones, tea and fresh cream / jam in the afternoon. Fresh fruit off their trees from the yard were much appreciated. Kathleen made a delicious and hearty breakfast for us before we left for the rest of our... More 

Helpful?
Thank MDBird
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review

MDBird thank you for your kind words, it was lovely meeting you and your mum and have you stay with us. It was nice talking with you at breakfast. I hope you had fun on your travels to the Hawkes Bay in NZ. Warm regards Kathleen and John. More 

Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
138 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2016

John and Kathleen were the consummate hosts ! When we arrived after dark, Kathleen asked if we had eaten, and promptly produced delectable scones and jam for us. The bed and pillows were wonderful, and the scrumptious breakfast was a treat - eggs, bacon, and toast and jam with a pot of coffee. We hated to leave !

Helpful?
Thank TransformedTraveler
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review

Hi there in Boulder Colorado - thank you so much for your lovely review. Thank you for coming to stay with us, we enjoyed meeting your and your daughter. Hope you enjoyed the remainder of your travels down under. Warmest regards Kathleen and John. More 

sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Travelling with my wife and our 6 year old son to visit nearby Hobbiton and the Waitomo glow worm caves, we were very lucky to receive a very warm Kiwi welcome from Kathleen and John at Chesnut Lane Cottage. We were made to feel completely at home and were treated to a delicious full cooked breakfast. Yummo! Thanks so much... More 

Helpful?
Thank pomneil
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review

Hi Neil and your lovely family. Thank you so much for coming to stay with us and thank you for your review. It was great to meet you. Take care, warmest regards Kathleen and John More 

204 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matamata hotels
2.7 km away
Tower Road Motel
Tower Road Motel
#1 of 5 in Matamata
253 reviews
2.1 km away
Matamata Central Motel
Matamata Central Motel
#2 of 7 in Matamata
130 reviews
1.9 km away
Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
ArtHouse Bed and Breakfast
7.8 km away
Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park
0.9 km away
O'Reilly's Motel
O'Reilly's Motel
#3 of 5 in Matamata
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This brand new self-contained cottage, with beautiful country views, is five minutes drive to Matamata town centre and 10 minutes drive to Hobbiton.Your private cottage has a lounge and kitchen that open out onto a deck with stunning views. The bedroom has a queen size bed, walk-in wardrobe and ensuite.A large cooked breakfast is included. Home cooked lunch and dinner on request. Free WiFi. DVD player. Your friendly hosts Kathleen and John welcome you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chestnut Lane Cottage

Address: 4 Chestnut Lane | Eldonwood, Matamata 3400, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Matamata
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chestnut Lane Cottage staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Chestnut Lane Cottage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is only one bedroom!!!”
 of 5 bubbles poloc986, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We loved the cottage, very roomy and private”
  • View from the cottage
 of 5 bubbles Minigirl24, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“This is a special place with just the annex (small cottage) for one party of guests at a time.”
 of 5 bubbles GrahamStJ, 28 Jan 2016 | Read review
“One set of rooms is in a separate building if you want even more privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles 245lindaj, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Not the place for you if you want anonymity, but brilliant if you love meeting local people and being treated like family”
 of 5 bubbles Townes2015, 2 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5