We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Domaine de Barive

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Domaine de Barive
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

597 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 132: English reviews
Switzerland
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We have been coming here once a year since it opened in 2006 and have seen the development over the years i.e. Tarred access roads, pool, spa etc and this year renovated rooms. Must admit last year we were not convinced about the room but these all seem to have had a make over. The location is great ..in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1,806
Leromain, Propriétaire at Domaine de Barive, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comment. We constantly renovate the different spaces. We hope to see you soon.

Leeds
Reviewed 14 September 2016

This was our fourth stay at this hotel and it will not, I hope, be the last. It is not easy to find really classy places to stay in Northern France, convenient to normal travel routes, but Barive fills the bill. The house and gardens are beautiful, the service excellent. We have almost always had handsome and spacious rooms. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeedsAmateur
Leromain, Propriétaire at Domaine de Barive, responded to this review

We apologize that you do not enjoy our food. However, we take note of your remarks.

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We stayed with a group for the night. I was very impressed as we arrived as the buildings are impressive. We all enjoyed the complimentary drink on arrival, which was appreciated. Unfortunately, I went to our room which was in the rafters. I am a small person but had to do an impression of Quasimodo to have a shower in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 789apollo
Leromain, Propriétaire at Domaine de Barive, responded to this review

We take note of your remarks. However, we are in the open country and at the time of the spreading, we have a few flies. Concerning the room, ask for a room on the 1st floor next time if you want to give us a second chance.

Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here because of the convenience to our travel plans. The website is confusing but after a conversation with the hotel we had a room at the chateau and also booked a gourmand dinner at the restaurant . The hotel is in the middle of a farm and realistically you only have the choice of the restaurant there which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jmahg
Leromain, Propriétaire at Domaine de Barive, responded to this review

We take note of your remarks. However, we are in the open country and at the time of the spreading, we have a few flies. Thank you for your visit.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

I picked this hotel from a guide provided at another hotel as a stopover - after a morning at a champagne house and afternoon at Reims cathedral -to break the journey north. What a win! Beautiful house and fantastic restaurant. Definitely recommend a stay. We will visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Helen K
Leromain, Propriétaire at Domaine de Barive, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay and your comment. We hope to see you again.

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 11 July 2016

My daughter and I really enjoyed our visit here.Contrary to what the person said in an earlier post,the staff were "very understanding and attentive" to my daughter's many allergies and took care of her meals professionally, creatively ,and admirably. We did not phone ahead or write,to advise them of her allergies,we just told the chef and dining room manager at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank granville1
Leromain, Propriétaire at Domaine de Barive, responded to this review

Thank you for your beautiful opinion and I hope to see you next year.

Liphook, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel. The staff are excellent, keen to help and to provide outstanding service. The room that we had, had been refurbished since our last visit and was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was well equipped and the air conditioning was welcome. A good overnight stay.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Frances G
Leromain, Propriétaire at Domaine de Barive, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your loyalty. Our rooms are regularly renovated and we have now air-conditioned in all the hotel. I hope see you very soon .

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

This hotel had been recommended to us by friends and family, as it is ideally situated for us on a journey we often make between the uk and eastern France. It is a real treat for a stopover, or would make for a relaxing break in rural France. We arrived in time for a welcome drink of local cider and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bugs53_12
Leromain, Propriétaire at Domaine de Barive, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your comment. You are right but we cannot please everybody unfortunately. We hope to see you again.

Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

We stopped here on our way back to England after Easter Holiday. We wanted to try somewhere new as prices in the champagne region seem to be rising considerably and wanted to try something new a bit cheaper. It is slightly further from the autoroute than we would normally go, about a half hour but we are not fast drivers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
Pascal L, Propriétaire at Domaine de Barive, responded to this review

Thank you very much for this encouraging comment. We hope to see you again.

Bagshot
Reviewed 7 April 2016

We have stayed here twice in the last two years and on both occasions have found it an enjoyable experience. The rooms are comfortable, the bathrooms good, though ours suffered from a blocked shower drain on this occasion. The staff are helpful. The swimming pool is small but pleasantly warm. Personally I don't like the plastic statues in the garden...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David C
Pascal L, Propriétaire at Domaine de Barive, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. For the decoration , tastes and colors do not discuss . We only enjoy a WIFI with low flow to our regret . We hope to see you again.

440 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (391)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Dining (59)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (181)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (38)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Preuve
22.4 km away
Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette
38.2 km away
Chateau de Courcelles
Chateau de Courcelles
#1 of 1 in Courcelles-sur-Vesle
364 reviews
19.8 km away
Hotel de la Banniere de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 km away
Ibis Laon
Ibis Laon
#3 of 8 in Laon
359 reviews
2.3 km away
Le Prieure Chambres d'hotes
Le Prieure Chambres d'hotes
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Preuve
109 reviews
21.8 km away
Center Parcs Le Lac d'Ailette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Domaine de Barive

Address: Domaine de Barive, 02350 Sainte-Preuve, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Aisne > Sainte-Preuve
Price Range: $203 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine de Barive 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Domaine de Barive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Du Chateau De Barive Hotel Sainte-Preuve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Domaine de Barive staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room other than an attic room.”
 of 5 bubbles LeedsAmateur, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 has a great view across the courtyard and down the main drive”
 of 5 bubbles alisonh833, 7 Sep 2015 | Read review
“my room was at front, but workman's car drew up in the morning banging doors & woke me up - perhaps rooms at back better.”
 of 5 bubbles Takeagoodbook, 17 Aug 2015 | Read review
“A Delux Room above the Spa as they have built in Aircon.”
 of 5 bubbles 600simonp, 15 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Don't think they have a bad one”
 of 5 bubbles ReeceForfar_Scotland, 6 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay