We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Insight Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Insight Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Insight Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 106: English reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Loved our stay over a weekend! Insight had Good service and Friendly staff! Rooms were Clean & Comfortable. It has a Stunning Private beach. Clean beach. Great spot in Ahangama, Sri Lanka. Would definitely come here again.. Food is quite good specially the Sri Lankan cuisine is excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mayanthi G
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much Sir/Madam for your wonderful comments. We are indeed pleased with all the comments and accolades that we keep receiving on Trip Advisor, as a result of it, we are now planning to manage the high demand anticipated in the winter season. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Insight is a beautiful mid size beach resort in the south coast of Sri Lanka. The hotel is very clean, the staff are very friendly and the rooms are nice and comfy. Highly recommend a visit as its a real value for money destination. To simply put it almost 4 star facilities at 3 star prices. Well done team insight!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Man1980
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Your comments about the Insight Resort are spot on – thank you very much Sir. Our sales & marketing objectives are definitely in line with the way you have commented as our effort is to offer a 4* product at a 3* price. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Upon our arrival, the receptionist who is full of attitude and annoying asked us to pay. When our card was rejected, she pushed the machine with such a hatred as if she owned us and we were losers. In the end we paid for our stay which was 3 days. If I had stayed in that hotel a bit more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sinan D
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Although there are two long detailed comments, as per the findings based from our Front Office, Sinan D and antonrg have shared one room. Therefore I wish to respond to both complaints on a single response. It is the hotel policy to collect all payments at the time of check in. Sorry when your card did not work if our...

Suffolk
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a night in July and throughly enjoyed our stay. The location is perfect, overlooking the beautiful coast and the hotel has its own pool just a stones throw from the beach. The tide was quite strong but we did manage to have fun splashing around in the waves. The rooms were lovely, clean and fresh. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LLLSuffolk
colombo
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Superb place for vacation with good room conditions,friendly staff and nice atmosphere. Not ideal for people who expect variety of food other than everything. Not too far away from busy roads but not disturbing at all It's worth for money as long as who is not a heavy food lover. Food is tasty but lack of variety. In my case...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chanaka k
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Sir for your valuable comments. Our resort is a high end 3* property offering 3* rates and 4* quality and service, and the variety of food we offer is also compatible to 3*. Perhaps you may have been comparing the variety of food with a 4* property enjoying such ambiance. We definitely value your comments, especially the way...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Just back from my 2 weeks in Insight which was truly amazing experience...It was highly reccomended my my close friend and was truly best joice ever.Hotel is just renovated,home and pure relaxation feeling.Great pool,fabulous grounds and decor,located just on amazing beach!Rooms big and lovely too,great food: nice variety and super quality.But most of credit should go to service provided,staff friendliness...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ezisty
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much madam, for your most valuable comments about our resort – Insight Resort in Ahangama. It is our desire to always offer our valuable guests value for money and we are truly happy to note your appreciation and recommendations of our Resort and services. We look forward to hosting you again.

Gwalior, India
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Insight for two days. The rooms are good. We stayed in 402 which is deluxe sea view room. It's recommended to stay in the sea view room as the view to the sea and the garden in front is awesome. Room 402 had a more private balcony. Pros: - view definitely - has a secluded private beach...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stella2406
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Hello Stella2406 Thank you very, very much for your open and honest opinion about the quality of our beautiful Resort – INSIGHT. We have very carefully noted your comment about the beef steak being a disaster and we have taken steps already to purchase a higher quality steak product.. Certainly we had a dog menace earlier but we rounded up...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 July 2016

This lovely property sits right on the beach. It's in the middle of having a spruce up so will be even better once the work is done. Great pool, lovely staff who very friendly and helpful. Far enough from the main road to be quiet, close enough to the beach to hear the ocean every night. Who could ask for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jan B
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments about the property, Insight Resort in Ahangama. Sir/Madam, yes all the little, little operational renovations are expected to be done and over by the 15th July 2016. Thank you very much, our strength has always been our wonderful staff. Appreciate your recommendations. Yes, it is quiet, quaint and serene at Insight. Looking...

Kottawa
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

Hotel is in a nice beach with town area. Small pool and unable swimming in sea. Front office is most of time busy. Have a buffet with Sri Lankan spread. But service is bit poor. Food also not given any wow feeling. No idea about room and facilities.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Udarahema
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

The Management of Insight acknowledges your comments. Had you stayed a night with us I am sure your comments would have been much different. As you say that you haven’t stayed and only a day guest, I am unable to trace you being there. Usually we do not come across any day guests making TripAdvisor comments. The beach in front...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

One night stay. Average experience for such an expensive stay. 7000rp. I booked through booking.com. Another 21% added at the hotel. I booked a garden view, I thought that would be downstairs looking onto the sea. On arrival I got a lovely juice, and young man checked me in. It may have been his first time. Then he said he...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yverOS
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

We are pleased to respond very politely to the Contributor ‘yvesOS’. Let me first of all extend our sincere thanks for choosing the Insight Resort for your last stay in Ahangama, Sri Lanka. We have now checked on all details of the concerning guest. The lady has booked the lowest category of our rooms which we have been selling as...

211 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (195)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahangama
4.6 km away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
376 reviews
2.7 km away
Garton's Cape
Garton's Cape
#1 of 4 in Ahangama
129 reviews
4.0 km away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Club Koggala Village
Club Koggala Village
#3 of 5 in Koggala
191 reviews
6.9 km away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Weligama
109 reviews
5.8 km away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Airport Transportation
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
It is a place to relax, rejuvenate, and experience heritage, culture, nature and the way of life in the remote south of Sri Lanka. A resort located in an area where you can also surf and dive. From the lush green garden walk on to the golden sandy beach where you can see the natural reef breaking the blue water to a gentle wave which transforms to a tiny bubbly ripple. Swaying and whispering palms blended with the sound of waves on the quiet beach takes you through a journey of serenity. The long lonely stretch of beach offers you peace in abundance and a dip in the warm Indian Ocean is rejuvenating. Lie under a palm tree and relax on this unpolluted stretch of beach. Learn the art of stilt fishing – a mastery passed down from generation to generation and enjoy the only village of stilt fishing in the world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Insight Resort

Address: Galle Road, Ahangama 80650, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Ahangama
Price Range: $50 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Insight Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Insight Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Insight Hotel Ahangama
Insight Resort Sri Lanka/Ahangama
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Insight Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Insight Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room we had was large with great veiws over the garden and sea but did not have a balconey on the backI”
 of 5 bubbles simond546, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“First floor balcony rooms are best”
 of 5 bubbles HoddersHodders, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“501 good sea view higher floors are better”
 of 5 bubbles herbiefrogg, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Beach facing balcony”
 of 5 bubbles alectweedie, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room with a balcony on the front overlooking the sea”
 of 5 bubbles CCG2012, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5