We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Insight Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Insight Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 103: English reviews
surrey
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

service is good food is worth the cost sea view is brilent for a resonably price hotel this dileverd what you need from a resort hotel .the beach is the best asset of this hotel the new wing is very good staff are help full

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank herbiefrogg
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/ Madam, We appreciate your good comments about the Insight Resort. Your comments surely contribute to the discerning traveler with the correct facts and information in finding the right product. Thank you very much for choosing “Insight” and hope to see you again soon.

La Croix-Valmer, France
Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic location!!! ahangama is a small village but it has a train station which is 300meters from hotel so access to galle / matara is easy.the hotel has a private beach and good sized pool.breakfast is buffet stye and large.we payed a bit more for a balcony facing the beach well worth it.after our first week travelling around the country...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alectweedie
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/ Madam, Thank you very much for your lovely comments of our Resort. Yes, the resort is in the close proximity to the train station as well as the main road and also just by the beautiful stretch of beach. We are happy to note that the cozy atmosphere of the newly renovated Insight Resort has catered your much...

Noida, India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Resort is located just on the beach and most of the rooms are sea facing which gives a nice view, the room size is good with the required amenities, mosquitoes are there in the evening so keep the doors closed. Room service is efficient, Breakfast spread is nice with lot of variety, pool is good alongwith the garden facing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank agupta_123
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/ Madam, Thank you very much for quoting our resort as a “Perfect holiday resort at the beach”. We are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We must admit that, the hospitality and the friendliness of staff has always been mentioned by our guests. Please do come again and discover us more and we...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The property is very appropriately located just by the beach.The beach and surroundings are very well kept.Room decor is nice and staff is very helpful cordial and hospitable. I liked the pool and juice bar in particular. Rooms are nice,bright and airy. Nice arrangement to keep children busy with various games.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sonali T
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Sonali, Thank you very much for your lovely comments and happy to note that you liked our resort very much, specially the pool and the juice bar. We would like to welcome you again to enjoy and discover more about our resort “Insight”. Thank you.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Greeted with a beautiful view but in the room we were welcomed by 500 mosquitos. The rooms are budget like and our 3rd cot was a rickety uncomfortable metal fold bed which is not we expect in a resort of this size. The service is poor with friendly staff but they lack training and professionalism. This hotel can be huge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thirukkumaran N
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We thank you and welcome your comments. There may have been a few mosquitos out in the garden and in the restaurant as the gentleman has stayed in the hotel from 26th to 28th December and just prior to that there was a shower. However, with the fogging treatment done three times a month, we refuse to accept...

Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As I was travelling with an organised group, I didn't pick the place myself. So I didn't have any special expectations. The hotel is right at the beach, but also close at a busy road (although we didn't notice that in our room) with a bus stop very close by. There is also a supermarket very close by. There are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana F
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. It’s true that the hotel is situated by the road side but you have noticed that there is no noise disturbance in the resort area. This is because the hotel has been Architecturally Designed in such a manner, that the road side is well covered by the service buildings, so that there is...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We checked out a room with balcony overlooking the sea and loved it. When we came back a few days later, to book it, it was already taken… But Githa - the wonderfully attentive FOM, did everything she could to get us a room. And from the minute we arrived we were treated with such friendliness by polite, friendly, thoughtful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CCG2012
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay here. We had rooms on the ground floor so we could just walk out onto the beach n the sea is so beautiful. The staff are friendly and the Buffet was delicious. I loved the rooms as well. Would recommend this highly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank priyareub
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you very much for your recommendation of our Resort. We are happy to note that you enjoyed the beauty of the see in front of the Resort and we believe you must have enjoyed the cozy atmosphere of the Resort too. Thank you once again and we are pleased to welcome you again.

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 20 November 2016

As sea-side hotels go this one is located in a small portion of land between the sea and the Galle Road, but it has over 50 comfortable rooms. During the time we visited the sea was rough and swallowed much of the sandy beach which would normally be wider. We found the service and attention to detail excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Max J
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Max, Thank you very much for your valuable comments. Insight Resort consists of 53 rooms and we are glad you found our rooms comfortable. During the rough sea seasons the beach shrinks, but you will realize that sea bathing is still a reality, because of the reef that stretches across approximately 60 mtrs away. I like to share...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 22 October 2016

The hotel well exceeded our exceptions with their modern designs and bright colours, the pool is right besides their dining area and we could barely contain our excitement. The staff were very accommodating and even went out of their way on several occasions to make sure we enjoyed our stay even at the point of booking our rooms. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ellieman2016
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Ellieman, Thank you very much for your lovely comments. “Insight” is a Resort by the sea which consists of 53 rooms. It has been renovated recently in such a way to make our guests feel their stay more relaxing. The pool amidst the beautifully landscaped garden has added more colour to it. We believe that, the kind of...

208 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (192)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahangama
4.6 km away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
363 reviews
2.7 km away
Garton's Cape
Garton's Cape
#1 of 4 in Ahangama
124 reviews
4.0 km away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Club Koggala Village
Club Koggala Village
#3 of 5 in Koggala
186 reviews
6.9 km away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Weligama
100 reviews
5.8 km away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
It is a place to relax, rejuvenate, and experience heritage, culture, nature and the way of life in the remote south of Sri Lanka. A resort located in an area where you can also surf and dive. From the lush green garden walk on to the golden sandy beach where you can see the natural reef breaking the blue water to a gentle wave which transforms to a tiny bubbly ripple. Swaying and whispering palms blended with the sound of waves on the quiet beach takes you through a journey of serenity. The long lonely stretch of beach offers you peace in abundance and a dip in the warm Indian Ocean is rejuvenating. Lie under a palm tree and relax on this unpolluted stretch of beach. Learn the art of stilt fishing – a mastery passed down from generation to generation and enjoy the only village of stilt fishing in the world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Insight Resort

Address: Galle Road, Ahangama 80650, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Ahangama
Price Range: $60 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Insight Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Insight Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Insight Hotel Ahangama
Insight Resort Sri Lanka/Ahangama
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Insight Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Insight Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“501 good sea view higher floors are better”
 of 5 bubbles herbiefrogg, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Beach facing balcony”
 of 5 bubbles alectweedie, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room with a balcony on the front overlooking the sea”
 of 5 bubbles CCG2012, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms face the sea. Elderly guests may want to select rooms at ground level as there are no escalators.”
 of 5 bubbles 809maxj, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with the balconies are the best.....”
 of 5 bubbles m0hammed4, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay