We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Oyster Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Oyster Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

292 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 276: English reviews
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stopped in for a cosy evening meal - we both opted for the steak pie which was over generous in size and a wee bit off putting, had a look around at other dishes coming out and they are all mega mega!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigsensible
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited on Wednesday night very busy bustling pub. Had delicious deep fried oysters and great salmon it was a real treat. It has a great menu for all tastes but fish lovers will be in their element with all the fresh fish dishes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fiona g
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016

I spent a night here with friends while on a trip to see the highlands. The cost was higher than I usually like to spend, but I loved it. My friends and I chose the hotel because we love food and it has a great reputation at various food and drink-oriented websites. The food really was excellent--simple, but so good....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bzz77
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Stayed here for a night October 2016. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was large, clean and airy and the towels in the bathroom smelled clean rather than overheated in a tumble dryer. Has to be said, the mattress was one of the best hotel mattresses I've slept on, I think ever! The restaurant was closed as it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Stayed here for a business meeting further down the West Coast. Welcome was warm and efficient and got straight into the room. Room was simple, clean and tidy. Popped down to the bar for dinner and again service was warm and welcoming. The menu (and whisky list) had suffered some casualties from supplier/delivery issues but there was still a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duncan I
Billingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely meal in the dog friendly bar at the Oyster Inn. The service was friendly and helpful. I had smoked fish soup think its called cullen skink and my husband had haggis tatties and neeps for starters both delicious. My husband had a steak cooked to his liking and I had chicken rob Roy both really good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heather l
Welwyn
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

We booked our stay over the phone directly with the inn. Poor telephone manners and they were unfriendly at check in. Oban accommodations are apparently generally overpriced but the condition of this inn was not worth £130! Best take a van and get just as good kip in that as in this noisy and grotty place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ValentineWelwyn
TheGluePot, Manager at Oyster Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ms Valentine, Your review is wholly inaccurate: 1. If you book over the phone the price is £120. 2. We are not a ‘motel' as you state in your heading, we are an Inn. 3. Comments such as take a van is downright insulting. 4. We are not a grotty place. This is a pure insult and goes against...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Eaten here a few times, the food has been of mixed standard, can remember last three occasions one was a 'must go back' in the winter of this year others felt like we won't be going back like the most recent experience. Location is excellent by the sea, fabulous, friendly barman, pub is old with sympathetic design, open fire, sea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TJGavin
Faenza
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We spent one night here and found it an excellent choice. Car parking is available for free either at the front or rear of the hotel. Our ETIVE room was very nice and clean, although there was no sea view. I read negative comments here but we really found it good. Try to book the ETIVE room in advance if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sergio F
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We dined at the restaurant, and both of our meals were beautiful. We ordered the seafood chowder and seafood linguine, which were both lovely. The seafood chowder was the best I have ever had - definitely a must. The service was friendly, and the food came out quickly. It was a lovely meal, would definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Swarvie

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connel
0.8 km away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
414 reviews
6.5 km away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
7.2 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 12 in Oban
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 12 in Oban
749 reviews
6.5 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 12 in Oban
1,578 reviews
0.5 km away
Lochnell Arms Hotel
Lochnell Arms Hotel
#2 of 9 in Connel
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Oyster Inn

Address: By Oban, Connel, Oban PA37 1PJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Price Range: $156 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Oyster Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Hotel Connel
Oyster Inn Scotland/Oban - Connel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oyster Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Argyll
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Oyster Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms at the back are probably quieter because of people leaving the bar and doing deliveries at the front.”
 of 5 bubbles bzz77, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Didn't notice a lift to the upper floor, so check first if a lift is an necessity.”
 of 5 bubbles amandahT4626YK, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“the Etive room is perfect, but no sea view, which is available in the common living room next door.”
 of 5 bubbles SergioF559, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Did not stay in hotel”
 of 5 bubbles JonathanEvans, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms similar in aspect, as far as I was aware.”
 of 5 bubbles paprikas2015, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay