We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Misty Mountain

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Misty Mountain
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Misty Mountain
See the most recent reviews
Showing 133: English reviews
Hazyview
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Misty Mountain on Long Tom Pass has to be one of my most favourite places. Even though we only live 1.5hrs away, the minute you drive onto the property you immediately feel relaxed. Comfortable, cosy cottages, great staff & delicious food. Just the best place to unwind. Highly recommend a visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
Lisa S, Owner at Misty Mountain, responded to this review

Dear Tracey M, As one of our most regular visitors, we really appreciate your review. We always look forward to seeing you and the merry bunch of friends that you often bring along. Keep coming to Misty Mountain and keep unwinding...we always look forward to seeing you. Regards from all at Misty Mountain

Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

I'm sure there are better places to stay. But, not many places are in a location like Misty Mountain. Sure, there are some maintenance issues but you just can't ignore everything that's right. Feels like you're in another. A great place to be away from everything.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brendan B
Lisa S, Owner at Misty Mountain, responded to this review

Dear Brendan B, Thank you for your good review. Our location is our greatest asset as you point out and we are pleased that you enjoyed being "away from everything". It would be most helpful to us if you specified the particular maintenance issues that you noticed. Perhaps you can still do that? Looking forward to hearing from you and...

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

A wonderful but short visit. Enjoyed the Long Tom Toboggan, the choice of meals in the restaurant and the fantastic setting. The friendly staff made for a relaxing stay. We will certainly be going back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cliff H
Lisa S, Owner at Misty Mountain, responded to this review

Dear Cliff H, Thanks for visiting us, albeit for just a short time. Your comments are appreciated, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon. With thanks and regards from all at Misty Mountain

Reviewed 7 October 2016

Friendly service warms the crystal crisp air as you walk into the homely lounge area that looks from a height over the ever green pine forest below. With wood to spare our host is thinking of your hearts desire. a kindle is packed waiting for your spark to ignite the fire. What an amazing stay!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lambertus Johan... M
Lisa S, Owner at Misty Mountain, responded to this review

Dear Lambertus, What can we say...after you described your experience so eloquently! You speak about the things that made your trip special and those, along with others, do make Misty Mountain a special place indeed. Thank you for your comments and the great review. Look forward to seeing you again soon! Regards from all at Misty Mountain

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We spent a lovely two days at Misty Mountain and could not have asked for more. Comfortable and safe, with friendly and helpful staff that made us feel so welcome. A lovely spot to just get away from it all. We will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahbennett111
Lisa S, Owner at Misty Mountain, responded to this review

Dear sarahbennett111, Thanks for the fab review. We look forward to seeing you soon again. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards from all at Misty Mountain

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Just had a wonderful stay at Misty Mountain. Lovely staff and good food. Its so peaceful up there and view from the deck is stunning. Great place to have breakfast and lunch, even on a cooler day. Good place to stay as near to Dulstroom and Sabie and all of the other attractions in the area. Also a great place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marge806
Lisa S, Owner at Misty Mountain, responded to this review

Dear Marge806, We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Misty Mountain and thanks for the good review. We believe that our central location makes Misty Mountain an attractive destination and base for travelling around our wonderful region of the Kruger Lowveld. We hope that you will visit us again in the future. Regards from all at Misty...

Nelspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Best setting on the Mpumalanga escarpment with a view that stretches forever. Great place for a Sunday lunch with a menu that bucks the normal and never disappoints. Classy accommodation supported by friendly staff and very charming hosts.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerrit M
Lisa S, Owner at Misty Mountain, responded to this review

Dear Gerrit M, Thank you for the great review. We always enjoy hosting you at Misty Mountain and we look forward to your next visit. Regards from all from Misty Mountain

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Last weekend we went with friends to this place we had been 2 or 3 times before. So we knew that we will have friendly stuff and a very nice environment with marvelous views from the terrasse. But unfortunately in the night from Saturday to Sunday (18.9.-19.9.2016) 3 criminals broke in our chalet. They smashed the frontdoor and entered the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sylvia L
Lisa S, Owner at Misty Mountain, responded to this review

Dear Sylvia L, Misty Mountain is a place of natural beauty, tranquility and happy times, and has been so for the past 41 years that our family has owned and operated it. You will see this from the overwhelming number of very positive Tripadvisor reviews. You too mentioned your own good experiences on your previous visits to Misty Mountain. The...

Middelburg
Reviewed 14 September 2016

MISTY ROMANTIC Mountain. A Place of tranquillity and awesome heavenly beauty. An ideal place for a romantic breakaway, just to relax, appreciate relationships and just to get away from it all. Friendly and helpful staff and host. They ensure that guests have a memorable stay and urge to go back there more than once. Awesome little bit of heaven on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tersiav2015
Lisa S, Owner at Misty Mountain, responded to this review

Dear tersiav2015, So glad you found your awesome little bit of heaven on earth! Misty Mountain IS indeed a special place and we hope to see you soon again when you need a bit of "soul food". Thank you for the great review. Regards from all at Misty Mountain

Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

We had a great stop over at Misty Mountain on our way to the Kruger Park . It is just a pleasant drive from JHB for an afternoon and then such an advantage next day when arriving for check on a 14h00 at Satara. The accommodation was perfect albeot not luxurious and the dinner was excellent with an amzing selection...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Louise V
Lisa S, Owner at Misty Mountain, responded to this review

Dear Marie-Louise V, It is always pleasing for us when guests are pleasantly surprised on their first visit to Misty Mountain. We hope that you will visit us again en route to and from the Kruger National Park. Thank you for the good review. With thanks and regards from all at Misty Mountain.

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabie
14.7 km away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
36.6 km away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
189 reviews
33.2 km away
Timamoon
Timamoon
#1 of 16 in Sabie
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 km away
Merry Pebbles Resort
Merry Pebbles Resort
#4 of 16 in Sabie
141 reviews
14.9 km away
Sabie Self Catering Apartments
14.8 km away
Forest View Guest House & Self Catering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Misty Mountain is a relaxed, informal, family friendly, owner managed establishment. Our accommodation comprises 27 chalet units and 1 self-catering farmhouse (total of 94 beds) offering comfortable, country style accommodation with easy access to the restaurant and all other facilities. A nature lover’s haven, situated on 280 hectare South African Natural Heritage Site on the spectacular Long Tom Pass (31 km from Lydenburg (Mashishing) and 24 km from Sabie), Mpumalanga, South Africa. Perched at an altitude of 1700 metres above sea level in a malaria free area, Misty Mountain is uniquely set in mountainous countryside with majestic views across the escarpment and into the Lowveld. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Misty Mountain

Address: PO Box 116, Sabie 1260, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Price Range: $131 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Misty Mountain 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Misty Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Misty Mountain staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Misty Mountain staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“10 sleeper farm house is AMAZING!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Suesc14, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Chalets on reception side has a wonderful breathtaking mountain view”
 of 5 bubbles tersiav2015, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Our room was right adjacent to the reception and the pool and was great, as are the adjacent rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles brian_bekker, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Try and book one the 6 sleeper rooms. They're quieter, valley facing and far from the main hotel building.”
 of 5 bubbles RoaldJ, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one with a view, right by the side of the valley”
  • Kitchen Inventory List for the two person chalet
 of 5 bubbles KiaOraKiwi, 10 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5