We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 252: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel
 Click to rate
Carluke, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Myself, my daughter ( the bride), my 2yr old granddaughter and the two bridesmaids spent the eve of her wedding in the hotel. Although the wedding was not taking place in the hotel because my daughter no longer lives in the area she wanted to leave from her home town. The hotel is lovely with stunning views. The rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elainemcdougall
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

If you're looking for a hotel with character & great food in the Lanark area look no further ! Arrived 8pm and was still able to get food , which was excellent. I was then on the road early expecting continental breakfast only but was greeted by Billy who got the chef to make me divine scrambled eggs whilst he...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you are wanting a hot shower or shave forget it !!!! I think that I was possibly 1 out of ten people staying and I am put into a room with no hot water the food was okay and staff were attentive room was a bit small

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jacks002
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel, great comforting food and very welcoming Staff. Fiona from reception and Kirsty from the restaurant made us feel welcome and at ease. Our was massive and absolutely spotless. Even though some might say the place is a bit dated, it well looked after and very comfortable. We will definitely be back l. Thanks a million

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ewelina B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Attractive building but run down inside. Poor quality bed and bedding and an odour coming from the bathroom on both occasions I've stayed. Thankfully my trip was just business, I would be very disappointed if it had been for leisure. I didn't eat here so unable to comment on the food. Such a shame this hotel isn't done up it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Josie-flan
Ellon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

had not visited hotel for many years. although is a bit tired and in need of a bit of modernizing. the rooms are spacious and clean. staff are very helpful and courteous. breakfast was very good and a good choices on offer. overall reasonable value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gilreid1957
Management response:

Good Afternoon, Thank you for your kind review. Kind Regards

Edinburgh
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We have just spent an enjoyable few days at the Cartland Bridge Hotel celebrating our Golden Wedding Anniversary as we held our original reception at this hotel. We were not disappointed and found Jackie and her team most helpful and they went out of their way to make sure our stay was a success such as giving us an attractive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jelleway
Management response:

Good Afternoon, Thanks for posting your recent very kind review. It was lovely to hear you enjoyed your visit, I will pass on your kind comments to the staff. and of course JAckie. I am very sorry you found the room cold unfortunately we were having a small problem with the boiler that day. I am delighted to say that...

Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

The staff really put the effort in to make you feel welcome and the surroundings are very beautiful. The rooms are a bit dated and if you are unlucky, you could also have a room without a window which is a bit like staying in a prison cell. The food is very good, I have enjoyed very meal at a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James D
Management response:

Thank you for posting your recent review. I offer my apologies, We do have one single room with a sky light window and shower. During your stay the hotel was full and I apologise we were not able to move your room. Unfortunately the T.V. signal had dropped in the whole are due to a fault. It's lovely to hear...

glasgow
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We had lunch on Sunday but I am sorry to say the food was not up to usual standards. Additionally, there was a severe lack of heat in the restaurant. The menu has been changed, although the previous one was adequate.The mushy peas were garden peas, the chips were like Mcdonalds, and the fish was tasteless. My wife had nachos...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank william m
Management response:

Thank you for posting your recent review. I offer my apologies you did not have a pleasant experience. I hope you will visit again in order for us to restore your confidence in the Cartland Bridge Hotel. Kind regards

Batley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Stayed for two nights whilst up on business. The staff, food and feel of the hotel were excellent. The food was good on an evening and on a night. I liked at breakfast that it was mostly self service but that toast and tea/coffee were served at the table which for me is a major gripe with a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nedthewonderhorse
Management response:

Good Afternoon, Thanks for posting your recent very kind review. It was lovely to hear you enjoyed your visit, I will pass on your kind comments to the staff. I am delighted to say that the boiler is now fixed and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanark
2.1 km away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
8.5 km away
Popinjay Hotel
Popinjay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosebank
578 reviews
14.6 km away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#2 of 3 in Biggar
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
554 reviews
10.4 km away
Robertson Arms Hotel
Robertson Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnwath
154 reviews
17.2 km away
Cornhill Castle Hotel
Cornhill Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coulter
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A stone's throw away from the Royal Burgh of Lanark, located in the Clyde Valley stands Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel. Completed in the late 1800's the hotel is the finest example of Sir John James Burnett's Baronial style of Scottish architecture and is a Grade A listed building. An hour's drive from Glasgow or Edinburgh, set in 19 acres of woodland, this 3 star hotel is virtually unchanged from its days as a splendid family mansion. Now the hotel serves as an excellent venue for business meetings, conferences, weddings and social events, each catered within a varied range of suites. Facilities accommodate gatherings for two or 250 guests, with ample free parking. Nearby attractions:-Falls of Clyde, Royal Burgh of Lanark, Roslyn Chapel (noted in the 'Da Vinci Code'), Lanark Loch, Clyde Valley Tourist Route, Tinto Hill, The Glenmuir Outlet. BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge - Large enough to cope - Small enough to care. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel

Address: Glasgow Road, Lanark ML11 9UE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Lanark
Price Range: $153 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lanark
Cartland Bridge Country Hotel
BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel Lanark, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
10 months ago
london
9 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms at rear of hotel are quieter.”
gilreid1957, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There is no lift so suggest guests with mobility problems ask for a room not too high up!”
jelleway, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms would be up to a good standard”
Y7776YPwilliamh, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all much the same the hotel is away from the road a short distance so no noise”
lindafK9852FM, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Our corner room allowed a beautiful breeze to blow through.”
dlschurman, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5