We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bear Hotel

Hotels.comUSD 140*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Bear Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Bear Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 116: English reviews
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Rooms on first floor but immensely adequate & roomy. Double glazing helps to keep the noise out because your next to the main road. Beer really good and food particularly brekkie absolutely fantastic. All round a relaxing stay in good surroundings.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
Dunkeld, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Don't you wish you could award 3 1/2 stars sometimes? There was so muchexcellent about the bear but one or two warts. First the good. Large comfy room. Friendly staff. Great breakfast. Good Wi-Fi. Lots of lotions and potions in the bathroom. Comfortable bed and pillows. Great location and parking included. But letdown by inadequate noise insulation from the pub...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gam8le
East Sussex
Reviewed 9 July 2016

2 night short break for Hampton Court palace and flower show. Very nice pub on Esher high street, good food cooked with care and fresh, great customer service, staff very friendly and nothing too much trouble. Room fair size with big bath room, bearing in mind this is an old building very sympatheticly decorated, comfortable and clean. On a busy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LAO55
Bear H, General Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for leaving the feedback. It is good to know that we are achieving what we aim for that that it is recognised. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Bear. Regards, Paul.

Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

Went into the bear after a great day at the races, we hadn't booked but managed to struggle through the bouncers to get a table in front of tv for Germany V Italy game. The menu was quite small and we ordered starter and main course. The pork croquette was quite bland and boring and the mussels stank of ammonia...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Conk70
Bear H, General Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. Race days at the Bear do get very busy with lots going on lots of people about. Keeping on top of the toilets is hard but we do do our best, so I am sorry that you felt they were lacking. Regarding your meal I am sorry that the...

Basingstoke
Reviewed 20 June 2016

My family little stroll and ended up at The Bear @ Esher. We were welcomed by friendly staff and food served on time. All staff were extremely professional and with happy smile. My both kids enjoyed their food and definitely we will return soon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prakash P
Bear H, General Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for the positive comments. The staff at the Bear are great and I'm glad it gets recognised. Look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Paul.

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2016

On a recent trip to the races we decided to meet up at The Bear prior to the start which was not too bad but unfortunately we returned after the races to find security that was very OTT, chaos at the bar and very little staff to help.. Came her last year and it was a lot bette..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm D
Bear H, General Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Malcolm, Thanks for taking time to feedback. We have to have security on race days due to the fact that most customers who come to us after racing, have been drinking all day. Also The local authority would look upon it as negligence not to, with the volume of people in the area. Security allow us to create a...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Four of us booked in to The Bear to stay after a visit to the Epsom Derby. Despite our sat nav taking us all around the houses we arrived early and, although our rooms were not ready, Patrick allowed us to use the facilities to change and also booked us a taxi to take us to the course. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric49666
Cobham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2016

The whole experience here was very average at best. From the bland and boring décor to the loud and strange background music nothing was really right. The service was just about okay but the wine was not served properly and the staff showed no enthusiasm. The food was mainly average to good but the chicken burger was really poor, being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicked2016
Bear H, General Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave some feed back. I am sorry that you felt the experience was average, that is not what we aim for. I will make sure that we go over the points you bring up in a training session with staff. Hopefully you will give us another chance in the future to meet...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2016

Visited the pub for a leaving do so we were in a good mood anyway. Nice atmosphere in the pub on a Friday night and served quickly at the bar. However we then ordered food. very disappointing for the price. The fish and chips was very dry and almost inedible. when this was told to the staff, they said they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
Bear H, General Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ann, Thanks for leaving the feedback. I have looked into the issue regarding the missing ticket and yes there were some printer issues which then resulted in a ticket mix up. Apologies for the laps in quality, as it is not what we strive for. I'm glad the staff looked after you. I hope that you try us again....

South West London
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

Oh dear what a disappointment. Being the only couple in the Restaurant should have told us something before we ordered. Fish & Chips had a very heavy batter, the mushy peas were a disgrace. The trout at £17 was not much better. Chose not to have a pudding where they charge £9 for a banana split. The only saving grace...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RJSouthWestLondon
Bear H, General Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for leaving your comments. I will definitely take the comments on board as we are always looking to improve our customer experience. I will review the fish batter mix with the kitchen team. I understand about the flower but we do have them replaced fresh weekly. Hope you give us another try in future. Regards, Paul.

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esher
3.9 km away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
5.4 km away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
901 reviews
4.0 km away
Premier Inn Cobham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,477 reviews
6.5 km away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
562 reviews
7.8 km away
Days Inn Cobham M25
Days Inn Cobham M25
#1 of 4 in Cobham
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel

Address: 71 High Street, Esher KT10 9RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Esher
Price Range: $163 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bear Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bear Hotel Esher
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bear Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only a small number of rooms and always busy, so book early.”
RKHKent, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request room away from High Street”
SteveMFC, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“One that is not directly over the bar, or shares a corridor with the office”
TayntonBoy, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“It's a good 20 minute walk from Esher Station. There is a taxi rank at the station if you don't fancy the schlep!”
ShoppingGoddess, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 2 has a "lighthouse" effect due to lots of gaps between the edge of the curtains and windows.”
MikeH776, 16 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 140* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 140
TravelocityUSD 140
Hotwire.comUSD 140
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates