We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Barn Bed and Breakfast

Save
Share
Traveller (5)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (1)
Overview
The Croft, Penmark, Barry CF62 3BP Wales See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Kitchenette
3 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
6
2
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
6
2
2
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Quiet location. Comfortable bed. Poor lighting in bedroom. Cooked breakfast - apparently, has to be at set time. (That's what we were told on arrival). Otherwise, minimal cereal and toast. Six Bells, next door - reasonable restaurant.

Thank Joebelvedere
Reviewed 10 July 2017

This is a relaxing and comfortable property, very conveniently situated next to a good pub which has an excellent restaurant. We are Francophiles and this property and the village had a French feel, in a good way. The the bedroom was comfortable and roomy and...More

Thank Peter H
Response from Rosemary D, Owner at The Old Barn Bed and BreakfastResponded 13 July 2017

Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Reviewed 2 May 2017

A husband and wife team who have been operating for 15 years. When I phoned about a week ago he wasn't sure if his wife would be working as only she did the cooking so he suggested we did it if she wasn't there as...More

Thank Mark u
Response from Rosemary D, Owner at The Old Barn Bed and BreakfastResponded 14 May 2017

We are sorry that our accommodation did not live up to your expectations, however, you were advised that the additional beds you requested so that 4 of you could occupy one twin room, instead of paying for 2 rooms, would be on put-you-ups. Your photograph...More

Reviewed 21 September 2016

I really enjoyed my stay at the Old barn B&B. The room was clean and comfortable. TV and wifi worked. Bathroom was clean and water hot. I particularly liked that even though the owner cooked my breakfast - I could also use the kitchen at...More

Thank Helen4562014
Reviewed 29 May 2016

Neat old building that was clean, comfortable and quiet. I had a large room with a nice bathroom. There is parking next door at the pub, which is closed on Sundays so if you want to eat out you will have to drive. The wi...More

Thank Lisa W
View more reviews
About
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room types
Kitchenette
Room types
Kitchenette
Number of rooms
2
Location
United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Barry > Penmark
Room types
Kitchenette
Number of rooms
2
Location
United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Barry > Penmark
Photos
Traveller (5)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport
1,005 reviews
2.11 km away
Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport
77 reviews
2.45 km away
Travelodge Cardiff Airport
226 reviews
3.67 km away
Aberthaw House Hotel
139 reviews
5.01 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all nearby restaurants
The Six Bells Village Pub & Restaurant
294 reviews
.09 km away
The Highwayman Inn
407 reviews
1.47 km away
The Fox and Hounds Inn
118 reviews
1.61 km away
Chillies
148 reviews
4.83 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
The Fontygary Inn
20 reviews
2.66 km away
Porthkerry Country Park
380 reviews
3.62 km away
Dyffryn Gardens
424 reviews
5.65 km away
Hendrewennol Fruit Garden
163 reviews
6.98 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
53pauldavies
24 July 2018|
Answer
Response from Jill D | Property representative |
Hi Thanks for the enquiry. We don't provide transport but taxis are available either from a number of local companies. Will probaly charge about £5 - £7 Jill
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Both rooms are excellent. One is a double and the other which is larger is twin"
Helen4562014
20 Sep. 2016
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing