We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Canelands Beach Club and Spa

Expedia.comUSD 294*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 302*
USD 294*
USD 302*
USD 302*
USD 294*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Canelands Beach Club and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Canelands Beach Club and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 120: English reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

We had our honeymoon here. It was just what we were looking for. The staff was really friendly especially Wendy& Gisele from the reception! The rooms are luxurious, the food is fantastic and the view is breathtaking! I will definitely come back! Rob & Gitte from Belgium

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob F
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write about our beautiful Boutique Hotel directly on the beach. We take pride in looking after you and are very pleased that you enjoyed your special honeymoon with us. We look forward to welcoming you back. Take care Christine Macvicar

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 24 August 2016

To the lovely staff at Canelands. My husband and I hosted our wedding in July this year, and we can't thank you enough. The staff was lovely and attentive. The chefs worked magic in the kitchen and topped with a gorgeous venue with beautiful views it made for the perfect weekend wedding. We can't wait to visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robynrheeder
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are so delighted that we were part of your magnificent day. I will pass on your gratitude to our staff and chefs and we look forward to hosting you on your anniversary. Take care Christine Macvicar General Manager

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel has a lot of potential and the spa is very nice, it just needs a little more flare. It also feels like their prices (food, drinks and accommodation) do not match the product that you end up receiving. This is a tourist milking spot in my opinion.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andries v
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for all your constructive criticism. It helps us to grow when we get reviews like this. There is no other boutique hotel like us directly on the beach and therefore we are constantly doing small upgrades to make sure that the hotel is in tiptop condition. We unfortunately can't please every taste. Next time spend more time...

Cape Town
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Perfect location, the friendliest staff ever, warm, welcoming, nothing is too much trouble. A pity that bookings.com did not say their was shower only, and the bedroom which was garden facing was minute. They did however comp us a sea facing room for one night, it was fully booked for the second night, which was huge, overlooking the lapping waves,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skintonic
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks so much for taking the time to write about our boutique hotel directly on the beach. We were so pleased that we were able to upgrade you to a seafacing room for one night and would have done so for your whole stay if not so busy. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our excellent food...

Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

We spent a very nice night at the Canelands Beachclub & Spa and enjoyed a marvellous seafood platter, vegetable korma and peri-peri prawns. Our waiter SURAN took really good care of us and was a funny and attentive employee. Housekeeping was very good and helpfull as well. Unfortunately we couldn't enjoy the sea as it was rather cold and windy....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rubalu
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to write a response to our beautiful property that is directly on the beach. We take pride in looking after you you with our wonderful staff and our fantastic newly launched menu at our Two Shrimps Restaurant. The next time you come we will make sure that you have fantastic...

Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

Excellent place for stay over or short break. Very friendly staff. The rooms with seaview are super.'hotel and restaurant on the beach. The restaurant is really good and the food is presented like painting. Pool not used because of chilled wind but must be good. We were here for a stopover between Durban and st lucia

 Report
Helpful?
Thank benfk
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for writing your review about our beautiful Boutique hotel directly on the beach. Our two shrimps restaurant has very passionate chefs that do present their food like a painting but tastes even better. We look forward to your return. Take care Christine Macvicar

Sandton,South Africa
Reviewed 26 July 2016

I've been here before and was glad to see a great improvement in the staff, who were friendly & courteous this time. The food was good enough but we were astonished that a very noisy renovation was taking place while we breakfasted. The setting at Canelands is unbeatable and I look forward to going there one day and being thrilled...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gilda18
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your constructive critisism. Due to being directly on the beach we are constantly making sure that our "little Gem" is in tiptop shape. Due to us being full all the time with our stunning new menus and restaurant launch we were redoing the restaurant and we are really sorry that it compromised your breakfast. We...

Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

Arrived at this place just wanting to have a mini break, see the sea and relax. The rooms were beautifully appointed (choose the superior seafront rooms for best value) and had a huge patio/deck with a gorgeous view of the beach. The food was amazing (calamari salad to die for) and the staff couldn't do enough for us. I even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoe L
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank so much for taking the time to write about our beautiful Boutique Hotel directly on the beach. We take pride in making sure that all your needs are met and we look forward to welcoming you back. Take care Christine Macvicar

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Needing a break... a view of the ocean... a quiet place to work and relax, I decided to spend the morning at Canelands Beach Club and Spa in Salt Rock KZN Being a Mrs South Africa Top 25 Finalist, with a hectic schedule, a mom and business women, wow was this an amazing experience of tranquillity, peace and 5 star...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank corinne003
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to write about our "little Gem" directly on the beach. We love hosting you and good luck with the finals of Mrs South Africa we are with you the whole way and have no doubt in our minds that you will bring the title home. Take care Christine Macvicar

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Super friendly staff that truly goes over & above the call of duty. My close friend got married here & the location & vibe of the place was magnificent. For your special day, look to the kind folk at this establishment to plan an evening / couple of days to remember.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amanbhonsle
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks so much for taking the time to write about our beautiful Boutique Hotel directly on the beach. We take pride in looking after our guests and are so pleased that we went above the call of duty to look after you. We look forward to you returning. Take care Christine Macvicar

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (53)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salt Rock
29.1 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,691 reviews
6.2 km away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
373 reviews
29.0 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
0.7 km away
Petite Provence B&B
Petite Provence B&B
#3 of 12 in Salt Rock
162 reviews
4.5 km away
Coco De Mer
Coco De Mer
#3 of 23 in Ballito
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This Jewel of the North Coast is located in Salt Rock on the North Coast Of KwaZulu-Natal, this 4 star luxury boutique hotel has an Exceptional positon only 100 metres away from the beach which has direct access. Sip a cocktail in our 25m lap outdoor swimming pool parallel to the beach while watching the dolphins and wales playing in the surf. Our Western and Thai Asian infused Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner where you can have a meal or a barbeque overlooking the ocean. Canelands Beach Club and Spa is 25 minutes away from King Shaka International Airport and is on the doorstep of all the major golf courses. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Canelands Beach Club and Spa

Address: 2 Shrimp Lane, Salt Rock 4391, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Salt Rock
Price Range: $240 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canelands Beach Club and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canelands Beach Club and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canelands Beach Club Hotel Salt Rock
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Canelands Beach Club and Spa staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Canelands Beach Club and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with a sea view are best and away from a noisy disco/party bar that was loud on the roadside”
RobH567, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“all guests enjoyed their rooms ...we had the corner, sea-facing room which was amazing!”
11benedictam, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Do make sure you have a room overlooking the ocean - the garden rooms overlook a small car park and in the distance a car wash”
chris504164, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I think all rooms overlook the pool and beach”
RHofBath, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Corner Sea Facing are stunning with a huge patio”
Lenore95, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 294* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 302
TripAdvisorUSD 294
Priceline
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates