We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter
See the most recent reviews
Showing 141: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 9 March 2016

It is in the park so you can't go anywhere else. It wasn't exactly terrible but there were a few annoying things. First of, the staff is rather unfriendly, especially in the food area. One time I wanted to get a coffee and the woman there just kept walking around, preparing something and ignoring me for a few minutes. When...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greg666
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thanks for your observations and suggestions. Your review will be shared with management department. We tried very hard to do our best to improve the standards of the service, so we really appreciate that you brought these issues to our attention as we work diligently to resolve them. We hope you have had an excellent trip. Kind regards

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 8 March 2016 via mobile

We arrived Paine Grande after a 17 mile hike from Cuernos and the French Valley. We stayed in refugios for the W hike, and while this facility had the potential to be good, it was very disappointing. With space for 100, the facility was full. The bathroom for our dorm was on another floor, and a several minute walk away....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank viaje67
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the issues you experienced and for any inconvenience they may have caused. Your review will be shared with management. We appreciate that you brought these issues to our attention as we work diligently to resolve them. We hope you have had an excellent trip. Thanks again, Kind regards

Reviewed 4 March 2016

We stayed one night in one of the shared bedrooms. Friendly staff, clean, comfortable, more space in the bedrooms and common areas. The food was good, but the line was super long for each meal. Overall, a good atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thanks for your feedback! It makes us very happy to know you have enjoyed your staying at our shelter. We hope you can tell your friends about your experience in Torres del Paine, so they would like to visit us too. Bye and thanks again!

Dunedin, Florida
Reviewed 20 February 2016

All the beds in the Refuge were booked almost a year out so I ended up camping at Paine Grande but that wasn't such a bad deal. I got a good nights sleep in the tent even though it was starting to get windy and the tent rattles a little bit through the night(but that is just part of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank salty_dog_68
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thanks for your feedback. We hope you have had an amazing trip, full with wonderful pictures and stories you would love to tell to your friends and family. Kind regards

Oakville, Canada
Reviewed 15 February 2016

We camped here during our "O" circuit of Torres del Paine NP. There are lots of tent sites. The cooking facility is top-notch and they have more stocked than other campsite stores (beer, wine, fresh fruit, snacks and also very basic dinner options. The bathrooms and showers were above-average for the park. We ate at the Refugio, but were disappointed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CdnBackpacker
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thanks for your comments. We tried very hard to do our best to improve the standards of the service and we are always grateful to hear from you and encourage you to pass along your thoughts. I am sending your comments directly to the department manager. Kind regards

Bolingbrook, Illinois
Reviewed 13 February 2016

Had a good experience here. I like the dining option better that the Fantastico Sur refugios. More cafeteria style then people serving you. They have a little store as well. I was placed in a bunk room with 3 other strangers. I went in as they were falling asleep and left before they got up. No guard rail on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HemisphereRambler
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thanks for your feedback! It makes us very happy to know you have enjoyed your staying at our shelter. We hope you can tell your friends about your experience in Torres del Paine, so they would like to visit us too. Bye and thanks again!

Piedmont, California
Reviewed 8 February 2016

This lodge should be shut down by the health department. When we arrived the smell from the woman's bathroom on the second floor was wafting though the entire lodge. Not exactly sure what the problem was but one of the toilet stalls was out of order and it smelled like there was something decomposing.None of the staff seemed to care...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thank you for your comments. We apologize for the issues you experienced and for any inconvenience they may have caused. We take our guest's feedback very seriously so rest assured we will address the areas you commented on, so we can improve our service in the future. Kind regards

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

We spent 2 nights, hiked French Valley and Lago Grey. Good breakfast. Edible lunch and dinner, but nothing memorable. Terrible soups appear to be based on the leftover starch water. Box lunch sandwiches were awful -- too much bread, something smelling very off, perhaps the hearts of palm, and minimal substance. Trail mix, granola bar and fruit were great. Bottled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank No T
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thanks for your observations and suggestions. We tried very hard to do our best to improve the standards of the service and we are always grateful to hear from you and encourage you to pass along your thoughts. I am sending your comments directly to the department manager. We hope you had an excellent trip. Kind regards

New York City, New York
Reviewed 13 January 2016

This was the last shelter we stated at on the W, and we were happy simply because it was a private room for two vs. the larger rooms for 8 at Chileno and Cuernos. The room had its own heater and it was so nice to have space to ourselves - our room was near the end of the hall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy D
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, we are sorry we could not meet your expectations at our shelter. Thank you for your comments, we will take note of these in order to improve our service. Best regards

Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile

This was the worst campsite of the three I visited. VERY crowded, so the line for cooking and showering is huge. Also the bathrooms are messy. It's very windy, so make sure your tent is at the foot of a hill.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teun P
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, thanks for your comments. Sorry we couldn't meet your expectations regarding our service. Unfortunately, on high season, there are always too many people using our instalations at the same time, but still we would like to make our visitors feel as confortable as we can. We hope you enjoyed the beautiful view and have had an amazing trip....

165 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (153)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
18.9 km away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,117 reviews
5.9 km away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
436 reviews
19.6 km away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 km away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#11 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
218 reviews
35.9 km away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
434 reviews
7.3 km away
Refugio Torre Central-Torres del Paine
Refugio Torre Central-Torres del...
#5 of 16 in Torres del Paine National Park
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the shores of Lake Pehoe, Shelter Paine Grande features an amazing view over the mountains. It is the starting point for the hiking trail towards Glacier Grey, French Valley and it is part of the W Trail. The only way to get to Paine Grande is navigating accross the lake or hiking the trails. It features shared bedrooms (only bunk beds) uo to 100 guests. Restrooms features hot water showers with a push-button system to save water. Paine Grande features a cafeteria (daily fixed menus), a minimarket (groceries and souvenirs) and a bar overlooking the lake and mountains. Important: The shelter does not feature a central heating system. Only 2 resting areas feature wooden stoves (only for guests). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter

Address: Sector Paine Grande | Torres del Paine, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range: $141 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paine Grande Mountain Hotel Torres Del Paine
Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rooms near the common areas due to noise.”
 of 5 bubbles allenstew, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms have good view.”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It really depends on who your roommates are more than the room location.”
 of 5 bubbles Wanderdogs, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't pick a room near the toliets. Some people are not polite late at night and slam the doors going in and out of the facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles goldswimmom7, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
“corners bunkers facing the lake and the mountains is very refreshing!”
  • waking up to the sunrise
 of 5 bubbles 980cristyl, 9 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5