We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Refugio Grey

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torres del Paine National Park
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Refugio Grey
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 59: English reviews
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were here on our first stop on the W-trek. We set up a tent with no food included. Price was fair for the service provided, only thing that bothered us was that there were only a few bathrooms for the whole camping area, because off this they were very dirty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kasperfrank
Orlando
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great first impression with relatively new facility, outdoor porch seating, indoor couches, etc. Room had two double decker bunks, smaller than other refugios. Dinner was good, with same mystery desert that everyone else provided. Impression took change for the worst in the morning when discovered no water, like none at all in the bathrooms. No water for brushing teeth since...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharlieOrlando
Catalina B, RRPP at Refugio Grey, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Effectively that day in particular the water was cut by freezing of the pipes, due to this emergency the staff focused on having water to be able to serve breakfast for the passengers. We regret that the staff gave the impression of not helping and that your experience at our shelter has been affected. We appreciate your comments,...

Bucaramanga, Colombia
Reviewed 20 October 2016

I love it camping there. food it wasn't the best but if you're in the middle of "nothing" eat dinner or lunch could be a good choice. Very good client service and affordable prices for camping. It's a good option for camping. the camping places are protected from wind. it's very close to glaciar grey and I really loved that....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LuisEfe80
Catalina B, RRPP at Refugio Grey, responded to this review

Dear Luis, Thanks for your observations and suggestions! We try very hard to improve the standards of our service, so we really appreciate when we receive this kind of feedback. Hope you have had an excellent trip! Best regards, PR Vertice Patagonia

Heidelberg, Germany
Reviewed 14 October 2016

If you are doing the W from West to East and have based your planning on the few blog posts that you can find online, you are probably planning to spend your first night here. This is only necessary, if you are a very slow hiker. For average to good hikers, I would recommend hiking up from the Catamaran to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pixxidix
Catalina B, RRPP at Refugio Grey, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thanks for your observations and suggestions. We tried very hard to do our best to improve the standards of the service and we are always grateful to hear from you and encourage you to pass along your thoughts. I am sending your comments directly to the department manager. Best regards, Catalina, Vertice Patagonia

Czech Republic
Reviewed 31 July 2016

I was really delighted to come to this refugio shelter after our first hiking day against strong wind. With the full gear we were completely exhausted. We are a bunch of experienced hikers but the wind we experienced was the strongest I have been ever hiking in. So the refugio is very clean and neat, looks luxurious. The staff could...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Marti_worldtraveller
Catalina B, RRPP at Refugio Grey, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thanks for your observations and suggestions. We love to make our guests feel very comfortable on their vacations. We try very hard to do our best to improve the standards of the service and we are always grateful to hear from you and encourage you to pass along your thoughts. I am sending your comments directly to the...

Switzerland
Reviewed 1 May 2016

This refugio is only accessible by foot or by boat (Lago Grey). We did the walking trail and arrived late afternoon - be careful as they open only later (at least this time of the year) - so no need to arrive early. There is also a camping nearby. The rooms - even though it were dormitories - were nicely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arekuna
Catalina B, RRPP at Refugio Grey, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thanks for your feedback! It makes us very happy to know you have enjoyed your staying at our shelter. We hope you can tell your friends about your experience in Torres del Paine, so they would like to visit us too. Bye and thanks again!

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

This Refugio on the W trek of Torres deal Paine National Park has so much squandered potential. Both the exterior and interior are the prettiest and most comfortable of any of the refugios on the trek. Unfortunately, a staff that can only be described as one step above abysmal killed the experience. I fairness, we were not robbed during our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MDWandering83
Catalina B, RRPP at Refugio Grey, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the issues you experienced and for any inconvenience they may have caused. Your review will be shared with management to ensure that this doesn’t happen again. We appreciate that you brought these issues to our attention as we work diligently to resolve them. Thank you again for your feedback. Kind...

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2016

Rooms nice & spacious, bathrooms clean & big. Staff friendly but food portions weren't as generous as the Paine Grande bunkhouse which is part of same company. This bunkhouse has by far the best lounge area. A tip for those who are only going as far as here is to find some time to walk further north up the trail...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael s
Catalina B, RRPP at Refugio Grey, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thanks for your observations and suggestions. Your review will be shared with management department. We tried very hard to do our best to improve the standards of the service, so we really appreciate that you brought these issues to our attention as we work diligently to resolve them. We hope you have had an excellent trip. Kind regards

North Carolina
Reviewed 15 April 2016

We stayed in five lodges along the W route. We liked the room arrangements (two bunk beds plus storage space for packs) at this refugio since there were four of us traveling together and we therefore had our own room. Bathrooms had enough space for all the guests and were reasonably clean. I don't recall exactly what was served for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ExWriter
Catalina B, RRPP at Refugio Grey, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thanks for your observations and suggestions. We tried very hard to do our best to improve the standards of the service and we are always grateful to hear from you and encourage you to pass along your thoughts. I am sending your comments directly to the department manager. Kind Regards

Minnesota
Reviewed 17 March 2016

READ this through. nice 3-3.5 hour hike to reach this Refugio, unless one takes the ferry shuttle along grey lake. dinner consisted of a cup of soup, tomatoes (salad), rice/meat(good chicken, but other meat was tough/chewy), and good chocolate flan for dessert. no beer after 21:00, so we had wine, $8000CLP for two. shower pressure was nil and the shower...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank rettup
Catalina B, RRPP at Refugio Grey, responded to this review

Dear traveler, We appreciate that you brought these issues to our attention as we work diligently to resolve them. We apologize for any inconvenience they may have caused, it would be great if you can write again with all the details (central@verticepatagonia.com / ventas@verticepatagonia.cl). Kind regards

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
0.0 km away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
655 reviews
0.0 km away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,007 reviews
0.0 km away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#11 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
192 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel del Paine
Hotel del Paine
#1 of 2 in Torres del Paine National Park
149 reviews
0.0 km away
Ecocamp Patagonia
Ecocamp Patagonia
#1 of 17 in Torres del Paine National Park
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This shelter is located just a few minutes from Grey Glacier, It is a part of Southern Ice Fields. It is at the end of the circuit W, after walking from Lodge Paine Grande Lodge Grey is an oasis for people that ending in this area the Big Circuit , crossing the "Paso John Garner" after hitting the road in the morning from the Perros Camp Capacity: a total of 60 beds, 30 made beds located on the second floor and 30 basic beds located on the first floor Shared bathrooms separated men and women located on first floor. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Refugio Grey

Address: Torres Del Paine National Park, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Refugio Grey Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Refugio Grey staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Refugio Grey staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you wanna stay there Book a bed before you get there. It's a good option for camping It's. Dinner it's better than lunch.”
 of 5 bubbles LuisEfe80, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get Room 1, that way you are closer to the fireplace”
 of 5 bubbles Pixxidix, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You have no possiblity to choose room, you have to accept the room the staff choose for you.”
 of 5 bubbles Marti_worldtraveller, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Reserve your tent/sleeping bags/mats early in advance!”
 of 5 bubbles MariaMaria55, 28 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Unfortunately there was no choosing rooms, although having a dorm room to myself was really nice. It might have been nice to have a room closer to the wood stove in the hall for more heat.”
  • Refugio Grey dorm room
 of 5 bubbles 321kellyp, 18 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5