We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Melia Las Dunas

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
Management photos
Melia Las Dunas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

7,615 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 4,166: English reviews
Summerside, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I visited the Melia Las Dunas for the 2nd time in 3 years, and I was not disappointed. The resort is beautiful, and the people that work there are amazing. I visited with two friends, and we were all treated very well…from the lobby, to the beach, the restaurants, and everything in between. We enjoyed all of the restaurants with...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Shelley B
Barrie
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Holiday from Jan 7th -12th. Rooms are in need of some repair. Toilet didn't work, 110 plug broken. Called numerous times to have it repaired. No luck. Food has gotten worst, but always found something to eat, (Starch can't go wrong). Friends that we travelled with all got sick from the food. We were fine. They ran out of what...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SoccerbumBarrie
Laval, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My second trip to Cuba, this is really a big hotel with 75 buildings with rooms. At the beginning they give us a room at 26 building, but in the second day, I changed for 74 because inside the 2611 the water was some like a ½ inch at the entrance due a storm, and the water came under the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Raul S
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I booked this trip thru " Sell Off Vacations" and chose To go to Cuba more for the people and gorgeous beaches they are known for. I already knew that the food was not going to be up to par but that was okay . However, I experienced filthy rooms with pillow cases that were black and heavily soiled. I...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Blondgirlhappy
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Melia Las Dunas for your holyday. We apologize for all of the inconveniences you mentioned and we are very sorry that the service received was not up to the standards you expected and deserved. We had during end of december to first of this month few issues,...

Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Arrived on Dec 29 with great expectations for our fourth visit to Melia Las Dunas and to celebrate our 49th wedding anniversary. Sunwing flight was uneventful, although a little late departing because of deicing and traffic. Arrivals area in Santa Clara was total chaos with what appeared to be a flight full of Cubans coming from USA to spend New...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank djobi2u
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Melia Las Dunas for your holyday. We apologize for all of the inconveniences you mentioned and we are very sorry that the service received was not up to the standards you expected and deserved. We had during end of december to first of this month few issues,...

Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

This resort is by far the worst place we have ever been !! They ran out of running water(warm shower ) / bottled water / ice / and at most the restaurants that u book for a nice dinner they didn't have what was on the menu!! The food was awful unless u like buns / butter / eggs for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dexstervriend
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Restaurants were very good ... musicians were top notch as usual (for Cuba). Pools were very clean. Room was very clean and well maintained - all things working. Nice TV with lots of stations (including RT). Hot water always. Good maid service. 24hr snack bar with various food options. Ice cream always available. Lots of dancing and good shows -...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank daniel q
DirectorMLD, General Manager at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Daniel: Thank You Very Much for your great review, I am very happy to see that you had such a great vacation with us, I hope I can see you in a near future!! Thanks Again Laurent Labal general Manager

Niagara Falls,
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

1. Humidity smell 2. Lots of bags: ants, etc. 3. Pizzeria: no chance to get in. Kids cried we waited an hour to get in and gave up. 4. It was a New Year Eve: crowded, Food was not good. Kids hangry. 5. 1/2 waiting period to get to the restaurant for breakfast, lunch or dinner and still long line...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Mariola A
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Melia Las Dunas for your holyday. We apologize for all of the inconveniences you mentioned and we are very sorry that the service received was not up to the standards you expected and deserved. We had during end of december to first of this month few issues,...

Oshawa, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We travelled middle of November 2016. The room was terrible there was not any hot water the entire week the shower head was basically a dribble thus could not shower even with cold water. The buffet was packed all the time and the food was never hot usually ate at the snack bar which wasn't too bad but tired of...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank reg269
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Melia Las Dunas for your holyday. We apologize for all of the inconveniences you mentioned and we are very sorry that the service received was not up to the standards you expected and deserved. We had during end of december to first of this month few issues,...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I wanted to like this resort, I really did! We travelled Dec. 28 to Jan. 4 with our 2 kids. We had requested a second floor room with an extra bed. Upon our arrival, we were assigned a first floor room. I requested to change immediatly and got assigned room 1722. We were casually told upon our check in that...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank isa18690
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Melia Las Dunas for your holyday. We apologize for all of the inconveniences you mentioned and we are very sorry that the service received was not up to the standards you expected and deserved. We had during end of december to first of this month few issues,...

10,426 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10382)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2835)
Viewed
Room/Suite (786)
Viewed
Bathroom (128)
Viewed
View from Room (171)
Viewed
Dining (692)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1923)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (128)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (74)
Viewed
1:38
Videos (25)
Viewed
Other (3620)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Santa Maria
1.1 km away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 13 in Cayo Santa Maria
5,773 reviews
0.3 km away
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
#6 of 13 in Cayo Santa Maria
4,010 reviews
372.2 km away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
367.2 km away
Hotel Playa Pesquero
Hotel Playa Pesquero
#1 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
7,163 reviews
227.7 km away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 62 in Varadero
4,439 reviews
371.7 km away
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
#1 of 3 in Guardalavaca
5,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Magic and Legend unveils an ancient story that goes back in time to 1492, with the discovery of America. Melia Las Dunas, a 5 star resort, All Inclusive, ideal for your vacation with your Family, Reunion & Incentives, Weddings, Honeymoon Distinguished by the variety of services, the inviting atmosphere and the confort of its facilities, Melia Las Dunas offers the vacations of your dreams. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Melia Las Dunas

Address: Cayo Santa Maria, Caibarien, Villa Clara | Jardines del Rey, Villa Clara, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range: $189 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Las Dunas 5*
Number of rooms: 925
Also Known As:
Melia Las Dunas Hotel Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Hotel Las Dunas
Melia Las Dunas Cuba
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Melia Las Dunas staff and other travellers.
681 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (681)

Questions? Get answers from Melia Las Dunas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This is a large resort, buildings 21, 22, 23 are close to everything.”
 of 5 bubbles 746shelleyb, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“BW 31, to 36 close to the family pool, buffet, and lobby bar.”
 of 5 bubbles SoccerbumBarrie, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good. Any location works.”
 of 5 bubbles danielq620, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Villa 2100 good location but awful smell and full of bags.”
 of 5 bubbles mariolaa256, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Second floor for sure!!”
 of 5 bubbles isa18690, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5