We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel

Show Prices
#3 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expert photos
Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel
Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,377 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,377: English reviews
england
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of January for a week. True to the advert, we had had a family Christmas with our 14 month old grandson, and now needed a holiday!! The weather was cold and wet, but what do you expect in January! Our room 557 was huge, there was a four poster bed, a a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dorset2
Cricket W, General Manager at Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel, responded to this review

Your review of your stay at Cricket St Thomas Hotel makes great reading and confirms to me that we are providing the very best of holiday experiences for our guests. I was pleased that your room exceeded your expectations that you enjoyed the complimentary wine package. It is a little walk from the Walled Garden area of the hotel but...

West Midlands
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Ok this is the location used in "to The Manor Born" this is why we went plus it was a special birthday surprise. The location could not be better, the setting is quintessentially English. We stayed in the main Cricket House Hudson-Taylor room which certainly had the WOW factor. An allocated parking space was included outside the main door to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy1976WestMidlands
Cricket W, General Manager at Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this not only hugely comprehensive review but a balenced and honest guest insight. Our Historic Suites really do provide every possible luxury and the Hudson Taylor Suite can't fail to impress. A real touch of life " To The Manor Born" with views stunning uninterrupted views over the stunning valley that Cricket...

Devon
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went on a 2 night break. Nice room as standard but needs bathrobes included considering a leisure centre part of the deal. Lesiure centre Desperately needs a Jacuzzi as it's supposed to be adult spa. Food good but generally lukewarm and not enough fresh fruit and pastries not everyone likes cooked breakfast. Entertainment good but I wish the resident band...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 500brendas
Cricket W, General Manager at Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at Cricket St Thomas Hotel. Bathrobes do come supplied in all grade accommodation other than standard rooms, If wished just ask as they are available on request for a small charge. I am sorry that at Cricket we do not have a jacuzzi but do offer a fully equipped gym, pool,...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have visited Cricket St Thomas many times over the last 10 years, but this was one of our most enjoyable breaks. We stayed on a special offer in a signature room which included a bottle of wine, crisps, cookies and two bottles of water plus bathrobes. We thought that the entertainment this week was exceptional, with two very good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pete P
Cricket W, General Manager at Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel, responded to this review

Your review was a joy to read and the experience that we hope all guests have whilst staying here at Cricket St Thomas Hotel. Upgrading to a signature room does mean that all those little extras are complimentary and included in your break. Entertainment Manager Robyn will be delighted that you found the entertainment "exceptional", as will all of the...

Midhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first visit to a Warners and won't be the last, Overall we thought it was great value for money. The food was great, the room was great, The entertainment was mostly great. Our only problem was that when we checked in we were encouraged to book a table in the restaurant which we would retain for our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter U
Cricket W, General Manager at Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel, responded to this review

I was very interested to hear of your first ever experience of a Warner Leisure Hotel break. I was very pleased that you found your accommodation and food great and enjoyed most of the entertainment on offer. I am sorry that you were not able to dine at the same table each evening this was unusual and that there was...

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were a group of 8 adults- about retirement age- and found the food and staff very good in the main -sometimes overloaded. The Saturday night group could ditch the wigs and just play the music - when they warmed up they improved. The musician who played in the Balcony Bar on Sunday night was very good. Daytime events need...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank christine R
Cricket W, General Manager at Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel, responded to this review

Cricket St Thomas is a great place to meet up with friends or family safe in the knowledge that everything is taken care of for you. All of your valid observations regarding our entertainment has been forwarded to our Entertainments Manager and will be used alongside all guest feedback when we evaluate and plan for future acts. I am glad...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at Cricket on many occasions both at New Year and in the summer and have never had a bad experience. Staff are friendly, polite and efficient, Rooms are comfortable and well managed and meals are good quality with a wide choice and new items every day. Christmas and New Year packages are full board so expect to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank c c
Cricket W, General Manager at Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your fantastic 5 star review of your stay with us here at Cricket St Thomas Hotel. Our aim is to create wonderful experiences for all of our guests and I am delighted that this has always been your findings. We pride ourselves on our high levels of customer service and attention to detail "friendly, polite and efficient" a...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was just a post Christmas break for 2 nights. I hadn't given any thought to what entertainment might have been on as this wasn't my priority when I booked. However the soul singer on the Friday night was excellent, sadly the same can't be said of the much heralded group on the Saturday night. It would be unfair to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Allyson V
Cricket W, General Manager at Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be returning. There has been mixed feedback regarding the act who was the entertainment on the Saturday evening and this willl be used when we evaluate booking for the future. I am glad that you had great fun with the impromptu dancing and...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a two night stay at this hotel. We did enjoy ourselves but our Signature room in the Walled Garden had a number of small niggles such as water damage to the bedside unit, damaged edging to wardrobe doors and wear to the refrigerator recess. There was a topper on the bed which I think was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
Cricket W, General Manager at Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review I am sorry that you had a few issues with your room. Please always tell us during your stay that you are unhappy and we will endeavour to make changes for you. External Maintenance is carried out on a cyclical basis and the external areas of the Leisure Suite you mention will be painted when the...

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staff were so polite & worked very hard the rooms were lovely & the facilities were very good The grounds & gardens were spectacular will definitely return The food was excellent & lots of variety Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
Cricket W, General Manager at Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel, responded to this review

This is a lovely review and I would like to say a very big thank you from all of the Teams here who greatly appreciate your kind words. To recommend Cricket St Thomas Hotel to others is a great accolade you obviously have experienced our true ethos of striving to create the very best of holiday experiences for our guests....

789 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (571)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (235)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
6:10
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (162)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (216)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
The Hotel (99)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
5.0 km away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chard
307 reviews
7.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel
3.8 km away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chard
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 km away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
18.8 km away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
290 reviews
13.9 km away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A 239 bedroom AA4 star Country House Hotel, Set in stunning Somerset countryside amongst 160 acres of beautiful lakes and gardens. Our adult only policy and 1/2 board packages with nightly entertainment and pool with leisure club make us ideal for a short break. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel

Address: Chard | Somerset, Chard TA20 4DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Price Range: $450 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cricket St Thomas Hotel, Lakes And Gardens Hotel Chard
Cricket St Thomas Historic Hotel
Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel Chard, Somerset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be aware that the walk from the walled garden rooms may be difficult for some people”
 of 5 bubbles dorset2, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you have difficulty in walking then it is best to book a courtyard room and not the walled garden.”
 of 5 bubbles PeteP819, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you can afford a treat go for the the Historic Rooms in the main house , wonderful rooms and views”
 of 5 bubbles christinerR1029BQ, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Worth paying extra for ground floor with patio in the summer”
 of 5 bubbles N8108RYcc, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Historic or Courtyard rooms allow you to stay warm and dry when going to restaurant and entertainment facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles S4728HWjohnm, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay