We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Melia Cayo Guillermo

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
Management photos
Melia Cayo Guillermo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Melia Cayo Guillermo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,644: English reviews
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been going for years and we continue to go back. It is in need of some upgrades but it's fine for me. I always find something to eat and the staff are attentive. Beach is even nicer now and there are more sun beds and shade.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maree C
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hello Maree C. Thank you for your comment, how much pleasure our hotel continues to be to your liking and that you decide to return again, and we hope you do so many times more. We will work on the renovations we are already carrying out. We will wait for you again. Best regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have to say we have to defend this hotel 100% we had a fantastic time the hotel is very clean the food we really enjoyed and the entertainment team was excellent they interacted with all the guests and they worked extremely hard top ensure that all guests were having a good time that through out the day straight through...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank John K
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hi John K. Thank you for your comments, we are glad to know that you felt at ease during your stay. We hope to return to enjoy again the wonders of this place, both: natural and human, the hotel is certainly old, but we work in the same way to preserve it and improve it progressively, so that it is...

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our third trip to Melia Cayo Guillermo we first travelled here 15 years ago with a large group then returned 10 years ago with the same group. We always said that we wanted to return to this charming paradise. This time it was just the two of us and 15 years later we were not disappointed. Yes it...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank David E
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hi David E!!! We welcome your comments, and in the same way we are pleased that the hotel was to your liking, again you have enjoyed our facilities and that similarly has seen renovations that are not performing at the resort.. we look forward to seeing you again!!!! Best regards.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The front desk and buffet staff are extremely rude. There are only 2 ala carte restaurants and while the International is okay the Italian was absolutely horrible. On the second last day we saw the cockroaches in the Buffet near the bacon station! We paid for the elegance club upgrade and it wasn't worth the money. Check in was delayed,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lisa G
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hello Lisa G. Thank you for your comments, we respect your opinion but as always all have different points of view that we do not always share, we cannot say that our hotel is old, but we provide services of excellence, as well as the cleanliness of the hotel, in the process of renovations we are now to improve all...

Niagara Falls, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent a week here and the most horrible experience ever. We purchased the Distinction Package, and well might as well have just thrown that money out the window. Be sure to check out the packages before you go. The Resort is beautiful, the food was edible, (better Monday to Friday, then on the weekend), but the service was the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sharimyny
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hello Sharimyny. We regret that your experience was not as you wanted, we appreciate your comments and respect your opinions, but we have to say that our hotel is old compared to others that are built in the area, but the services are excellent, we treat our customers with the same affection as we do it with our family, because...

Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had a one week all inclusive vacation here and for $1058 (Cnd) it was good value for that price. However I found there were a few things about the resort that have made me feel I won't return. For a small resort (which I like and chose for that reason) there was always far too much competing music and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lesley H
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hellos Lesley H. thanks for your comments. We hope that if you visit us one time you can appreciate the improvements, we would have preferred to leave your negative impressions in the hotel, so that we would have solved it while staying and felt more comfortable. We remind you that we are a family hotel, and we have to carry...

Ottawa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed at the MCG ten times over the last half-dozen years, and though I've also tried other resorts, I keep returning to the MCG. My wife and I arrived to the friendly and familiar smiles at reception, and our room -- a bungalow room in the east block -- was ready when we arrived. The room was a familiar...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank RGeoff B
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hello RGeoff B!! Thank you for your comments. We hope you will come back many more times, we are pleased to make our customers feel good. Likewise, whenever they return they are becoming more special, thanks for trusting in our product, and we assure you that we will continue to improve little by little to continue Being of your preference...

Oshawa, Ontario
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and myself decided to take a last minute trip to Cuba, March 21-28th, our first trip there, after many vacations in Mexico and other Caribbean countries. We booked through Air Transat, good flights both ways, great service aboard, only a slight delay leaving Toronto. We have booked through them for many vacations in Mexico, the Caribbean, and Ireland,...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank HotMamaGee
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hello HotMamaGee!! Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you soon in the hotel with pleasure, it is a pleasure for us that you have enjoyed the services we provide, and thank you also for recognizing the effort of our staff. We will continue the work of maintenance and renovation so that when I return, notice great...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Melia Cayo Guillermo is one of those resorts that has made it's money and no longer updates the property or accommodations. First impression upon arrival in the lobby was very good. Clean, modern and well stocked lobby bar. Reception staff were friendly and professional. Things quickly started to seem out of the ordinary. While reception was explaining that we would...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank S H
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hello: S H. We thank you for your comments, we respect it in the same way, but we have to refute your criticism to the service of the clients, when our hotel is characterized by a service of excellence in all areas. Our hotel is old but, charming, and welcoming, all are welcome, with enough experience so we do not...

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Check in was fine we were allocated block 2 2nd floor room rustic but ok with a vast balcony area.The big positivesfor this holiday were the exceptional staff,friendly guests with whom we had many enjoyable chats and a Thomas Cook rep Ivan who did everything we asked when we had certain requests.A special mention has to go to Carlos being...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank penelope898
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hi penelope898: Thank you for your comments, and we regret that you did not enjoy your holiday at all, we thank you also for the suggestions you sent us, we hope to improve every detail that we plan so that in the future when we visit, experience all the changes! !!! We hope to visit again. best regards

6,872 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6535)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1958)
Viewed
View from Room (191)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (978)
Viewed
Dining (367)
Viewed
Bathroom (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (385)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (41)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (77)
Viewed
2:24
Videos (11)
Viewed
Other (2455)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (319)
Viewed
Amenities (36)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Pool (66)
Viewed
Premium Room (41)
Viewed
Dining (72)
Viewed
The Hotel (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Guillermo
20.7 km away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,057 reviews
20.9 km away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
31.1 km away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
5,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Sol Cayo Guillermo
Sol Cayo Guillermo
#4 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
3,875 reviews
30.7 km away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4,105 reviews
31.1 km away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Meliá Cayo Guillermo is located one of the most beautiful and white-sandy beaches with more than 1300 palm trees, and swept by very transparent waters. The area was an inspiration for Ernest Hemingway, and fishing the great blue river, always on his Pilar Yacht, he created part of his work. The hotel is perfect for couples and families but also for diving, fishing. We also organize the wedding of your dreams in this paradise. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Melia Cayo Guillermo

Address: Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Guillermo
Price Range: $189 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Cayo Guillermo 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Cayo Guillermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cayo Guillermo Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Cayo Guillermo Melia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Melia Cayo Guillermo staff and other travellers.
256 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (256)

Questions? Get answers from Melia Cayo Guillermo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There don't seem to be any good rooms as the two rooms we had were average.”
jackk864, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms near the beach are quieter...”
739sg, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ours was just perfect.”
carolpY5994SK, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“rooms 2002to 2010”
jodic348, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“we were on 3rd floor and had a wonderful view with a great breeze”
41davide, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5