We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Yellow Bird Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Yellow Bird Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 174: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall a lovely clean and tidy Hotel with friendly staff. Our room was one of 3 on the ground floor which initially was a disappointment. However after a couple of days we changed our minds as we had direct access to the pool and the beach from our patio ! Was not a big fan of the Cove restaurant as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wharfman2016
LeahOGibson, Manager at Yellow Bird Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! I am happy you found the team, our location as well as our property lovely. The ground floor rooms are very unique and I am thrilled your initial disappointment quickly changed! As you had quick and direct access to the pool! :-) We are currently working on rejuvenating the hotel’s...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The view and balcony alone should make this hotel number one. You never tire of it. In addition to that the hotel is exceptionally clean and the staff are all friendly and approachable. Barbados is expensive. As long as this is your expectation, you will enjoy your stay. We selected the Yellow Bird so the we could use the suite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John G
LeahOGibson, Manager at Yellow Bird Hotel, responded to this review

I am thrilled you enjoyed our hotel! Our team, the view and our location are our three greatest assets we have to boost about! I am glad you were able to enjoy all three. Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We can’t wait to see you in Barbados again soon!

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There is a clear reason why this is ranked number one. The hotel is fantastic and the room are amazing. Incredibly spacious with a great balcony and view over the sea. The main tourist beach (Dover) and the gap are a 5-10 minute walk MAX from the hotel. There was plenty of bars, shops and beach attractions also within that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David S
LeahOGibson, Manager at Yellow Bird Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such an amazing review! I am happy you enjoyed your stay and the service we offer. :-) The team is truly amazing! I will be sure to share your review with Monique! We all can’t wait to see you and your family again next time you are in Barbados.... the jet skis are waiting!

son servsa
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Stayed here for two weeks in March.The rooms were spacious and well equipped.The staff were very friendly and helpful.The views from our room were heaven and to die for.The only downside for us was the gap I think it has suffered from the influence of all inclusive hotels with bars and restaurants closed a fate which has caused the same...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheila p
LeahOGibson, Manager at Yellow Bird Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review! I am elated you loved our view and that our team was friendly and helpful! :-) Currently the gap is being revived and night life is picking up. They aren't many all-inclusive properties in the Gap at the moment. Hopefully by your next trip to Barbados and Yellow Bird the Gap will be even...

Bogota, Colombia
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Happy to share our recent visit to the Yellow Bird. We spend 3 nights here and had a excellent stay. Hotel is relatively new, large room with smaller bathroom. Good shower, water pressure and hot water. AC worked great, hotel is on the main street entering the St. Lawrence Gap but there was no noise and the room had good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William7845
LeahOGibson, Manager at Yellow Bird Hotel, responded to this review

Wonderful! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! It is pleasing that you enjoyed our rooms and that the team added to your lovely experience. Happy to hear you would stay with us again, as we would love to have you back soon! :-)

peterborough
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Fantastic hotel the room we had was lovely and very clean and kitchen brilliant we are back in June for my 60th birthday' the staff are brilliant hope we get the same room 101 in June from MBH and NBH xxx

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladoops
LeahOGibson, Manager at Yellow Bird Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! I am happy you enjoyed your stay. I will enter your request in your June reservation! We can't wait to celebrate with you soon!

Bathgate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We spent 2 weeks at the Yellow Bird from 10th – 24th October and enjoyed a great stay. Today is my first day back at work and I wish I was back there already! We were here almost exactly 2 years ago and had no hesitation in booking up again. We were not disappointed and after the refurbishment in-between it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Si_Dev_1
YellowBirdBarbados, General Manager at Yellow Bird Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, thank you, thank you! I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your second stay with us and are already planning another trip back to Barbados and to the Yellow Bird! Thanks for the detailed description of our "new" rooms, this will definitely help other guests who are considering staying with us. Can't wait to see you...

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We spent 10 nights here in October and loved it! The reason we chose Barbados was that we wanted to get out and explore rather than just sitting by a pool. We hired a car for the whole time and the Yellow Bird was the ideal base for us. We'd go out in the morning and then get back early...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David C
YellowBirdBarbados, General Manager at Yellow Bird Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely detailed review, David. It helps to paint a picture of what Yellow Bird is all about and great for potential bookers to get an idea so they know what to expect. I have noted your comments re our restaurant and I promise that we will work with our tenants to ensure that our...

London
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Stayed for 8 nights. Hotel is quite small but very cute in a great location at the top of St Lawrence Gap. We never heard any noise and we were on the first floor. The reception staff were really friendly & helpful. We had an early departure time & reception pre-booked a taxi for us. The room was a great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Demi P
YellowBirdBarbados, General Manager at Yellow Bird Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Demi Thanks so much for this great review. I am happy that you liked our "boutique" hotel and found our staff friendly & helpful. I have also noted your comments regarding our restaurant and will most surely forward these to our lessee. We have received great feedback about the food but will work with them in the effort to...

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

This was OUR first ever visit to Barbados. We got married in June 2016, and it was my job to book a holiday to a place NEITHER of us had been to before. I finally chose Barbados - and researched where to stay. "The Gap" seemed ideal and Yellow Bird had continual good reviews, so I booked a weeks' stay...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank arnoldfoulds149
YellowBirdBarbados, General Manager at Yellow Bird Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning! What a lovely review to wake up to! Thank you so much - I am thrilled that you chose to honeymoon on our island - you could not have picked a better destination to celebrate your marriage. I am so happy to read your heartwarming comments about our staff - they really are the best on the island!...

495 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (204)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (104)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (230)
Viewed
Beach (12)
Viewed
Deluxe Studio (56)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (88)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
1.2 km away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
1,786 reviews
12.0 km away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
918 reviews
12.4 km away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 km away
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
1,069 reviews
0.3 km away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#6 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
556 reviews
1.7 km away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Yellow Bird is a newly renovated boutique hotel situated in St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados, 7 km from the airport and 10 km from Bridgetown. This 22 room hotel underwent a US $1.25 million renovation during summer 2015. The extensive project included a total facelift to all guest rooms and public areas including the building's exterior, lobby & reception, public rest rooms and restaurant. Our Fabulous Location Also known as "The Gap", this area is home to a collection of fine restaurants, clubs and bars. In the midst of it all, you'll find several street-side "chefs" grilling up anything from burgers to local favourites such as local fish, macaroni pie and other mouth-watering treats to tantalize your taste buds! During the day, you can choose between Sandy Beach, only two minutes away or the larger, more popular Dover Beach, a mere 10 minutes walk from our hotel. If you want to tour the island or head into Bridgetown, there's a bus stop right outside our hotel. All of our studios and two-bedroom suites are oceanfront and are newly renovated with porcelain tiles, granite counter tops, 42" LED TVs and custom made furniture. They are designed to make you feel right at home with kitchenettes, private balconies, air-conditioning, room safes & free wifi. Stay with us and see why our repeat guests usually book their next stay with us as soon as they return home. We guarantee you great value, spacious and immaculate rooms and an exceptional team who take pride in their jobs. Our staff will go out of their way to make your holiday one that you will remember forever. Recipient of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award for 7 consecutive years - 2010 through 2016. Yellow Bird Hotel, where you "Come as a Guest and leave as a Friend". ... more   less 

Additional Information about Yellow Bird Hotel

Address: St. Lawrence Gap | Christ Church, St. Lawrence Gap BB15018, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range: $236 - $534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yellow Bird Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Yellow Bird Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baywatch Hotel Yellow Bird
Yellow Bird Hotel Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#4 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Yellow Bird Hotel staff and other travellers.
36 questions
Ask a question
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
over a year ago
5 months ago
walsall west midalnds

See all questions (36)

Questions? Get answers from Yellow Bird Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring earplugs for sleeping”
 of 5 bubbles hoppersh, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“They are all good and all have Sea views”
  • Sunset
 of 5 bubbles EvoWestMidlands, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Upper floors have best views, ground floor rooms have best access to pool/beach.”
 of 5 bubbles wharfman2016, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“As all the rooms have a balcony I would suggest getting as high a floor as possible.”
 of 5 bubbles W5730QQjohng, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“1st or 2nd floor. The higher you got the weaker the wifi”
 of 5 bubbles 927DavidS, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay