We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 168: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We travelled as part of a group of 4 families. All in there we had 10 adults and 5 children in 3 tents. The children absolutely loved the wide open fields for cycling, and the playground. We did not use the flying fox nor the swimming pool (it wasn't open yet), and it was too rainy and windy for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank N1ck_C2014
AnnaTeAroha, Owner at Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you Nick for your feedback. It was a pleasure hosting you and your friends and hope you will drive to Te Aroha again during summer when the Large Swimming pool is open. Perhaps a tip. If you have some carrots the ponies love them! More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here as 1 part of 3 families with teenagers. The room we got was good and clean. It had a nice little deck that caught the arvo sun. The park itself was clean and tidy and the teenage boys all thought the kids area was great for younger kids. They liked the big swing. It has free wifi and... More 

Helpful?
Thank soundbeltfarm
AnnaTeAroha, Manager at Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for commenting on your stay. It was certainly very lively seeing your teenage boys on our tree swings and the flying fox. I hope you all had a successful race day Looking forward to seeing you back some time! More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

I booked this stay through Expedia but was disappointed when I arrived to be told that we had to pay extra for our 17 year old despite entering all our information and ages when booking. Not my problem if the system does not adjust for your age limit, I expect that the price given will be correct when I have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kama_rimmer
AnnaTeAroha, Owner at Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you, Kama for your review. Great to see that you found the room clean and well equipped and your children had fun using the playground. When you entered your 17 year old as a child, the system automatically applied the children's rate. Elsewhere on our booking page it does say that adults rate counts after 12. I m sorry... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2016

I arrived, with the intentions of staying only one night. Then i saw how peaceful and quite this place was and quickly changed my mind before i even got out of the car and signed in for a few more days. i found the host very comfortable and polite that made my stay enjoyable. Then i meet up with some... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wandaria N
AnnaTeAroha, Owner at Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you Wandaria for taking time, sharing your experience. I will pass your praise on to Daiki our current cleaner, and of course hope to see you here again, when the sun is out! More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

When we arrived, having pre booked and prepaid, we were greeted by a person, for whom English was not a first language, and who had no idea what we wanted - despite me showing the booking information. We were later rescued by the owner's daughter. The facilities are excellent, and on first glance very clean, but our kitchen sink was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Valsattheblock
AnnaTeAroha, Owner at Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great rating and taking the trouble to write this review. Excellent to read that you have enjoyed the SPA on these cold and wintery nights and also found the facilities nice and clean. As you probably guessed, we've had a new staff member starting, a few teething problems, such as those mentioned by you.... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016

A group of 8 stayed here last weekend - two couples in a caravan each, one couple in a small cabin and we stayed in a 1 bedroom unit. Anna was very obliging and was such a hard worker around the holiday park. The caravan people thought the toilet/shower facilities were a bit tired (only 1 loo had toilet paper)... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Floss G
AnnaTeAroha, Owner at Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you Floss for organising this trip and bring your friends along with you to stay. I am glad you all enjoyed it and you found the apartment satisfactory. Sounds like I have to use better signage around the Park as we do actually have 5 showers available for our camping guests. Apologies if we slipped on toilet paper routine... More 

new Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Very basic , quite muddy, but not the owners fault as it is winter and it has been raining a lot , how ever rooms are fine. The best thing is the thermal small pool which looks very pretty at night. Bring gumboots in winter or get very muddy feet on the way there. The owners up graded my husband... More 

Helpful?
Thank newZealandBobo
AnnaTeAroha, Owner at Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. Great to see that you had a chance to use the little hot pool in the rocks at night. The muddy grounds from last week are finally clearing up as we had some dry days. The miniature ponies belong to my neighbour. They recently moved in, and I agree it is an absolute... More 

Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2016

My family and I (5 adults) stayed at this facility in June 2016 for 2 nights. We had booked and paid for 2 units. Upon booking in we found that somehow our booking for the second night for one unit had been cancelled, and we had to pay extra for a smaller cabin than we had already paid for. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Denis W
AnnaTeAroha, Owner at Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you Denis W for your feedback and once again sincere apologies for your room change. I am glad to read you found both rooms clean and comfortable. As I was away from the office most of July, my relief staff was unable to handle refunds during my absence, hence the delay. Of course I do hope to see you... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a apartment was clean and well equipped great children's playground and lovely and quiet as it is a couple kilometres from town so away from the traffic.With great views of Mt Te Aroha and close to the racetrack we enjoyed our stay.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
AnnaTeAroha, Owner at Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for rating us, Michele. I appreciate your comments and hope your children continued to have as much fun for the rest of your holidays. I am glad you liked our facilities and the quietness of the Park. More 

Travellers are raving about these Te Aroha hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

since when do holiday parks tell visitors that it will cost them 20 dollars to come say hello to paying customers staying for one night for a half hour what a disgrace. will not be coming back and letting friends know its a scam. might want to clean you jug as its full of mould and cutlery needs cleaning.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rob A
AnnaTeAroha, Owner at Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers, responded to this review

Im sorry Rob A about your dissappointing experience when we asked your visiting family friends to register and pay a small fee. Most of our guests understand this policy which covers the use of the very popular adventure playground and other facilities in the park. Apologies about the state of some of the cuttlery and jug. I have passed this... More 

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Aroha
2.9 km away
The Nunnery
The Nunnery
#2 of 4 in Te Aroha
23 reviews
27.0 km away
Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park
19.3 km away
Central Motor Lodge
Central Motor Lodge
#1 of 1 in Morrinsville
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 km away
Oak Lane Lodge
Oak Lane Lodge
#1 of 3 in Morrinsville
45 reviews
27.9 km away
Tower Road Motel
Tower Road Motel
#1 of 5 in Matamata
253 reviews
26.8 km away
Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rural Setting, grazing farm animals surround this peaceful Park setting with uninterrupted mountain views. Free of charge WiFi and Hot pool on site. Cottages and Cabins with linen supplied to all double beds. Fantastic playground on tree-swings, flying fox, pedal go-karts. Choose us if you like the quiet countryside, only a short 3 minutes drive from Te Aroha coffee-shops and restaurants. Holiday Park with adventure playground, flying fox,tree swings, out of the ordinary. Motel type Cottages, Cabins and Backpacker caravans for the budget traveller. In addition we also offer camping sites, communal kitchen and showers plus toilets for those guests who prefer private cabins or caravans. Cook a Bar-be-que under our oak trees, use our special alfresco pool with hot mineral water, open all year between 6.30 Pm - 8.30 Pm under an umbrella of sparkling New Zealand stars. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers

Address: 217 Stanley Road South | R.D.1, Te Aroha 3391, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Aroha
Price Range: $46 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The traffic at night is a minus and the rain is hell. I was told by several locals it is not normally that wet.”
 of 5 bubbles wandarian, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ensure you get what you pay for”
 of 5 bubbles 259denisw, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“website states apartment can sleep up to 7 but really this is an apartment for 5. Fold down sofa is only really suitable for young child. Was not sure what linen to bring. Maybe needs to be a bit clearer on website. Very clean & Tidy room though and good cutlery/crockery in kitchen. ”
 of 5 bubbles scX6090WH, 24 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The cabins behind the reception were the best by far.”
 of 5 bubbles Evz1, 14 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Don't get a room!”
 of 5 bubbles beatnick2015, 18 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay