We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ostan Loch Altan

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gortahork
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ostan Loch Altan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 233: English reviews
Start your review of Ostan Loch Altan
 Click to rate
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great wee hotel, helpful staff, very reasonably priced, hearty food and warm comfortable rooms. The breakfast was hot and delicious. We stayed on a Saturday night and the music from the bar could be heard in our room (227) but we didn't go to sleep until after the entertainment was over and slept like babies. All in all very satisfied...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PatOcarson
Letterkenny, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been here quite a few times for dinner over the years. Its a lovely hotel and is maintained very well however the food can vary. Service can be terrible - slow and inattentive which is a shame as it does have real potential.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 247traceym76
Reviewed 1 week ago

Second visit to this hotel and again an excellent stay. The staff were so obliging and Orla on reception such a helpful Young lady. The food in bar very good quality as was the breakfast. A jamming session in the bar across the road very enjoyable on Tuesday night Would definitely return to this hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is very good value. We stayed three nights my wife and I for £99 with breakfast and £25 towards an evening meal.would have no hesitation in going back .in fact I'm planning another visit next month.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _j_beck801
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just back from a Friday night and loved it. Cheekily asked if there were any complimentary upgrades available and was promptly given the bridal suite for the night. Beautiful room and great breakfast. See you soon guy's.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Conail W
OstanLochAltan, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to Ostán Loch Altan. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay particularly the room a.d the breakfast. We look forward to having you back with us soon again. Kindest regards Seán Mc Elwee General Manager

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The food was decent and the rooms were clean and tastefully decorated. There were a few negatives though ... Our bathroom was overlooking the carpark which was fine but there were no blinds. Despite having frosted glass in the window once the light was on in the evening there was no privacy and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SerenaMontana
OstanLochAltan, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a very favourable review of your visit to Ostán Loch Altan and to Gortahork. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your our food offering and that you thought the accommodation was of good quality. I note that you stayed with us in September 2016. We only have one bathroom that looks...

Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

The food was good, the price for the room for the night was extremely reasonable, the room was lovely, the location was very scenic, the staff were very friendly but ye wouldn't be long in gitn frostbit

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank stephen m
OstanLochAltan, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review

Hi Michaela Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of your recent visit to Gortahork and your stay in Ostán Loch Altan. Thank you also for all your kind remarks about the food, the staff and the excellent value for money. The heating is timed to go off at midnight and the rooms have cooled...

Coleraine, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Just returned after two nights New Year break here. Very disappointed - hotel mustn't have known it was New Year's Eve as other than the Christmas decorations it seemed like any other weekend. Check in was OK but not exactly a warm welcome as there was a wedding on. Room was quite large and clean but rather bland and in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dolina P
OstanLochAltan, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us here at Ostán Loch Altan in Gortahork. Right through all the reviews of the hotel you will find that there is a very high level of praise for the staff and the level of service that they provide. I am disappointed that this was not...

Reviewed 2 December 2016

I stayed for 5 nights, great deal as a windsurfer - tell them you surf and they will give you the special rate Great food and a fab club sandwich, the staff are excellent and cannot do enough for you. Loads to do in the area and the Loch Altan is a superb base to explore the whole county

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathal k
OstanLochAltan, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review

Hi Cathal Thank you for writing such a positive review of your visit to Ostán Loch Altan and to Gortahork. Yes, we have built up a great relationship with the windsurfing community particularly due to the master classes given here in the area by Peter Hart and the excellent marketing of the area as a windsurfing location by our own...

Ballymena, Co.Antrim
Reviewed 8 November 2016

We got this hotel on a grat deal - 2 nights B&B and £25 food voucher for 2 people for just £79! How could you beat it? The holtel is clean, staff are helpful and friendly, food is delicious, the rooms are small and really do need brought up to date, duvets instead of blankets would be a great start....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xesinedx
OstanLochAltan, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review

I am very grateful to you for taking the time to post such a positive, fair and balanced review of your visit to Ostan Loch Altan and to Gortahork. It obviously was your first visit and we look forward to meeting with you again when you make the return trip. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff, the...

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gortahork
12.2 km away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
360 reviews
10.1 km away
An Chuirt, Gweedore Court Hotel
15.5 km away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 km away
Caisleain Oir Hotel
Caisleain Oir Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annagry
383 reviews
20.4 km away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
368 reviews
20.3 km away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Ostan Loch Altan

Address: Main Street, Gortahork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Gortahork
Price Range: $62 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ostan Loch Altan staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Ostan Loch Altan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check your room isn't over the bar if there's entertainment on and you can't tolerate noise.”
 of 5 bubbles PatOcarson, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for sea views.”
 of 5 bubbles dolinap2016, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms on the upper floors are great”
 of 5 bubbles 174cathalk, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms over the bar and ball room can be noisy at weekends. East wing at the back probably quietest.”
 of 5 bubbles jmich21, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room”
 of 5 bubbles 940Dee, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5