We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club

Save
Share
Beech Avenue, Taverham NR8 6HP England
Lowest prices for your stay
USD 102
View Deal
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (141)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (16)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set in 250 acres of breathtaking Norfolk countryside you’ll have plenty to choose from at Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club. Perhaps you are thinking of taking a weekend break in Norfolk, or a Golf break in Norwich, and would like to be only 5 miles from Norwich’s nightlife, shopping and culture and just 30 minutes from the beautiful North Norfolk coastline. Our convenient location and transport links make us the perfect Norwich Airport Hotel. Whatever the purpose of your visit, anything is possible at Wensum Valley Hotel, Golf and Country Club.Wensum Valley Hotel offers 2 of the finest golf courses in Norfolk. Both 18-hole courses are free draining, meaning they are playable all year round. Our 90 en-suite rooms are both comfortable and welcoming after a round on the course, fishing on the river Wensum or a day out in Norfolk.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Game room
Golf course
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Billiards
Darts
Fishing
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Salon
Solarium
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
711Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 289
  • 191
  • 102
  • 73
  • 56
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Karen S wrote a review Oct. 2020
Norwich, United Kingdom5 contributions7 helpful votes
I took my children here for a half term treat to play foot golf. I telephoned twice before to arrange, both times the information was very vague even though I told them I was travelling from over 20 miles away. When we arrived, we went to the club shop and again met by a vague unwelcoming man who said we could play although seemed a little unsure. I paid and was given no instructions, map or score card. I had to ask where it was! We walked to the foot golf which was very overgrown and uncared for, making playing really hard. The real highlight was the carcus/skeleton of an animal in the 9th hole which had clearly been there some time and was most unpleasant. I fully appreciate it is the end of the season but I paid the same as everyone else. We were all extremely disappointed. I have emailed the hotel to make sure they are aware of this however they have not responded.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Wellandg wrote a review Oct. 2020
Feltham, United Kingdom87 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
Clean, friendly, COVID-19 secure. Breakfast good portions, service slower Tuesday-Friday than Friday-Monday. Leisure (pool) good, well managed with booking system (1hr). Booked executive room. Nice and larger with 2 sofas, coffee table, desk, TV. Bathroom has a shelf above basin which protrudes so far out you can’t get your face near the basin to wash or splash water on. Bear in mind this is mainly a Golf hotel so plenty of golfers around, and outside your patio doors (from our room) in the morning!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Jim Scott wrote a review Oct. 2020
Maldon, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
What a fantastic hotel all the staff were fantastic helpful and so friendly would recommend this to everyone. golf courses OK for the amount of rain we have had but top marks. Very well organised throughout our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Simon T wrote a review Oct. 2020
11 contributions2 helpful votes
I turned up at the hotel after a 4 hour drive only to realise I’d mistakenly booked it for the Sunday instead of the Thursday through Expedia ... my fault completely... after explaining this to the lady she says no problem I’ll book you another room ... then she went out the back only to be followed by a bumbling manager stuttering there are only rooms left that we have to keep for spares !! Which is ridiculous when you have 2 guests standing there after a 4 hour drive and a mixed up booking . Then the attitude there after was nothing short of rude and shocking and we left there feeling absolutely disgusted and shocked that you would put staff like that in charge of your business .. Then we went to THE PARSON WOODFORDE 2 miles away ... it has the best food and friendliest staff around so I highly recommend the latter hotel on all fronts
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bridgette Hall, Other at Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club
Responded 19 Oct. 2020
Dear Simon T I am very sorry to read your review, unfortunately due to your room being booked online for the wrong date we were unable to accommodate you for your required date due the hotel being fully booked. We do pride ourselves on giving excellent customer services, I am very sorry to hear that this was not received at this time. Kind Regards
Read more
andrew b wrote a review Oct. 2020
london45 contributions25 helpful votes
Rooms basic but ok Food carvery Staff very good Covid security very well thought out Golf course, been some horrendous weather before our visit so fairways were terrible, greens like a sponge. 17th hole on the valley course the most daftest hole I've ever played, looking forward to the water section, obviously recently flooded so very boggy. Very disappointing for our large group but unlucky with the weather beforehand, unfortunately won't be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Bridgette Hall, Other at Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club
Responded 19 Oct. 2020
Dear Andrew Thank you for your review following your recent visit to the hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your food and the staff were friendly. I am sorry that you were disappointed regarding the golf course, unfortunately due to 6 weeks of drought and 4 weeks of rain have left our courses not to the usual high standards. We hope to have opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 92 - USD 125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
wensum valley hotel and country
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkTaverham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club
Which popular attractions are close to Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club?
Nearby attractions include Highball Climbing Centre (7.0 km), City of Norwich Aviation Museum (6.1 km), and Roarr! Dinosaur Adventure (5.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club?
Conveniently located restaurants include Queen of Hearts, The Honingham Buck, and Steak in the Stix at The Ratcatchers.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club?
Many travellers enjoy visiting University of East Anglia (7.9 km).
Is Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.