We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 40: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very small and characteristic old town. The hotel was quaint and quirky, which is great, but all looking a bit tired and in need of some love and attention. We got picked up from the bus stop, but had to pay 20 euro for a 4km drive. The amenities were very basic, but to be expected at the price we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Looberta
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Do not expect all mod cons,rather a rustic charm in a quiet village that feels as if you've stepped back in time. Very friendly staff that will try to make your stay as good as possible.The sowers are very small,but my partner and I managed to squeeze in and were not exactly slim! Food is traditional Sicilian ,breakfast is homemade... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank maryrS2562YT
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Although we had initially booked the accommodation for our entire stay in Sicily (10 nights) the poor conditions of the accommodation forced us to leave immediately the premises, having to look in a rush for a new accommodation at the peak of the hot season of the island. The service and accommodation was unsatisfactory in the following ways: 1) Five... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eugeacquaro
Valentino27, Proprietario at Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina, responded to this review
Google Translation

Questa recensione è stata fatta per danneggiare il nostro progetto di Albergo Diffuso per la valorizzazzione del paese di Castiglione... More 

Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2016

I'm not sure what other reviewers saw that I didn't see, but I would never go back to this hotel. This hotel is nothing like what was depicted on Tripadvisor. I knew we were in trouble when you could not drive up to the hotel. We had to park down the street and walk up a narrow road with our... More 

Helpful?
Thank AMPA20151
Valentino27, Proprietario at Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina, responded to this review
Google Translation

Ci risulta difficile pensare che Lei sia stato nostro ospite in quanto non risulta nei nostri database. Risulta invece chiara... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2016

I really enjoyed my stay here but there are considerations to be made before basing oneself away from the coast. Castiglione di Sicilia is a wonderful medieval town on a hill. The streets are very narrow to drive and some may find the roads and many passages very steep to walk; I loved the place. The hotel itself is on... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
Valentino27, Proprietario at Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gentile Chris Desidero ringraziarla per gli apprezzamenti e di aver capito la formula dell'Albergo Diffuso che abbiamo realizzato mettendo ogni... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We stayed a week in this hotel and enjoyed a lot for our stay! Rooms were very clean and the owners took a very good care for us. They made us a dinner two times in our stay, good traditional Sicilian food with reasonable price. Hotel is situated in a old town with a lovely atmosphere, classy Sisilian restaurants and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Maaria J
Island of Malta, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Just one word - 'Amazing'. We were very happy with the place, as the location is beautiful - there is a lot to see and it is near to many lovely landmarks. The hotel is very well-kept, nicely decorated in very quiet and safe area. Prices are reasonable. The owners are very nice poeple taking very good care of theiir... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank kristinad732
Spanish Fort, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2016

My wife and I brought our son to experience Sicily as a graduation gift. We stayed for a week at the B&B. We wanted to experience the Sicilian culture as opposed to being in a large tourist area. Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina provided the cultural experience we were all seeking. The cool mountain air and country side atmosphere was welcomed... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Aull2016
Valentino27, Proprietario at Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gentile cliente Desidero ringraziarla per gli apprezzamenti espressi in seguito al suo soggiorno presso il nostro albergo diffuso e le... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

Just stayed here for 6 nights. We found it absolutely wonderful. Charming sicilian village and what the owners of the B+B have done is unique. Rooms lovely, clean,good bed and bathroom, breakfast was best I've had in Italy, everything is homemade. Also had dinner in the evening 3 times and this was also very good, tasty and fresh and very... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank stephanie k
Valentino27, Proprietario at Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gentile cliente Desidero ringraziarla per gli apprezzamenti espressi in seguito al suo soggiorno presso il nostro albergo diffuso e le... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed from 28/03 to 2/04/16 at this place and I truly recommend you to stay there as well. It's very cozy, clean, safe and the Internet connection works very properly. We were delighted with traditional Sicilian food every night he have had something different for our special dinners prepared by Mr. Rosario, by the way I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Italo S
Valentino27, Proprietario at Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gentile Italo desideriamo ringraziarla a nome di tutto lo staff dell'Albergo Diffuso e che si prodiga ogni giorno per migliorare... More 

191 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (129)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglione di Sicilia
0.0 km away
Albergo Diffuso Borgo Gallodoro
0.2 km away
Hotel Federico II
Hotel Federico II
#3 of 4 in Castiglione di Sicilia
102 reviews
3.5 km away
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & S...
#1 of 4 in Castiglione di Sicilia
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
D'Orange D'Alcantara
D'Orange D'Alcantara
#1 of 1 in Francavilla di Sicilia
475 reviews
5.0 km away
Mareneve Resort
Mareneve Resort
#4 of 4 in Linguaglossa
60 reviews
12.5 km away
Fiumefreddo Hotel
Fiumefreddo Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fiumefreddo di Sicilia
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The diffuse hotel Santa Caterina is at the center of one of the most beautiful tourist destinations in eastern Sicily that go by the imposing Mount Etna, the beaches of Taormina and Giardini Naxos, without underestimating the extraordinary natural and Alcantara Gorges. On the slopes of Etna, a medieval town first inhabited by families of farmers, is the 'diffuse hotel Borgo Santa Caterina. The apartments have been expertly created by restoring the old buildings of 700, to best match the needs of tourism, with the recovery of 'originality, simplicity and beauty of the ancient rural Sicily. In the structure, you can still admire the cellars for storing wine, olive oil and nuts, the old barn and other structures once used by farmers. Today the old winery has become a lovely breakfast room, with characteristic terracotta floors and brick arches, where breakfast is served a rich breakfast buffet with a wide selection of local products. The rooms are all built in a rustic style with wooden beams, are all equipped with private bathroom and a balcony with panoramic views. The terraces are a true paradise thanks to native plants, the vintage jars, the beautiful landscape. Especially in the summer months, when you can make outdoor dining, you will always live a unique and magical. Santa Caterina is located 18 km from Taormina, 16 km from Giardini Naxos, 4 km from the Alcantara Gorge, 15 km from then located close to the main tourist itineraries in Sicily. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina

Address: Via Tenente Mazza 10, 95012, Castiglione di Sicilia, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Castiglione di Sicilia
Price Range: $46 - $773 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina Sicily/Castiglione Di Sicilia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you do not like the smell of cigarettes, avoid rooms over the courtyards.”
 of 5 bubbles Looberta, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It has free wifi that does not work in the room. You needed to be outside in a certain spot next to the building.”
 of 5 bubbles AMPA20151, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Quiet and peaceful”
 of 5 bubbles , 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Beautiful views, clean room, nice staff, good location”
 of 5 bubbles kristinad732, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“There are a lot of stairs so ask for a lower level room.”
 of 5 bubbles Aull2016, 31 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay