We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

288 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 127: English reviews
amsterdam
Reviewed 15 February 2014

OK, after a long day on the long tail boat, practically the only (and much appreciated) way to get from Thailand to Luang Prabang the Pakbeng Lodge is heaven. But at a closer look it is overpriced. It is beautifully situated, high on the banks of the Mekong, but the rooms, and certainly the bathrooms need a make over to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank orangeAmsterdam
Stanislas F, General Manager at Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mrs/Mr Orange Amsterdam, Thank you very much for visiting us in January, we are very sorry the Pakbeng Lodge was not up to your expectation. We are looking to improve and review like yours is always helping us. In Pakbeng, we have a very local staff that is very eager to please but as you mentioned, might not always...

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We do not expect such a nice hotel when you arrive at Pakbeng. What impressed us the most is the unique view. We were however disappointed with the food but I think they can do better quickly. The comfort of the rooms is good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Georges D
San Francisco, CA
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in the deluxe room one night on our Mekong cruise with shompoo cruise. The hotel staff was wonderful, the rooms lovely & the food delicious. Loved the fire bowl they brought to our table to keep us warm at dinner!! The stars at night were incredible and the bed was very comfy. Only downside I can think...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisakav
Varberg, Sweden
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have now been at the Lodge for 5 nights and are very satIsfied. Best service, nice room, wonderful view from the room and very tasty dinners. We can recommend this Lodge for all travellors. Margit and Arne Kastberg , Sweden

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arne K
Stanislas F, General Manager at Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mrs and Mr Arne K, Again, thank you very much for your 5 nights visit with us. We are delighted all our services where to your expectations. I will share your review with all our team. We do look forward to see you in the future. With our best wishes Stanislas Fradelizi General Manager

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I was pretty excited about our stay at the Pakbeng Lodge during our overnight on the way to Luang Prabang. The General Manager met us at the dock and helped us with our bags, so far so good! We stayed in the deluxe room on the top of the hill which, after seeing the location of the "superior rooms", I'd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ariel M
Stanislas F, General Manager at Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr, Mrs Ariel M, Thank you very much for your stay at the Pakbeng Lodge. We are very sorry your experience with the Massage was not satisfactory, I do apologise. You stay with us was during some exceptionally cold weather for the region. We did take some steps after your stay, we put some fire heater near all the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We had high hopes for this hotel and was left disappointed. Upon our arrival we found that there was no clear reception but the bar in the restaurant doubled up as a check in desk - this made for a disorganised check in process. The staff were unfriendly and disorganised. Later on when i wanted to order tea, the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fjm4
Stanislas F, General Manager at Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr, Mrs Fjm4, We are sincerely regretful that you did not find the Pakbeng Lodge up to your standards. We do try to please all of our guests. For example, to facilitate the check in, we do not require a passport or for the guest to fill up a registration card. You stay with us was during some exceptionally...

Basel
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Pakbeng lodge is an ok place to spend a night on the way to luang prabang. We had a nice dinner in the restaurant and enjoyed the great views on the mekong. For the price (75 usd) the room was just ok and the breakfast was really poor. I thought that it was unfair that we booked the best rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anak789
Stanislas F, General Manager at Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr, Mrs Anak 789, Thank you very much for your positive review on trip advisor even so your stay with us was less than perfect. First I apologize for not picking you up at the boat pier, especially under the cold rain of December. Your reservation was was made the previous day and we did not let you know...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The was an overnight stay to break up the boat trip from Lunag Prabang to Houey Xay on our way to Chinag Mai. After leaving it to the last minute (ie the night before) we chose this hotel as a bit of an easy option to book via the internet. We were not really expecting too much but were pleasantly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JonFromUk
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Having read earlier reviews of this Lodge we were looking forward to our short overnight stay and were not dissapointed. We were on a private boat for the two day trip down the Mekong River fron Chiang Hong to Luang Parbang and upon arrival at the Lodge were met and greated by the General Manager and then shown to our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 23PeterJ
New York
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We were on the highest level of the multi-level property. Had an incredible view of the Mekong River. Everything was prefect for a stopover. Pick highest level for available rooms. If Internet goes down, ask where the router is. Unplug it it and replug it and hurray. Internet is back on again. In general, in these countries, ask the reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blirola

156 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (138)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pakbeng
0.0 km away
Nakaraj Princess Hotel
Nakaraj Princess Hotel
#1 of 7 in Huay Xai
9 reviews
0.2 km away
Mekong Riverside Lodge
Mekong Riverside Lodge
#2 of 9 in Pakbeng
124 reviews
0.0 km away
Phonemany Guesthouse
Phonemany Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Pakbeng
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Monsovanh Guesthouse
Monsovanh Guesthouse
#2 of 8 in Pakbeng
115 reviews
0.0 km away
BKC Villa
BKC Villa
#4 of 9 in Pakbeng
3 reviews
0.0 km away
Phonevichith Guesthouse
Phonevichith Guesthouse
#2 of 9 in Huay Xai
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sitting by the bank of the Mekong, Pakbeng Lodge is halfway between the World Heritage Town of Luang Prabang, and Huay Xai, the main border crossing between northern Thailand and northern Laos, both towns reachable within a day by cruise.Attached to each of the Lodge's 20 Superior Rooms, 8 Deluxe Rooms, and 2 Suites, is a large terrace overlooking the river.The Lodge is an ideal point of departure for walks in the forest of an hour or a day, towards villages off the tourist roads. (Please see our section on Excursions.) It faces the Mekong Elephant Camp, which is dedicated to the protection of elephants in Laos. There, a wonderful opportunity exists to discover the life of an animal that contributes a strong element to the traditional culture, by participating in a walk or with their morning bath.The Pakbeng Lodge suggests you stay a few days in this protected area far from the beaten tracks. You will appreciate the comfortable atmosphere, the picturesque sunrise and sunset over the Mekong, and the comings and goings of the different boats that dock near the Lodge's beach. Your visit will consist of utmost relaxation but also of unusual encounters- an immersion into traditional Lao life. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge

Address: | Ban Done Khame, Pakbeng, Laos
Region: Laos > Oudomxay Province > Pakbeng
Price Range: $129 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pakbeng Hotel Pakbeng
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Sintra

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a room on an upper floor for beautiful views over the Meekong River”
 of 5 bubbles NottsForestfan, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for air conditioning.”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Deluxe or suite (air conditioned)”
 of 5 bubbles TandTSwitzerland, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have balconies, but second floor is preferable.”
 of 5 bubbles KarolLongmont, 10 May 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the upper building offer the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles FMM56, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay