We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

314 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 144: English reviews
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 14 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. The food in the restaurant was amazing and the staff were very helpful. Unfortunately there was no air conditioning however they have only received electricity recently in the area so it's understandable. It is also quite difficult to get directly from the boat up the mud hill

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarel77
Camille B, General Manager at Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge, responded to this review

Good Morning, I hope that my reply will finds you well. Thank you very much for your warnm comment . I will let know all my staff that you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the Air Conditioning we have it , but only in our Deluxe rooms and Suite , in the top building. I wish you to see you coming...

Melbourne
Reviewed 10 May 2015

Great views of the Mekong river and life across the river ( we were lucky to see elephants walking down to have a bath in the morning with their handlers). Due to a power failure at the top of the complex we were moved from the deluxe rooms which were very nice and had air conditioning but no tea making...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ivors-Trips
Camille B, General Manager at Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ivor, Yes you are right we had a power cut when you came at the lodge , as you must know it happens offently in Laos. That 's why we are equipped with 02 generators , one for each part of Lodge. Unfortunately when you came one of our generators wasn't working at all. When the pose came back...

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2015

We stayed here for just one night during our cruise along the Mekong. For a lodge basically in the middle of nowhere the accommodation is very good. The rooms are of an adequate size and there is a good shower with loads of hot water. The breakfast is excellent although the dishes came in a strange order. The evening meal...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JDB44R
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2015

I stayed 3 nights here and wished I had booked for longer this was not possible due to river cruise schedule. During the day the hotel was very quiet and it was lovely to be able walk into the village and interact with the lovely staff. The food was fantastic and the views from the beautiful rooms lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank oldyearlytravel
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2015

Booked two nights here. The room and view was just perfect. In a deluxe room and it was very comfortable. The staff were very attentive and friendly and the customer service was excellent.The food was delicious and was included in the package. Okay the dinner menu choice was limited but the quality of the food could not be faulted. Without...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DODCOL
Fort St. John, BC
Reviewed 3 February 2015

We stayed at this Hotel during our upriver trip from Luang Prabang to Houay Xay. The hotel sits on nice grounds with a great view over the Mekong River. I had booked and paid for this hotel 2 months in advance of our stay there and when we reached reception to check we were informed that the Suite room that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Apexster
Stanislas F, General Manager at Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Reader, We are happy to announce that during the second week of December 2014 we closed the upper wing of the Pakbeng lodge (Deluxe & Suites) for renovations. - Installation of air/condition units in all the Deluxe rooms. - Modification of all Deluxes & Suites to provide more natural lights in the rooms. - Upgrade of our...

Limoux, France
Reviewed 1 February 2015 via mobile

Overnight stop here whilst travelling down the Mekong to Luang Prabang.Lovely views from our balcony Room did not quite come up to standard There was no chair to sit on and the mattress was the cheap thin ones I expect to find in the cheapest hotel.Though not on our program it appeared our booking was all inclusive.The even meal was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah209
Stanislas F, General Manager at Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Sarah209, Thank you for your review "beautiful location". I can assure you that we do use regular mattresses and bedspring of international standards and not the thin cheap one. Is it possible that you stayed in a different hotel and not the Pakbeng Lodge? For the dinner, we use only fresh ingredients from the local market and our...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 18 January 2015

With our Mekong river cruise came an overnight stay in Pak Beng. We stayed one night in this hotel. There are a number of rooms spread out from the river all the way up to the road. We stayed in the Superior room which is at the river so you have a nice view of the Mekong. The room is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Moisandor
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewed 8 January 2015

I am giving it a 5 because for a hotel in a remote location, the accomodation and service are very good. We were privileged to stay in the upper part of the property with an incredible view of the Mekong at sunset. The rooms are comfortable, clean. The food is very good (separate dining area in the upper and lower...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank charles v
London
Reviewed 3 January 2015

We arrived by boat along the Mekong. The manager greeted us and said we were welcome to a complimentary elephant ride the next morning. We were given a welcome drink and allocated room 207, on the first floor. All the rooms look over the beautiful river and there is a very nice balcony with comfortable loungers. The bed is comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DullDave

184 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (152)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pakbeng
0.0 km away
Nakaraj Princess Hotel
Nakaraj Princess Hotel
#1 of 7 in Huay Xai
10 reviews
0.3 km away
Mekong Riverside Lodge
Mekong Riverside Lodge
#3 of 12 in Pakbeng
139 reviews
0.0 km away
Phonemany Guesthouse
Phonemany Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Pakbeng
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
DP Guest House
DP Guest House
#2 of 12 in Pakbeng
100 reviews
0.0 km away
BKC Villa
BKC Villa
#4 of 12 in Pakbeng
9 reviews
0.0 km away
Thatsaphone Hotel
Thatsaphone Hotel
#162 of 259 in Luang Prabang
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sitting by the bank of the Mekong, Pakbeng Lodge is halfway between the World Heritage Town of Luang Prabang, and Huay Xai, the main border crossing between northern Thailand and northern Laos, both towns reachable within a day by cruise.Attached to each of the Lodge's 20 Superior Rooms, 8 Deluxe Rooms, and 2 Suites, is a large terrace overlooking the river.The Lodge is an ideal point of departure for walks in the forest of an hour or a day, towards villages off the tourist roads. (Please see our section on Excursions.) It faces the Mekong Elephant Camp, which is dedicated to the protection of elephants in Laos. There, a wonderful opportunity exists to discover the life of an animal that contributes a strong element to the traditional culture, by participating in a walk or with their morning bath.The Pakbeng Lodge suggests you stay a few days in this protected area far from the beaten tracks. You will appreciate the comfortable atmosphere, the picturesque sunrise and sunset over the Mekong, and the comings and goings of the different boats that dock near the Lodge's beach. Your visit will consist of utmost relaxation but also of unusual encounters- an immersion into traditional Lao life. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge

Address: | Ban Done Khame, Pakbeng, Laos
Region: Laos > Oudomxay Province > Pakbeng
Price Range: $53 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pakbeng Hotel Pakbeng
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a view of the river”
 of 5 bubbles JeannieD_12, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I believe there are suites and deluxe rooms with separate dining room and perhaps the room facilities are more up market.”
 of 5 bubbles paulineandaland, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“1st floor overlooking the River to see the elephants come down to the river in the morning,”
 of 5 bubbles 15MikeH, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room on an upper floor for beautiful views over the Meekong River”
 of 5 bubbles NottsForestfan, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for air conditioning.”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5