We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel

Save
Share
24 North Road, Retford DN22 7XG England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (166)
Room & Suite (233)
Dining (19)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Retford
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
A superb 18th Century manor house set in over 5 acres of professionally landscaped gardens. Located in the historic market town of Retford, this traditional 63 bedroomed hotel is one of the best in the area.Relax in the comforts of The West Retford Hotel by enjoying a drink in the Chatsworth Bar before dining in the luxurious Orangery Restaurant, with a menu featuring traditional favourites and exciting new dishes.The hotel is ideally situated for business travellers or leisure guests with the A1 and M1 only a short drive away making it perfectly located to explore the local area or further afield.With a newly refurbished ballroom dating back to 1851, with patio doors opening on to a large seating area and six other meeing rooms this hotel is the only choice.Whether it be for a business stay, conference, wedding, function or a leisurely break let us welcome you!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Secured parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
828Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 437
  • 237
  • 98
  • 35
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ian and Sue McGill wrote a review Mar 2021
St. Lucia22 contributions7 helpful votes
Just stayed there for 2nights while attending a family funeral. COVID set up was good . Friendly staff, nothing too much trouble. Food was really good and served in the room, as were any drink requirements. Shame we were not able to experience the nice looking dining room and bar facilities, due to Covid.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
meg1Scotland wrote a review Mar 2021
scotland7 contributions27 helpful votes
Food delivered to room was hot and very good only couple of little quibbles one set cutlery short and no preserves with breakfast. Room was nice also warm but don’t think we had a king size bed or we must be getting bigger
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Best with room on ground floor if any disabilities as there is no lift
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
ppboyle wrote a review Feb 2021
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom95 contributions26 helpful votes
Just stayed there for 10 nights while I was working night shift in the area, COVID Set up was brilliant, really good staff, nothing too much trouble “will be back” if in the area again. Food was really good just wish that I didn’t have to leave for work before the teatime service was available, I managed to get 2 teatime meals and they were worth every penny.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Hatina wrote a review Nov 2020
Rayne, United Kingdom36 contributions15 helpful votes
We stayed here the last weekend before lockdown no.2 and had a wonderful time. We booked a 'King'/Feature room and it was perfect, positioned in the Georgian building to the left of the main house and on the ground floor. It was spotlessly clean and I must give a special mention to the curtains; we really appreciated the thickness of them and how they totally blocked out any light. Covid measures were exemplary and all staff were very friendly and professional. My partner somehow managed to leave his glasses behind and we were phoned straight away. We didn't eat at the hotel but did have a little wander around the main building, which is very beautiful. It is so refreshing to find somewhere that has kept their decor in keeping with the building. There really is nothing worse than going to a period hotel and finding it has been overwhelmed with 21st century blandness! The grounds were truly outstanding and we loved wandering around them, despite it being October/November. I particularly liked that despite they were landscaped they retained a certain wildness! Overall a memorable stay for all the right reasons at a great price.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The feature rooms are fab!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
538w wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions
I hope that this review does not come across as snobby. But I honestly can’t think of a stay in any hotel that was worse than this. Firstly, and not importantly, the decor of the hotel was very outdated and made the whole place feel dirty and depressing. The bedroom decor was mostly velvet with a 60 year old carpet that came with its own impressive odour. This was improved by the fact that it was about 30 degrees Celsius in my room for the whole stay because the radiator was left on for the day before I turned up. The dining area felt like i was waiting for a bus, with all the guests sitting in a row and staring at the walls. The food was inedible and even the wine couldn’t help. Over night I felt extremely unsafe, which I guess wasn’t the fault of the hotel. The guests next to me unfortunately were ‘Awkae’... until about 3 in the morning. There was a steady stream of people going in and out of the room to be ‘awake’ together. Not quite my style, but each to their own - I just ask it be finished early enough for my beauty sleep. Overall - terrible stay, hated it at the time, was searching for other hotels in the area and I actually stayed in work an extra hour to prevent me from having to go back to my room. I will never stay at a best western again but looking back it is hilarious.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Service Manager, General Manager at Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
Responded 4 Nov 2020
Thank you for your second review on TripAdvisor, I'm not sure why you chose to stay at the West Retford which is a former English Manor House, as such it is decorated in keeping with the style of the building. Many of our guests appreciate this and we will continue to refurbish being mindful of this. You stayed in an Executive Room where the carpet is just over 1 year old, I do wish people would be factual when posting comments, we don't have any "60 year old" carpets anywhere in the hotel. I'm pleased the room was nice and warm for you. Unfortunately we can not select our guests and as such we have customers from all walks of life, some goto bed early and some stay awake until the small hours. I note we've not had any complaint from your stay either during or after. Perhaps next time you have an issue in another hotel, notifying someone could help improve your stay instead of posting on TripAdvisor where all you are doing is hurting an industry that is already suffering massively due to Covid-19 Thank you.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 76 - USD 147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western retford, worksop best western, best western worksop
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNottinghamshireRetford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
63
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Kings Park (0.6 km), Majestic Theatre (0.7 km), and Bassetlaw Museum (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Saucy Pizza Co, The Brew Shed, and No 5 Restaurant.
Is Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Retford.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mr Straw's House (11.0 km), Hodsock Priory (9.1 km), and Worksop Priory Church (11.2 km).
Is Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.