We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mount Everest Guest Farm

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Mount Everest Guest Farm
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 130: English reviews
Start your review of Mount Everest Guest Farm
 Click to rate
GC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Thank you for providing a beautiful place for us to spend a night. The setting is so beautiful and I was so happy to see that the chalets are still looking good. We have been to Mt Everest many times but not in the last 10 years - so very pleased to see it still going.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynda G
Fourways, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

A super stay, we could choose which chalet, received a hot, fresh home made bread from Amanda and to top it all, we could stay two nights, paying for one only. What a gift for two old pensioners! This is a place with people and animals as God intended life to be.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabel C
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had the most amazing experience at Mount Everest, with all of the buck, zebra, wildebeest, horses, goats etc running into the field in front of our unit on the Saturday night we were there. It was like being in the Serengeti! Absolutely mind blowing. And the most amazing stars we have ever seen. But, the actual unit certainly requires...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek Ridge R
Amanda W, Owner at Mount Everest Guest Farm, responded to this review

Hi Derek, Thank you for the feedback. We will look into your suggestions. Regards Amanda

Driffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location. We were pleasantly surprised as the lodge was in a great location. we saw zebra, wildebeest just on the drive in. The view from the veranda was excellent. It provided a great start to our South h African trip.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank oldvicar
Amanda W, Owner at Mount Everest Guest Farm, responded to this review

Thank you so much. So glad you enjoyed your stay!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Mount Everest Game Farm was a pleasure to stay in. The accommodation is lovely, well equipped kitchen, peaceful, quiet and secluded. Perfect for a weekend of relaxing with family. There are no hiking trails, but you can view game, plenty of birds, and expansive views under the mountain more than make up for it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine F
Hillcrest, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely secluded chalet, surrounded by wildlife. Perfect if you want to get away for a quite weekend. Chalet well equipped with everything you need. Although there is no electricity the gas equipment is sufficient for all your needs. The only suggestion is to have more lights inside especially in the kitchen and also in the loft room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 3marleneo
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 23 January 2017

A beautiful setting with the mountain behind the cottage and great views over the farm. Lots of farm animals and game to view, great place to walk or mountain bike. Lovely clean mountain air and space. Pet friendly so no one in the family got left out, the dogs were amazed at having horses, zebras, wildebeest and other antelope visiting...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank waynea67
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

So my boyfriend and I had a spur of the moment on Saturday night the 21st. The owners were extremely helpful they even waited till 1am until we got there! What a pleasure! Will definetly go back! Had such an amazing time. Absolutely loved it. They even directed us to the nearest shop for food. Such amazing people! The cabin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tasmin P
Amanda W, Owner at Mount Everest Guest Farm, responded to this review

Thank you so much, Tamsin - we hope to see you again soon. Regards Amanda

Saint-Leu, Reunion Island
Reviewed 21 January 2017

We spent 10 days at Mount Everest Farm. The place was perfect for ower family. So good to be in this quiet place with wild animals around the house. We spend very good time hikking around and climbing on the perfect sandstone of Mount Everest's cliffs and boulders .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank L1663GFphilippeg
Randburg, South Africa
Reviewed 11 January 2017

It was s disappointing stay and we left after 1 day of 4. Nothing like the website activities, apparently we were misinformed by staff. Worst value for money as there are many better places around to visit.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank W3729WIsusanv
Amanda W, Owner at Mount Everest Guest Farm, responded to this review

HI again, Susan, We apologise again and wish that you would have brought these issues to our attention while you were here. Especially since all the activities on the webistevare , in fact, available on the farm, as also stipulated in the information booklet in every room. Regards Amanda

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrismith
14.8 km away
Lala Nathi Country Guesthouse
Lala Nathi Country Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Harrismith
75 reviews
0.0 km away
Riverview Country Inn
Riverview Country Inn
#12 of 18 in Harrismith
2 reviews
29.2 km away
Green Lantern Inn
Green Lantern Inn
#2 of 5 in Van Reenen
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Harrismith Montrose
40.8 km away
Wild Horses Lodge
Wild Horses Lodge
#1 of 9 in Harrismith
140 reviews
39.2 km away
Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Take the road less traveled ... it makes all the difference!Mount Everest Game Farm, formerly known as Eagle Mountain, is nestled between rolling grasslands and majestic mountains in the scenic Eastern Free State. Just 20km from Harrismith, it makes for perfect Harrismith accommodation on your holiday or business travel. Whether you are seeking adventure or peace and quiet, you will find it here. Harrismith is centrally situated between Durban and Harrismith, making it the ideal stopover on your trip. Or make us your base from where exploring the surrounding artistic towns like Clarens, culture - Basotho Cultural Village, Drakensberg Mountains, boer war battlefields and the many art and craft shops and stalls in the area. Accommodation at Mount Everest is in swiss style log cabins or thatched duplex chalets, sleeping from 4 up to 10 guests. There is a camp site with power points at each stand and rustic log cabin style ablutions. The camp site has spectacular rocks to the East and the scenery as far as the eye can see to the west. Enjoy breakfast and dinner in our restaurant or prepare your own in your self-catering chalet. Game drives, rock climbing, paintball, abseiling, rapp jumping, horse riding, hiking, fishing, all can be had at Mount Everest Game Farm. There are more than 200 bolted mountain climbing routes of varying degrees - guide books are available at the establishment. Or have your company conference or team building at Mount Everest. We have a high ropes course, among other teambuilding activities and qualified instructors to guide you every step of the way. Our beautiful wedding venue has recently been completed and can host up to 200 guests, at very competitive rates.Some of the species of game are buffalo, zebra, lechwe, blesbuck, blue- and black wildebeest, springbuck and waterbuck, as well as some meerkat colonies. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mount Everest Guest Farm

Address: Rural Harrismith, Harrismith 9880, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Harrismith
Price Range: $66 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Everest Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Mount Everest Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mount Everest Guest Farm staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some chalets are very secluded - ask how close your chalet is to neighbours”
 of 5 bubbles richardza, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Phone and confirm what you are getting before booking”
 of 5 bubbles brykal, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The log cabins and secluded and lovely.”
  • Log Cabin view
  • Tarentaal Log cabin
  • Log Cabin view
 of 5 bubbles WendyvdbSA, 7 Apr 2015 | Read review
3 of 3