We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tembo Village Resort Watamu

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Tembo Village Resort Watamu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tembo Village Resort Watamu
See the most recent reviews
Showing 66: English reviews
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Excellent service, kind staff and caring owner - who puts your needs first. A son who is protective; to ensure you have the best service to your satisfaction! The price can never be compared to the service - it was exceptional. l will definately come back again and again and again. Thank you. Lilian O.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lilian O
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel has very nice decor, friendly owner and staff. Food was also delicious. The only minuses is that it does not have direct access or view on the sea and internet almost did not work for us. Otherwise it is very nice place for affordable price and I would recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sergej V
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 17 October 2013

i went to tembo this august holiday and i must say it was pretty awesome. the services were efficiently provided we were welcomed very warm-heartedly. the rooms were so spacious and beautifully designed i was blown away. furthermore, the food is delicious and the tranquility of the setting was quite spectacular. my friends and i really enjoyed our time in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tanya y
Nairobi
Reviewed 16 October 2013

After I stayed at Tembo Village in April with my friend, we had such a grand time that I decide to go aback again with my partner and another couple. Bertina was her usual charming self and after just a short call all was booked. We had the whole place to ourselves and we went partying in Watamu and came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
Nairobi
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The hotel is unpretentious from outside, but inside the rooms are set in beautiful gardens. The rooms are comfortable and have lovely character symptomatic of the coastal region. However, the fans are not adequate to keep the rooms cool (particularly when there is a power value) and you do need air conditioning. Unfortunately, we did not realise that air conditioning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DrDuncanBerry
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We needed a weekend getaway from the cold of Nairobi and Tembo Village was perfect. They were able to give us the number of a reliable tuk-tuk driver and give us recommendations on where to go. The rooms were clean and quite comfortable and close to the very well maintained pool. Wi-fi is available now so you can stay plugged...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brennan W
Timbuktu, Mali
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed at Tembo Village for a couple of days before and after our trip up north. It was the first time but definetely not the last time =). Bettina and Peter's place has about 10 rooms, a cozy atmosphere and a great pool. This is definetely the place to relax when visiting Watamu! We prefered a room without a/c...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenegy
Nairobi
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at Tembo village this easter and it was an incredible place. Home away from home. Very beautiful cozy and clean rooms and towels changed every other day. The staff are all extremely helpful and cheerful people. Lara was especially a sweetheart and always available for any inquiries. Keep up the beautiful work at the beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
uk
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at Tembo back in February. It was a short break as a couple as part of a family holiday in Kenya with our baby twins. The rooms are clean and simple making good use of local materials and furniture. The bed was huge with mossie nets and we had a fan which was perfectly adequate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucky_meUk
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Having read the very positive reviews, we were amazed with the poor staff attention, state of the room and quality of food that we were served with during our 3 night stay. The room was very small, the fan in the very very hot room was not working all the time because of power cuts and lack of back-up. When...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JanV573
tinakenyaWatamu, Owner at Tembo Village Resort Watamu, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. Mostly, we are very surprised by your feedback as we were never approached during your stay with your concerns; we would have immediately made provision for you to receive whatever was requested. Living in Nairiobi, i believe you know all about the climate at the coast in high season. You booked a room...

132 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (99)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
1.8 km away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#1 of 25 in Watamu
233 reviews
0.3 km away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 25 in Watamu
671 reviews
2.6 km away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#16 of 25 in Watamu
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
3.0 km away
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Turtle Bay Beach Club
#10 of 25 in Watamu
839 reviews
0.4 km away
Jacaranda Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tembo Village is a family-run boutique Hotel with 11 rooms and self catering apartments. The small Hotel is build in Swahili style on one acre of property, set in beautifully landscabed gardens, second road to Kenya`s internationally acclaimed Watamu National Marine Park. It offers guests an atmosphere of quality comfort, tranquility and privacy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tembo Village Resort Watamu

Address: Jacaranda Road | P.O. Box 504, Watamu 504, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Price Range: $56 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Tembo Village Resort Watamu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tembo Village Resort Watamu staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Tembo Village Resort Watamu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms next to the pool are bigger and they have A/C. They also have a bigger lounge area with comfortable day beds for a nice read as it also has a mini-library.”
 of 5 bubbles 795kuik, 14 Apr 2015 | Read review
“we had a room with air conditioning( works excellent), each room has mosquito nets on the windows, so the rooms are free of mosquitoes”
 of 5 bubbles Wasylczyszyn_k, 8 Mar 2014 | Read review
“all rooms are well furnished!”
 of 5 bubbles liliano666, 4 Nov 2013 | Read review
“There is a beautiful beach just a walk away and a snake park a minute away for those interested.”
 of 5 bubbles irenem0, 16 Oct 2013 | Read review
“Apartment is great!”
 of 5 bubbles colinf471, 7 Aug 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay