We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Margaree Riverview Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Margaree Riverview Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Margaree Riverview Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 133: English reviews
Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 29 July 2016

We knew from other reviews that this was a basic place. The prices are good, so what can you expect? We got a so-called housekeeping unit which was converted into 3 large rooms and a "kitchenette". That translates into a hotplate, 2 tiny pots, and get this, a bar sink, so the pots or the water bottles can't fit under...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SeaLogan
Edmonton
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Room was clean, reception was friendly. Many things required fixing. Deadbolt didn't lock, many light bulbs burnt out, shower was barely a trickle. Would have taken an excessively long time to fill a bathtub. Mattress and pillows were hard. Walls were very thin and could easily hear or neighbors. But, the room was clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caretell
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

My wife and I overnight while in transit through the Cabot Trail. We booked fairly last-minute so we have limited availability from most places nearby and booked the Riverview Inn for our accommodation that night. As other reviewers have said, you get what you pay for. We were not expecting too much in the way of updated furniture and modern...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eyoungr
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Arrived with confirmation to be told it wasn't available, Sent to a cabin that smelled and the bed hadn't even been made. Horrible rude owner. No apology for confirmed room not available. Told the beds would be made and it was that or we could have our money back. We left after making sure he cancelled our charge card receipt...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mimipoppa
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 26 July 2016

stayed at this place one night, and you get what they advertise. the end basically, it's a not BS place, not far from town and a beach, close to a store (also liquor store). has an outdoor pool, selection of rooms (some better than others) but it's cheap compared to most. no food available on premises, privacy as it's a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank merlineaton
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We stayed at this motel because of the fairly good Tripadvisor reviews and we regret it. The room and hotel were very dated (think Bates Motel), and it was the worst sleep I've had in a motel in recent memory. The mattress springs were digging into my ribs all night. Without an air conditioner, and high humidity, we relied on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cate_106
Werger, Owner at Margaree Riverview Inn, responded to this review

First of all I think you don't have a lot of experience with hotels. What do you expect? Paying $ 69.- + Tax in high season and want to have a 5 star experience? Compare our rooms to other facilities. We do offer various type of rooms: Our cheap budget rooms with or without AC, our standard rooms with or...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 18 July 2016

This is a budget kind of Inn, there's no breakfast. We didn't have much expectation but it turned out to be quite a pleasant stay for the money we paid for. Room was spacious and clean, all things functional. Free WIFI, sometimes didn't work but mostly can connect.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PablosDad
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 7 July 2016

The hotel is located right at the entrance to the Cabot trail! Stayed in one of the two-bedroom suites (which is actually a house with a tiny kitchen space, a nice living room with a fire place, two bedrooms each with their own attached bathrooms). Beautiful views all around and great value for the money spent. We also enjoyed playing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prathima S
Reviewed 6 July 2016

The room was very clean. The bed was comfortable. The property is run down with many features not functional. The name of the property is riverview, but there is certainly no beautiful view from your room in any direction.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pat D
San Antonio, TX
Reviewed 6 July 2016

On a recent motorcycle trip through Canada I spent an night at the Margaree Riverview Inn. It was the best night's sleep that I've had on the trip. The inn is back away from the road and gloriously quiet. Because both the front door window and rear window are screened, there was a fine cross breeze that, combined with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Batavicus

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
2:51
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaree Forks
37.2 km away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
581 reviews
68.3 km away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
36.6 km away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Duck Cove Inn
Duck Cove Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Harbour
40 reviews
43.9 km away
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort
1.8 km away
Cajun Cedar Log Cottages
Cajun Cedar Log Cottages
#1 of 3 in Margaree Forks
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Halfway between Baddeck and Cheticamp on the Cabot Trail our Inn is ideally situated to explore Cape Breton Island. Only minutes to the coastline of the Cabot Trail. Daytrips to Fort Louisbourg, golfing in Cheticamp, Baddeck, Dundee or Ingonish. Close to the entrance of the Cape Breton National Highland Park. Our property is situated on a hill overlooking the two rivers South West Margaree and North East Margaree joining in Margaree Forks. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Margaree Riverview Inn

Address: 21045 Route 19 | Junction Cabot Trail, Margaree Forks, Nova Scotia B0E 2A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Margaree Forks
Price Range: $71 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Margaree Riverview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Margaree Riverview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margaree Hotel Harbour
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Margaree Riverview Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Come out of hotel and enjoy beautiful mountain views”
 of 5 bubbles 730tushars, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the rooms down the hillside to the right.”
  • The view from the hotel, across the river and down the Cabot Trail.
 of 5 bubbles FrankBainbridge, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“avoid carpeted rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Blue-J-traveller, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“You can choose a room with AC or a fan, really!”
 of 5 bubbles 545paulj, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms side-by-side have connecting doors. We didn't know this, but you can try asking when you book (call the inn directly).”
 of 5 bubbles 927crisx, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5