We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
05/11/2017 06/11/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The George Hotel

    Hexham, Chollerford, Hexham NE46 4EW, England
    011 44 844 499 5710
    Hotel website
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    05/11/201706/11/2017
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    USD 74*
    USD 74*
    USD 74*
    Traveller (223)
    Room & Suite (46)
    Pool & Beach (7)
    Overview
    • Excellent19%
    • Very good36%
    • Average24%
    • Poor13%
    • Terrible8%
    Travellers talk about
    “half board” (24 reviews)
    “hadrians wall” (52 reviews)
    “north tyne” (21 reviews)
    Free Internet
    Breakfast Buffet
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Suites
    Bar/Lounge
    Fitness centre
    Pets Allowed
    Spa
    Meeting Rooms
    3.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    5 Nov.6 Nov.
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      USD 74
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      USD 74
      View Deal
    • View details
      USD 74
      View Deal
    View all 14 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (709)
    There are newer reviews for The George Hotel
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    201 - 205 of 706 reviews

    Reviewed 4 November 2015 via mobile

    Stayed here over the weekend and had a really nice time. The hotel is in a lovely position, great views over the river and set in pretty gardens. Our room had recently been refurbished so was modern and very clean, great bathroom and shower. The...More

    Thank Johnatdriff
    Response from GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George HotelResponded 21 November 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and in particular the breakfast buffet, that is a new addition so we are pleased to hear it is working well. Once again thank you for your...More

    Reviewed 1 November 2015

    This was our second visit this year. Nice to see that some refurbishing work had been done. The staff, mainly East European, were friendly and helpful. Although the dining room was busy, due to a Shearings group staying, service was, on the whole, quick and...More

    Thank Clairerose2013
    Response from GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George HotelResponded 21 November 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your returning break with us and we look forward to seeing you again. I shall inform Fran of your kind words. In regards to the buffet we...More

    Reviewed 25 October 2015

    Nice, clean room. The view is a beauty, and the leisure club is a dream for a relaxing swim. I went twice, once before a good nights sleep, and once for a morning swim. Within walking distance of Hadrian's Wall, with great dinner accommodations in...More

    Thank Xelathe
    Response from GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George HotelResponded 29 October 2015

    Thank you for leaving such an honest and positive review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We are glad that you made the most of the leisure facilities, this time of year there is nothing better than a heated pool on a wet...More

    Reviewed 18 October 2015

    Recently stayed in room 317, lovely large room, duel aspect over looking river and a great base for visiting Hadrians Wall and Roman forts. However despite large bathroom one of the most badly designed we have stayed in. The wc was up against the wall...More

    Thank Jayne M
    Response from GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George HotelResponded 29 October 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I have passed your comments regarding the bathroom lay out to our Area Manager and this will be looked into. We do have a coach at the hotel on a Monday till Friday however the...More

    Reviewed 18 October 2015

    This was a really beautiful hotel that has sadly not been updated for too long. There were silly things like lightbulbs not working and peeling paintwork The situation is amazing - right on the river bank where we sat and watched the salmon jumping. There...More

    Thank JackieEdmonds
    Response from GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George HotelResponded 29 October 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I am sorry that you feel it has been too long that we have done any work on the hotel however I can assure you this is not the case. We had 8 bedrooms refurbished...More

    Langley Castle Hotel
    1,163 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Langley-on-Tyne
     
    Best Western Beaumont Hotel
    161 reviews
    #3 of 6 hotels in Hexham
     
    The Black Bull Hotel
    145 reviews
    #2 of 2 hotels in Wark
     
    Battlesteads Hotel
    1,168 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Wark
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Free Internet
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
    • Spa
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
    • Spa
    • Heated pool
    • Indoor pool
    Details
    • Price range
    • USD 69 - USD 160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Suites
    • Number of rooms
    • 43
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Northumberland >
    • Hexham >
    • Chollerford
    • Also Known As
    • George Hotel Chollerford ,
    • George Hotel Hexham
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (223)
    Room & Suite (46)
    Pool & Beach (7)
    Dining (6)
    Hotel & Grounds (146)
    Bathroom (38)
    Family and Play Areas (4)
    Nearby
    Battlesteads Hotel
    1,168 reviews
    8.66 km away
     
    Best Western Beaumont Hotel
    161 reviews
    6.82 km away
     
    Langley Castle Hotel
    1,163 reviews
    11.77 km away
     
    The Black Bull Hotel
    145 reviews
    8.75 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    The Crown Inn
    184 reviews
    .87 km away
    Barrasford Arms
    27 reviews
    2.75 km away
    The Red Lion
    134 reviews
    5.34 km away
    The Rat Inn
    446 reviews
    6.09 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Hexham Abbey
    716 reviews
    6.70 km away
    Chesters Roman Fort
    498 reviews
    .81 km away
    Border History Museum
    48 reviews
    6.73 km away
    Hexham Old Gaol
    29 reviews
    6.77 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    margaretmY5474AG
    22 October 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from STUART S | Reviewed this property |
    There is a Beauty Therapy.
    0
    Votes
    michelle19650
    24 September 2016|
    AnswerShow all 6 answers
    Response from GeorgeChollerford | Property representative |
    Some 10 months later for answer, better late than never.. the answer is yes, you can bring a pooch though as we have a limited amount of dog friendly rooms so it on a first come first served basis, so to avoid disappointment... More
    0
    Votes
    helen01522
    10 August 2016|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from tchell2016 | Reviewed this property |
    Nearest shop is in village,15 minutes walk,or some snacks in garage opposite,not alot round hotel,go to Hexham on bus,5 miles,or get taxi,£10
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "no lift, anyone with mobility problems should ask for a low room"
    Read review
    "go somewhere else"
    Read review
    "319 is a garden view"
    Read review
    "Find another option, maybe a B&B."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing