We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Derbyshire Derby

Booking.comUSD 75*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 86*
USD 75*
USD 86*
USD 75*
USD 86*
USD 75*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
The Derbyshire Derby
The Derbyshire Derby
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,500 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Derbyshire Derby
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,495: English reviews
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

First time here good facilities nice spa area rooms slightly dated but big and pretty clean for a large hotel and large turnaround of people, stayed in much worse.food was good fantastic help your self breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bdgibson665
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear bdgibson665, I am pleased you had a really good stay and your comments regarding cleanliness and friendliness of the team will be shared with the staff, I do hope we can welcome you back very soon for another good stay and do not hesitate to contact us directly for special offers. Kind Regards Anna

Walsall
Reviewed 1 week ago

Really Lovely Hotel. Ideal location for visiting the beautiful Derbyshire Dales. Plenty of free parking, spacious and. spotlessly clean with very comfortable beds. Delightful food and exceptionally helpful and friendly staff. The pool ,steam room, sauna and spa areas are well equipped and beautiful. Stayed for just two nights, wish I could have stayed longer, but looking forward to returning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chrissieann
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Chrissienn, Thank you for your kind complimentary review. It is so nice to share your comments with the team and we do take all feedback extremely seriously. It is great to hear you will be returning very soon and myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back soon. The Peak District offers so much so I am...

Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited this hotel recently, great food and accommodation, Fantastic leisure facilitys, hotel ideally situated a minute from the M1 rooms spacious and clean, with the McGlen Arthur shopping outlet a 5 minute walk away..Location very quiet and peaceful. Staff all very proffesional and courteous, and helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank val r
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Val r Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, I am so pleased you had a excellent stay and your kind comments regarding the team. Feedback is so important to us and I will ensure your comments are shared. I hope we can welcome you back again very soon. Kind Regards Anna

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here for one night for the first time with work on Monday 15th May in room 249 and I wouldn't stay here again. First of all I registered my debit card through our online booking system when booking the room only to get there and be told that if I wanted to pre-authorise a card for spending that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mcdoug69
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Mcdoug69, I am sincerely disappointed to read your review and dissatisfaction with your stay. As you can see from this site we receive so many very positive comments. We do not take debit cards for authorizations as this causes issues for guests whereby funds are held and the release period time is lengthy. This is common practice in most...

Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very much enjoyed our weekend at this hotel. We had a good sized room with disabled facilities in the "bathroom" (no bath but very good walk in shower). I have a mobility problem but don't need a wheelchair... if I had there would have been plenty of room for one. The breakfast was very good... although a little crowded, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maryhazel
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Maryhazel, Thank you for your kind comments and review of your recent stay. I am so pleased you enjoyed your weekend at The Derbyshire. I do hope we can welcome you back in the very near future for another great stay. Kind Regards Anna

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Derbyshire is an excellent hotel for special occasions. I made a visit to join a celebration of my nieces 60th birthday and it proved a very enjoyable evening. Stayed over night and was given an excellent bedroom with breakfast included. The drinks however were quite costly.The Derbyshire is very central for all the many attractions close by so would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack R
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Jack R, Thank you for commenting regarding your stay for your Nieces birthday celebration. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and break. We are perfectly located for so many attractions and the Peak District is on the doorstep. Breakfast can be busy at peak times especially at the weekends when guests do tend to come down later...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Second visit here to see our family. Lunch in the bar was quite nice but expensive for what was on offer, 3 glasses of house wine cost £19.05! Front of house is attractive but becomes less so away from Reception area. Corridors aren't well lit and rooms look tired, albeit clean. Had a swim in the pool which was crowded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Linda C, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I am sorry there was confusion with your breakfast charges. My team have confirmed to me that your reservations were booked room only and the booking channel you used had booked both rooms with 2 guests per room. The add on breakfast charges were applied at check in...

Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was perfect (Twin Beds) plenty of space. 10/10 The Staff were all friendly and helpful.10/10 The food was the best of quality and lots of it too.10/10 We spent a lot of time in the Pool,the staff there were excellent 10/10

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valerie S
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Valerie S I am so pleased you had a fantastic getaway at The Derbyshire. Feedback is so important to us and I will ensure this is shared and celebrated with the team. Kind Regards Anna

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed on a bed breakfast a d evening meal stay.room was typical modern hotel style. We had to eat in the bar area as the hotel and restaurant were fully booked but this didn't prove to be a problem as the menu was extensive and we'll presented food was served quickly and with a pleasant Smile.The children's menu was excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndrewMarilyn
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear AndrewMarilyn, Thank you for your kind review and complimentary comments regarding the service and extensive choice on our menus. I sincerely hope we can welcome your family back again in the future for another great stay. Please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime. Kind Regards Anna

Birmingham ,England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Derbyshire is a Principal Hayley hotel, set in a convenient location just off the M1/A38 in Derbyshire. It's well placed for the tourist areas of Matlock, Bakewell, Chesterfield, Buxton etc. Standard rooms are to a very high standard of furnishings and amenities, with free Wi Fi. Upgrades are obtainable to luxury rooms but quite frankly not necessary unless for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David95
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear David95 Thank you for your kind comments and review of your recent stay, I am so pleased you enjoyed you break and able to visit some of the close by attractions. We are located within easy reach of the Peak District. I will personally ensure your feedback is shared with the team and I do hope I can welcome...

309 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (186)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (106)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (115)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Double Room (17)
Viewed
Superior Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)
Viewed
Twin Room (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Normanton
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Normanton
577 reviews
17.7 km away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,335 reviews
15.9 km away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
722 reviews
8.8 km away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
1,154 reviews
17.7 km away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family-friendly and very comfortable, you'll feel relaxed from the moment you arrive. Near the heart of the Peak district where you will find delightful walks and spectacular views. Chatsworth House, fun-packed thrills of Alton Towers, and extensive shopping at East Midlands Outlet are all nearby. Enjoy our modern gym, indoor pool, spa bath and optional health & beauty treatments. Beautiful suites available for meetings and events, from conferences to weddings. If you are planning a trip abroad, the hotel is just 30 minutes from East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Derbyshire Derby

Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Price Range: $105 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derbyshire Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your The Derbyshire Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton
Derbyshire South Normanton
The Derbyshire Derby South Normanton, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Derbyshire Derby staff and other travellers.
33 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (33)

Questions? Get answers from The Derbyshire Derby staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 238 has a very soft bed so another time I would specify .”
35Best, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“Being in room next to m1 was very quite.”
bdgibson665, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms seem to be similar. Quiet location”
Chrissieann, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms are good.”
643jackr, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“If you are taking dinner, reserve your table at a time to suit well in advance or be prepared to be disappointed.”
David95, 14 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 75* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUSD 75
PricelineUSD 75
CancelonUSD 86
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates