We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Derbyshire Derby

Booking.comUSD 75*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 75*
USD 75*
USD 75*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
The Derbyshire Derby
The Derbyshire Derby
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,500 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,495: English reviews
Start your review of The Derbyshire Derby
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have stayed here a few times now. It been around a year since my last visit. large free carpark, polite and efficient check in. This was the hottest day of the year and i was a little apprehensive as the rooms can be a little warm (no AC). However it may have been as I was in a room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy T
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our second visit, bringing family this time to sample this well-run hotel in an interesting area. The staff are its greatest strength, everything delivered with a smile and nothing too much trouble - very rare these days! Our party of 6 , who stayed during a very busy week-end , noted the high standards of service which was maintained despite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 35Best
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear 35Best, Thank you for your kind comments and review of your stay. I am so pleased to read and share you experience with the team. Training and service is the most fundamental part of what we do and I sincerely appreciate you recognizing this. I do hope we can welcome you back very soon. Kind Regards Anna

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Checking in was an issue I stood for 20 minutes and I was the one being checked in. System glitch I think she said. Wedding guessed behind me some would of waited over 40 minutes to get checked in. I must say though the reception team were very nice and professional even though things went wrong. The room was what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne J W
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear adrienne J W Thank you for your constructive feedback and comments, I am pleased overall you had a good stay and that you would stay again in the future. Training is important and this is a ongoing task so we continually improve our service and standards. I hope we can welcome you again very soon and please do not...

Norton Canes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed with an offer from Travelzoo. The customer service was excellent everywhere in the hotel. The leisure facilities were quite small but hardly anyone was using them so it was not a problem. I thought the food in the restaurant was very good. The room was typical for a business hotel and the whole hotel was spotlessly clean and had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1949Tony
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear 1949Tony, Thank you for your kind comments and feedback, I am so pleased our customer service outshone and this does really represent what we are about at The Derbyshire. I hope we can welcome you for another short break very soon. Kind Regards Anna

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

So very easy to find just off the Motorway, reception staff were lovely. The hotel was beautiful, food in the restaurant was good although the menu was not extensive what we had was well presented, hot and delicious. Breakfast was well organised and plentiful and the late check out was very much appreciated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jerseygirljo
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear jerseygirljo Thank you for your comments regarding the team and facilities at the hotel, I am very pleased you enjoyed your meals and breakfast. I will ensure your feedback is shared with the team. I sincerely hope we can welcome you back very soon. Kind Regards Anna

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We always enjoy our stay at the Derbyshire and we try to stay for a special occasion. We like the fact it is close to the designer outlet and the motorway. We recommend this hotel to friends and family all the time. A great place to relax and have some retail therapy too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark and Lisa C
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Mark and Lisa C Thank you for your kind comments and review. I am so pleased you celebrated your wedding anniversary with us at Th Derbyshire. The designer outlet is very close and as you mentioned perfect for some retail therapy. I hope we see you again soon. Kind Regards Anna

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Room was very basic and dull, gym was very small and pool was so small you couldn't actually have a swim. Food and drinks are overpriced, bar manager was extremely grumpy and rude. The reception staff were so robotic I thought I was talking to a computer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita G
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Anita G, I am saddened to read your review regarding your recent stay, as you can read on this review site we have so many positive comments commending the team and this is one of the key factors which really does stand out. Please do feel free to contact me directly at the hotel should you wish to discuss...

MELKSHAM
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here on a Travel Zoo offer mid-week not knowing quite what to expect but needn't have worried as everything was wonderful from the perfectly fine bedroom with big bathroom through to the friendly, helpful staff, everyone from the cleaning staff to the restaurant staff (especially them!) were cheerful and professional. The breakfast menu was large, buffet style and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TILLY B
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Tilly B Thank you for your fantastic review and comments regarding the team and facilities, I am very pleased you had a fabulous stay and as you mentioned the hotel is perfectly located for many attractions in the peak district. I hope we can welcome you again soon to explore more of this lovely area. Kind Regards Anna

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel must be one of the cleanest I have ever been to. Friendly staff and amazing quality food. Not to mention the gorgous pool complete with lounge chairs. However the bed my father slept on was not very comfortable. On the whole though, we had an excellent time .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beckyisawesome123
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Beckyyisawesome123 Thank you for your lovely review and comments, I am thrilled you had a excellent stay and that you enjoyed your meals and excellent quality of food. I will ensure your comments are shared with the team and especially the Housekeeping team who work extremely hard to maintain high standards throughout the hotel. Kind Regards Anna

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here on 20 May for one night in Travelzoo special offer. Be prepared to queue!! We queued to check in for almost 20 mins. I mentioned it to guy on reception that more reception staff were needed but he brushed off my comment by saying there were only two computers so even if they had more staff it wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DH3866
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear DH3866, Thank you for your review of your recent stay, I am sorry you experienced a wait to check in, at busy peak times at check in our teams do work hard to efficiently check in all guests in the right manner without rushing anyone. All feedback is taken seriously and we do review this as a Management Team....

309 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (186)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (106)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (115)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Double Room (17)
Viewed
Superior Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)
Viewed
Twin Room (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Normanton
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Normanton
577 reviews
17.7 km away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,335 reviews
15.9 km away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
722 reviews
8.8 km away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
1,154 reviews
17.7 km away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family-friendly and very comfortable, you'll feel relaxed from the moment you arrive. Near the heart of the Peak district where you will find delightful walks and spectacular views. Chatsworth House, fun-packed thrills of Alton Towers, and extensive shopping at East Midlands Outlet are all nearby. Enjoy our modern gym, indoor pool, spa bath and optional health & beauty treatments. Beautiful suites available for meetings and events, from conferences to weddings. If you are planning a trip abroad, the hotel is just 30 minutes from East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Derbyshire Derby

Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Price Range: $105 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derbyshire Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your The Derbyshire Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton
Derbyshire South Normanton
The Derbyshire Derby South Normanton, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Derbyshire Derby staff and other travellers.
33 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (33)

Questions? Get answers from The Derbyshire Derby staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 238 has a very soft bed so another time I would specify .”
35Best, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“Being in room next to m1 was very quite.”
bdgibson665, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms seem to be similar. Quiet location”
Chrissieann, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms are good.”
643jackr, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“If you are taking dinner, reserve your table at a time to suit well in advance or be prepared to be disappointed.”
David95, 14 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 75* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUSD 75
Hotels.comUSD 75
PricelineUSD 75
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates