We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast

93 Old Burleigh Rd, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (24)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#31 of 49 apartments in Broadbeach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
San Mateo on Broadbeach offers fully self-contained one and two bedroom apartments with ocean, pool or garden views. Unwind in your spacious, comfortable Broadbeach holiday apartment and take in stunning scenery from the private balcony. Treat yourself to the hot tub, heated pool and poolside BBQ with equipped resort-style amenities for all the family. San Mateo can accommodate all your holiday needs, no matter the occasion.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Airport transportation
Spa
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Secured parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Car hire
Massage
Salon
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English

Location

93 Old Burleigh Rd, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218 Australia
San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast
57Reviews3Q+A8Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 35
  • 14
  • 2
  • 4
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Grant T wrote a review July 2023
Tasmania, Australia1 contribution
The place itself is great, great location, great rooms and great view. Shara in reception was so nice. Only issue is her partner Ben. He seems to be the caretaker of the place. Very arrogant and not at all helpful. He made comments and unwelcome gestures toward my daughter when she was sun baking in the pool area. Very much a disappoint at the end of such a great holiday. Thanks Shar for your hospitality. Loose the goose you’ll be better off.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanmateo Apartments, Owner at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast
Responded 22 July 2023
Grant, firstly I have checked all our guest bookings and we didn’t have a Grant stay with us in May or over the past 6 months, secondly I myself definitely did not deal with you during your so called stay with us at San Mateo Apartments. I do not appreciate your inappropriate comments towards Ben that you have made in this review, this review seems to be a personal attack towards Ben along with false accusations been made. People such as yourself need to be careful when writing fake reviews as they can be used against you as defamation of character and business. This review will be reported. Shara Business Owner San Mateo Apartments
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ancsi50 wrote a review Feb 2023
Melbourne, Australia108 contributions216 helpful votes
+1
This is a quite well located but dated apartment building with a pool and a spa, within 2 minutes walk form a nice beach, 5 minutes from a small supermarket a a couple of restaurant, 20 minutes walk from the centre of Broadbeach. That's all the good things about San Mateo. Reception was not open for the whole 7 days we stayed there. The whole apartment is dated. The welcome pack for the entire week contained washing powder for one wash, one use of the dishwasher, and one packet of dishwashing liquid, 2 rolls of toilet paper. Bowles and plates were chipped, towels were not changed. As none of this was mentioned on the website, we were very much surprised. The place charges like a hotel, but does not provide any service. The lounge furniture are dirty, dining chairs are rusty, the bedside tables are aged and worn out, the carpet is torn. Fans were and there was mould on the laundry ceiling, which was sprayed with exit mould when I mentioned it to the manager. The internet provided run out after 2 days, and none of us were playing computer games. The place and service was very disappointing. We paid hotel prices for an accommodation I can only rate at 2.5 stars– never again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanmateo Apartments, Owner at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast
Responded 22 July 2023
Hi Anita, Both Ben and myself spoke to you in person on multiple occasions to address the daily complaints you had about your stay. I do however find it quiet assuming that you mention our service was poor as you were so thankful for all our assistance that you even offered Ben a beer for all his help. Cleanliness of our apartments is of a high standard as you can see from previous guest reviews and feedback. This is why i addressed the small mould spots in the laundry immediately when it was brought to my attention, yes we use exit mould for this as that is the quickest solution (the humid conditions along with the air-con and dryer constantly going in the laundry can cause mould). As we fall under the banner of "fully self-contained apartments" which is clearly stated in our description and room services completed on stays over 7 nights (we are not a hotel) we supply guests with a starter pack and then guests need to purchase additional supplies as you wish, this is standard for majority apartments across the Gold Coast. Thank you San Mateo Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jane & Lauren wrote a review Aug 2022
Sydney, Australia8 contributions14 helpful votes
I would definitely stay there again. They were able to accommodate my out of hours check in which was such a relief. It is a convenient location across the road from the beach with a stunning balcony view to chill out and watch the ocean. As the building was well secured I felt safe. Which is great, particularly for a woman on her own. What’s more the off the street parking was a bonus. My only qualm was there were a few issues with the TV reception where it kept cutting out, which was a bit of a bummer on State of Origin night but it didn’t affect my overall holiday. I would definitely recommend this place and hope to be back again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanmateo Apartments, Owner at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast
Responded 27 Aug 2022
Hi and thank you for your excellent review and feedback of our apartments, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We definitely hope to welcome you again. Take care! Kind Regards, San Mateo Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
stephenarchibald wrote a review Nov 2021
Gold Coast, Australia1 contribution
I stayed at San Mateo for over a month. It is a perfect location not far from Surfers Paradise or Broadbeach main hubs with a great bowling club a minute away. Rooms are sunny clean with ocean views n nice breezes through out, very comfy bed. The hosts are great, anything you need they are there, they also respect your privacy and are not over bearing as some places i have stayed. i really enjoyed my stay and would recommend
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanmateo Apartments, Owner at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast
Responded 22 Nov 2021
Hi Stephen, Thank you for your excellent review of our apartments, it was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us for over a month and we are glad you enjoyed it. We hope that you have settled into your new place nicely. Take care! Kind Regards, Shara & Ben
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sue B wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
I’ve stayed in both a 2 bedroom and one bedroom apartment. Both were spotless, spacious and had everything you need for an extended or short stay and had sea views. Shara and Ben keep the grounds immaculate. There is a large bbq area and lovely swimming pool. The beach is around 80 metres away. It is a small complex and has a personal feel to it. You don’t feel like you are in a crowded resort. The position is a little further on, but easy walking distance from the main restaurants/ entertainment/ shopping area of Broadbeach. This makes it more peaceful. One block away is a small set of shops with a fish and chip shop, 2 cafes, a bottle shop and a great supermarket. Oh and the bowls club for meals. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanmateo Apartments, Owner at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast
Responded 18 May 2021
Hi Sue, Thank you for taking the time out to leave our apartments a fabulous review, it was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us on multiple occasions. We hope your enjoying Bali. Take care! Kind Regards, Shara & Ben
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Deanb wrote a review Feb 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Had a brilliant stay for 10 days,shara and Ben are very nice people and do a excellent job the place was so clean and everything worked perfect we will be back. Location was perfect cafe and mini supermarket with in 200 metres
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanmateo Apartments, Owner at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast
Responded 5 Feb 2021
Hi Dean, Thank you to you and your family for choosing to stay with us at San Mateo, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We can't wait to welcome you back. Take care! Kind Regards, Shara & Ben
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Susan C wrote a review Jan 2021
7 contributions1 helpful vote
We did have a lovely stay. The unit was in pristine condition on arrival and we immediately felt at home. It had everything we needed. Our balcony was large and had some views of the ocean. The gardens, pool and surrounds were extremely well kept and enjoyable. It’s proximity to the beach and other necessities was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanmateo Apartments, Owner at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast
Responded 26 Jan 2021
Thank you for taking the time out to leave our apartments a review after your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for making note of the condition of our apartments and grounds, we try our best to keep everything in excellent condition for our guests . We hope to welcome you back to San Mateo again in the future. Take care! Kind Regards, Shara and Ben
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Art R wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
My partner and I stayed there for 6 weeks and we can’t say enough how wonderful Ben and Shara made us feel. They’re hard working couple who took pride in maintaining this beautiful complex. The service is second to none and the rooms are kept exceptionally clean and neat. I look forward to recommending this accommodation to my friends and family.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanmateo Apartments, Owner at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast
Responded 26 Jan 2021
Hi Arthur, Thank you so much for taking the time out to leave such a fabulous review for Ben and I. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and your generosity at the end of your stay meant so much to Ben and myself and we can't thank you enough. We hope your enjoying your new place. Take care! Kind Regards, Shara and Ben
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ianproctor62754 wrote a review Feb 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom1 contribution
I've been visiting these apartments for a decade and they never disappoint and nor do the people in charge of the place. They are always pleasant and accommodating with cleanliness paramount, and it is a venue close to all amenities in a great spot..
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: The apartment was spacious, clean, had a great view and covered every possible need.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanmateo A, Manager at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast
Responded 4 Feb 2020
Hi Ian, Firstly we would like to thank you for been a repeat guest of San Mateo for the past 12 years, you are an absolute pleasure to have around and we hope we get to welcome you back for many more years to come. See you next year :) Kind Regards, Shara & Ben
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
missymoo125 wrote a review Dec 2019
Melbourne, Australia6 contributions3 helpful votes
It was a lovely get away with 2 friends. We went for the football . Has some little shops nearby close to the water and transport.. we stayed in 2 bedroom apartment . Had balcony overlooking pool and could see beach. Was very reasonable in price.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanmateo A, Manager at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast
Responded 9 Dec 2019
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time out to leave our apartments a fantastic review, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we get the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Shara & Ben
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Broadbeach area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$171 - AU$253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandGold CoastBroadbeach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SAN MATEO APARTMENTS GOLD COAST (AU$172): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Broadbeach) - Photos of Apartment - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast
Which popular attractions are close to San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast?
Nearby attractions include Cascade Gardens (0.4 km), Queensland Korean War Memorial (0.4 km), and RQAS Royal Queensland Art Society Gold Coast (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Metro Coffee, Chiangmai Thai, and Sushi Train.
Are there opportunities to exercise at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast have airport transportation?
Yes, San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Broadbeach.
Are any cleaning services offered at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Post Office Gallery (3.8 km).