Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Hermitage Hotel

89 Terrace Road, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7999 New Zealand
Traveller (1969)
Room & Suite (655)
The Hermitage Hotel
Videos (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Wed, 1 May
No prepayment needed
AU$409
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
Get rewarded with One Key
AU$408
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
Get rewarded with One Key
AU$408
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#2 of 2 hotels in Mt. Cook Village
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
From an intrepid journey through glacial valleys to a mouth-watering culinary dining adventure, the Hermitage Hotel is the perfect 'base camp' to discover your Peak Experience. Choose from premium hotel rooms, motel units or cozy chalets. Add world-class activities such as Glacier Explorers, Tasman Valley 4WD Tours, Big Sky Stargazing, Encounter Day Walks, scenic flights or the visual extravaganza of the Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre and you have a unique, year-round alpine adventure perfect for the family holiday or your next romantic getaway.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Boating
Hiking
Highchairs available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Street parking
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Skiing
Patio
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun terrace
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Qualmark.
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Chinese, Japanese
Hotel links
Special Price:15% off room rate
3,005Reviews30Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,044
  • 1,031
  • 587
  • 217
  • 126
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
kiwisahoy wrote a review Apr 2023
Auckland, New Zealand145 contributions49 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our 2nd visit and the hotel is still wonderful to stay in. Room well presented and cleaned and maintained beautifully. The view which you cannot stop,looking at .
Oh and all hotel staff were beautifully presented and friendly. Makes such a difference to see a smiling face or two. We ate dinner (buffet) and breakfast … all food and service could not be faulted and selection and freshness of all dishes is to be admired. Plenty for adults and children to eat.
Well done to all who work at the hermitage. I left feeling sad to be going.
We did the glacier explorer tour with the hotel and once again it was well handled by all staff from the hotel through to boats and bus driver.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
YPIYCI5 wrote a review Mar 2020
Kansas City, Kansas128 contributions52 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hermitage in Mt Cook Village is a great location for exploring Aoraki/Mt. Cook. It also houses the Sir Edmund Hillary museum (which is very interesting). We stayed here one night and, despite hearing rave reviews and “must see”, felt it was average. Staff are helpful and mostly friendly. Self service guest laundry is available for a nominal fee, from 9A-9P, which is a plus. Rooms are adequate and comfortable enough but be aware, walls are paper thin. You will hear EVERYTHING around you. Our request for a fan (for air flow and for blocking noise) was met with friendliness and a quick delivery to our room. Again, this is a wonderful location if you are exploring Aoraki, otherwise you might consider Lake Tekapo — not far away and a good base camp for a range of activities.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Hermitage Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hermitage Hotel
Responded 15 Mar 2020
Thank you for choosing the Hermitage for your recent stay. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the Museum and found it interesting. We will certainly pass on your feedback to the team and appreciate you mentioning the speed of which your requests were met. We do hope over all you enjoyed waking up in Mt Cook and your views of Aoraki.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shebe43 wrote a review Jan 2020
Blue Mountains, Australia465 contributions163 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed a couple of nights at the Hermitage hotel at Mount Cook village. The Superior room with mountain view is definitely worth the little bit extra, as you have stunning views of Mt Sefton and Mt Cook in the distance. A good hotel room with 2 queen sized beds, good balcony, average bathroom, but breathtaking view directly from the room and balcony. Due to availability we had the standard twin room for the next night, which was oK, still had balcony and views looking out towards the valley rather than mountains.
Rooms smallish, especially with suitcases on floors. Bathrooms very small, shower over bath. No space to put toiletry bags.
We ate the buffet meals for breakfast and dinner. You need to book for the dinner buffet, but not the breakfast.
The food was delicious, but we are vegetarian, and there were limited options for hot food, and to be honest it was over priced at $69 a head. The breakfasts had everything you could think of, but again, pretty pricey at $33 per head. The cafe on site does not option until 9.00am, so this was the only option really. The food was good quality and nice but I felt they took advantage of there being very few alternatives.
The reception area clearly could not cope on a day when the hotel was fully booked. I had to re-check in between the two rooms, and I waited in a queue at reception for over 45 minutes with only 2 people serving, even though there were 4 computers and at least 3 people wandering around in the background. I don't think they managed that very well.
We were there in hot weather, around 29 degrees. Be aware that there is no airconditioning in the hotel rooms, and no fly screens on the balcony doors. This meant that you either got very hot in the rooms at night, or risked getting bitten.
There are mosquitoes and sandflies. Recommend that you buy an electronic insect repellant for the night, and then you could leave the balcony door open.
Despite this issues, it is a lovely iconic hotel to stay in, with the most stunning views.
free parking on site, and wifi in rooms. Phone service is not reliable as this is a remote location.
The location is remote, and although it is called Mt Cook Village, there is very little infrastructure here other than the main hotel, and a few other cabin options, plus the visitor centre. The main hotel has a shop but it mostly sells souvenir, some cold drinks, ice creams, a few biscuit snacks. There is a casual cafe on site, which opens from 9am until approx 4pm which serves drinks, coffees, pies, sandwiches etc.
If you are going in the peak time, recommend that you book any guided trips beforehand as it gets very busy.
Yes I would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Select the mountain view rooms if you can, well worth the bit extra.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Hermitage Hotel, Marketing at The Hermitage Hotel
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Thank you Shebe43 for taking the time to post your review. You have some great points of what we offer and we are delighted that you enjoyed the views, the food and the facilities. We are most certainly using your feedback to see how we can address the hotter nights where some guests wish for windows and balcony doors to remain open. In the meantime, the Hermitage Hotel features 164 rooms, with 6 categories that vary in price and offerings, among these rooms we feature 60 with air conditioning, should you ever return we would like to recommend these for you. Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JillToroa wrote a review Jan 2020
Wellington, New Zealand12 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in a room with a view, so it was magical. Panorama Restaurant provided a very nice meal. However there was also lots of selection for the buffet dinner and breakfast which to cater for a wide range of people who were visiting, but not cheap.
Great access to walks in the area and we found Happy hour on-tap drinks with a lovely view before the main crowds came into the dining area. Most welcome after a long walk.
Dark Sky Star gazing was fully booked, but as we missed out, a friendly staffer suggested looking out from tracks nearby, away from building lights. This worked really well, and more restful away from main tourists.
Department of Conservation walks were well signposted and staff were seen mowing verges. However toilets at the entrance to walks, need to be better maintained due to high use.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Best views from rooms on upper floors, but extra charge for views.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Hermitage Hotel, Marketing at The Hermitage Hotel
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed all elements of your stay. The hotel is quite large and offers many different options for dining so thank you for pointing this out. I am sure the Department of Conservation may be interested in your feedback which could be posted on their sites. Thank you again and we hope to see next time you visit Mt Cook.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charles N wrote a review Mar 2020
Stamford, United Kingdom33 contributions14 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The drive to this hotel is breath-taking with spectacular views. The checking in process was slow and haphazard with many rooms not being available for guests. On approaching the hotel it is clear that there are two sections to the hotel - an older section with a newer block of rooms behind. Our room was a room at the front with a view of the mountain but it was small. The restaurants in the hotel are very expensive, the buffet was $70 and breakfast was $33 per person. It was helpful to be told that there was a cafe in the village which was 10 minutes walk away which served fast food but it was adequate for us that night.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Doug M wrote a review Jan 2020
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia6 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed one night and expected a magical experience based on the high cost of the room. Not so. We had spent the day hiking but do not eat a phenomenal amount so were expecting a small meal when we closed out the day. This was not the case. The way the dining options are setup it attempts to fleece the most out of you by reducing your options. The cafe closes at 4:30pm which leaves bar snacks, buffet and 3 course set meal. The bar snacks are small in portion and over priced. The buffet is $79 per adult and $29 per child. For a family of 4 (3 adults 1 child) this was ridiculous. The set 3 course meal was $65 each which again was too much food. No option for a small entree or a single main.
We were staying in a room out near the end of one of the sections and the WiFi was fluctuating to non existent at time. Not great for communicating with family at home in Australia facing bush fires. A request for a cake for our daughter was late in being fulfilled in the morning and we had to chase it up instead of it arriving as planned. Quality was poor for a $55 cake.
On a positive not the bar staff were exemplary. They deserve a bonus as they were the only reason this was not a 1 star rating.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Hermitage H, Guest Relations Manager at The Hermitage Hotel
Responded 5 Jan 2020
We are very disappointed that we did not manage to leave a good impression on you during your stay. In NZD we feel that children aged 6yrs and up at $19.50 for an all you can eat Buffet and Adults at only $69.50 should be not only great value for money for all the inclusions but in line with most remote establishments that offer this style of venue, location and standards. We are disappointed that you did not find the Chamois Bar and Grill as the menu and prices there may have suited your family better. We are sorry to hear the WiFi was intermittent in your room and hope you had a chance to report this as we are trying to resolve any issues as soon as we can. We apologise that you felt the cake was poor and will be looking into this immediately as we would like to support any celebration. Thank you again for your valuable feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AdventureSeeking wrote a review Jan 2020
Auckland Central, New Zealand20 contributions37 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is huge and over run with tourists. The woman who checked us in gave us the worst possible instructions on how to reach our room and we ended up walking in circles for no reason.

That said, the bar staff was the highlight of our stay. When we were discussing the exorbitant $70 pp buffet price a bartender came up to us to offer tapas from the bar menu or an option down the hill. He really went out of his way to help us.

Similarly, another bar staff member gave us some trail suggestions that wouldn't be mobbed by tourists. We had a beautiful hike and only saw 6 other people.

Seems as though this place is really interested in large tour groups who will just check the usual boxes. Seek out the bartenders for a much better experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Hermitage H, Guest Relations Manager at The Hermitage Hotel
Responded 19 Jan 2020
Thank you for your response AdventureSeeking, We are very happy our experienced team were able to assist in giving you extra options for dining and trails as although a very remote location there are plenty of options to suit everyone's taste and budget. Aoraki/ Mt Cook is a very popular New Zealand destination, named as a "Must Do" this is mainly due to the abundance of history in and around the hotel, Sir Edmund Hillary, NZ's highest peak and the longest glacial lake to name a few. November to March is high season in New Zealand with lots of overseas tourists taking the opportunity to visit these beautiful locations, we would recommend coming April- June should you want a different experience & to avoid the crowds.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gwen_coleman5 wrote a review Sept 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand58 contributions9 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This was planned as the highlight of our South Island Trip, a special treat for my birthday. Whilst the location and views are obviously unrivalled, the anticipation of luxury was met with huge disappointment. On entry, the lobby is impressive although on Thursday 10th September when we arrived in mid afternoon the fire wasn't even lit! The receptionist was absolutely lovely and gave us the key to our room. On entry, we both just stood and stared at the tired room with the minute ensuite. Yes we could see the mountains, you would need to be blind not to, however, our eyes were drawn to the car park and roof tops immediately in front of us - even though we were on the 5th floor. I went back to reception and was quickly given the key to a room on the 8th floor. Sadly it was even more tired looking than the first and only had one bed - we had booked for a Queen twin. Back to reception I went. This time the Mgr was there, she informed me that they had not had any complaints before! usually they catered for an international market and had adapted to the kiwi market. We were then given a room on the 9th floor which was a QTwin with a slightly larger ensuite and an uninterrupted view. Due to our disappointment with the room, we viewed the menu for the dining room with scepticism and with so little choice decided to go to the bar to eat instead. The dining area's are impressive, the food not so much. My husband had the fish and chips which was good, I had the salmon plater which was luke warm, there just wasn't much in the way of choice. Breakfast was average. I do need to point out that at all stages, the service was friendly and helpful. The owners need to take a long look at their accommodation options and invest. They are trading on reputation and history, forgetting that they need to keep evolving and maintaining their status.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: ask for at least the 8th floor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Hermitage Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hermitage Hotel
Responded 13 Sept 2020
Thank you gwen_coleman5, for your review. We are sorry to hear that on this occasion, our rooms did not meet your expectation. We are however pleased to hear that you found our team to be friendly and quick to respond to your requests. With 3 different rooms to view and consider, of which both King and Queen beds are optional, we do hope you found level 9 to your liking as it was our pleasure to be able to offer you, the complimentary upgrade. Thank you again for your feedback as it allows us the chance to review our food offerings with our Chef as we remain committed to ensuring the highest of standards. Regards, Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lord MacDuff wrote a review Apr 2020
Scotland, United Kingdom711 contributions406 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It’s an OK hotel, 3 or 4 stars but the rooms are small and they will fleece you for money at every turn. They close the cheaper eating options by 6pm so you are forced to eat at their buffet or a la carte restaurant. The buffet is ridiculously priced at $65 per head but the selection of food is reasonable and there will be something for everyone. It is pretty ordinary buffet though. The A la carte has several expensive choices but you could just have a main and leave. There is also the Chamois bar & restaurant a short walk away which serves burgers, pizza and steaks until 10.30pm and is more reasonably priced. Regardless take some supplies with you for walking and for your room. There are no shops (some Hermitage outlets) here at all so you really need to have stuff with you. The rooms are compact with basic furniture only, tea, coffee, milk and fridge (to keep you supplies cool?). We were in the Mt Cook wing with mountain view which had a balcony which we enjoyed a lot. The views are stupendous and the walks exhilarating, stay at least 2 nights and enjoy!
We did the Tasman Glacier tour – what fun and so interesting and went tramping in 26C! Our booking included breakfast which is a good buffet and sets you u for the day. The coffee is poor but naturally there is all sorts of coffee, available to order at additional cost! The wifi was excellent though there was nowhere in our room to use a laptop so the ironing board came in handy!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NapierAro wrote a review July 2021
napier490 contributions108 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The magical location meant that we chose to stay here three days and nights, and we were certainly well rewarded with some great glimpses of the mountains and a few short walks.
We liked our room with it's very comfortable bed and spotless linen.
Wonderful international staff throughout.

However a few minor issues:
1) As others have previously said, the range of Bar food available was poor.
2) The carpet in the Sir Ed cafe was stained and well overdue for a deep clean.
3) Ditto for the chairs in the Alpine Restaurant. They were grubby.
4) We enjoyed the buffet dining and the food quality was fine. However there's no spare cutlery or serviettes available. Therefore once staff remove the dishes from the first course, diners had to take utensils from other set tables. The salt and pepper grinders required checking to ensure they had contents as well.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon Douthett, General Manager at The Hermitage Hotel
Responded 23 July 2021
Dear NapierAro Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hermitage Hotel Aoraki/Mount Cook and for sharing with everyone that we are still available for all to visit. The team and I greatly appreciate your detailed feedback on your experience as we value this as an opportunity to improve. We are currently reviewing our bar food menu, this menu will however continue to be kept limited due to the other options we have available. Cleanliness of the overall hotel is something that the Housekeeping team takes great pride in, your comments on specific areas requiring additional TLC are highly appreciated and we have added these to the areas requiring urgent attention. I have personally spoken with the Food and Beverage leadership team about your comments about the buffet dining. Cutlery availability and replenishment of grinders have been added to the training of the team to ensure these are better looked after moving forward. Thanks again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit the Aoraki/Mount Cook National Park. Kindest Regards Simon Douthett General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from jollyrobert
Bridgend, United Kingdom994 contributions907 helpful votes
I really don't know, but it's comfortable
Espley2015 asked a question Apr 2023
Auckland Central, New Zealand1 contribution
Are there spa facilities open to non residents?
Answer from Ika
5 contributions1 helpful vote
I have no idea. We stayed very short in the hotel, because we disliked the hotel
Answer from Navit Y
New York City, New York133 contributions62 helpful votes
The lodge is open , call them and ask them for a room it can be full !
Answer from The Hermitage H
Queenstown, New Zealand9 contributions1 helpful vote
Hello! We can confirm that this is not true, the Hermitage is very much open whilst the Lodge is currently in hibernation. Many thanks
Answer from Kate C
Invercargill, New Zealand84 contributions27 helpful votes
Was open but evacuated today I think due to fire on road into mount cook village. You would need to check with hotel when reopening. Not sure what difference was but only small difference in price and got a room on top floor with great views of mount cook. Maybe cheaper ones lower down
jbparker2 wrote a tip Yesterday
Melbourne, Australia75 contributions72 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty of parking. An arbitrary charge of $50 quoted to charge our hybrid car seemed excessive."
Read full review
Brynkoru wrote a tip 16 Apr
Blenheim, New Zealand243 contributions43 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms on top floors have best view"
Read full review
Dapppa wrote a tip 14 Apr
Kolkata (Calcutta), India126 contributions69 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Limited activities - book beforehand else everything gets sold out Dinner at Alpine - book beforehand else you won’t get your time slot"
Read full review
Robertos-Journey wrote a tip 11 Apr
Sandpoint, Idaho27 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The room does not have a safe. I cold hear my neighbors arguing through the adjoining doors. Luckily they went to be early."
Read full review
Birthday24NZ wrote a tip 8 Apr
2 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Premium room overlooking Mount Cook lovely (prebook restaurant)Lacking extras i.e. drinks in fridge/nibbles etc. Buffet breakfast was v poor"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mt. Cook Village area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$407 - AU$977 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hermitage hotel mt cook village, hermitage new zealand
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionMackenzie DistrictAoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)Mt. Cook Village
NUMBER OF ROOMS
164
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE HERMITAGE HOTEL 2024 Prices & Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about The Hermitage Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Hermitage Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Hooker Valley Track (1.5 km), Blue Lakes and Tasman Glacier walks (6.8 km), and Kea Point Track (0.09 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Hermitage Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Hermitage Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Hermitage Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Hermitage Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Hermitage Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, The Alpine Restaurant, and The Panorama Restaurant.
Is The Hermitage Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Mt. Cook Village.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Hermitage Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Hermitage Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Hermitage Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Chinese, and Japanese.
Does The Hermitage Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All Mt. Cook Village HotelsMt. Cook Village Hotel DealsHotels near The Hermitage Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars