We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Blue Pub Methven

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Blue Pub Methven
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 57: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We called in for lunch on a slow Monday. The woman behind the bar was friendly and welcoming - after she saw we had kids with us she offered to get a high chair for our baby and a smaller seat from inside for the toddler. The food was outstanding. We had fish and chips and the chicken salad. Both... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carina A
MethvenPubs, Manager at Blue Pub Methven, responded to this review

Thanks for the nice review - we do hope you come and see us again. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
344 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Cold wet day on a public holiday, but we made our way for an overnight stay in Methven. On arrival we decided to have lunch at the iconic Blue Pub. Only a few inside but a warm welcome from the barman. Ordered our meals and drinks from a simple no fuss menu and played a game of pool while waiting... More 

Helpful?
Thank Buckoinchch
MethvenPubs, Manager at Blue Pub Methven, responded to this review

Yes the log fire is a winner in the bar isn't it. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the food too! More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Awesome stay, with plenty of entertainment. Friendly people. Sufficient/basic rooms which is exactly as needed! Pub downstairs made for a more interesting and convenient stay with 'decent' pub meals. Thanks, guys!

Helpful?
Thank Y8757TBsimonb
MethvenPubs, Manager at Blue Pub Methven, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We hope to see you again:) More 

Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Visited here on a miserable day for lunch.Found the open fire welcoming. The pub atmosphere is enhanced by the open fire. I found the price of a beer expensive, and the meal quite basic, but generous. This is a pub, where people have the choice of where they sit, to eat. I had the steak meal which I thought was... More 

Helpful?
Thank 62Peter1952
MethvenPubs, Manager at Blue Pub Methven, responded to this review

Cheers! Please come again:) More 

Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2016

In the middle of Methven, indoor and outdoor seating. Fantastic on point service from all staff, free and generous wifi, huge meals. Used by locals and tourists, still retains that country welcome, icon in the town

Helpful?
Thank rosemarykiwi
MethvenPubs, Manager at Blue Pub Methven, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post a review, we're glad you had a good time! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Not a great experience with the family. Staff not welcoming, food average and amenities poor. The menu is limited and food poor quality - limited options and not tasty, the fish was from frozen/packaged. Not recommended for dinner. Disappointing

Helpful?
1 Thank Dougal M
MethvenPubs, Manager at Blue Pub Methven, responded to this review

Oh no! We really do not like to hear that you did not feel welcome at The Blue. Our staff pride themselves on customer service so we will follow up with all our front line staff on this matter. Regarding our food, we do have an all day menu as well as an evening a la carte menu which we... More 

Brunswick Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We chose this pub over the brown pub across the street as it looked less grubby. That may have been the case but $9 for a beer at a pub is getting ridiculous. It was empty, no decent service (despite being early evening), no atmosphere, no fire even though it was a cold night and was ready to be lit.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scarlett42i
MethvenPubs, Manager at Blue Pub Methven, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience at The Blue Pub. The fire was indeed ready to be lit and in fact is always roaring in the bar, however the only day we can think of that this was not the case was when someone had pushed a large log of wood into the log... More 

Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2016

If you have the time, drop into the blue pub for a cold beer and some warm food. Great NZ pub. We stopped in after a day's skiing and the fire was roaring and it topped off a great day. Kids had plenty of space to run around outside.

Helpful?
Thank Jobber1
BluePub, Manager at Blue Pub Methven, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive comments:) That fire definitely does the bizzo. Hope you come back again! More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Rooms are at 2nd floor while the ground floor is the pub and restaurant. The 3 beds room we have was reasonable spacious. It is clean and beds are comfortable. The shared bathrooms and shower room are not as warm as we want in the middle of july. The only problem we encounter during our stay was the internet connection... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alex W
BluePub, Manager at Blue Pub Methven, responded to this review

Sorry to hear the internet was down during your stay. We have identified a hardware issue and are currently replacing a faulty unit. I will also look into the bathrooms temperature, we have heaters set to timers so I will check on them. Thanks for the comments. More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

This was more backpacker accommodation than I realised when we booked. Handy to Mt Hutt but i didn't get a good night sleep. Old bed linen, toilet was miles away as was the shower and there was far too much light coming into the rooms from glass windows above the door to the room. Looks freshly painted which was good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cas C
BluePub, Manager at Blue Pub Methven, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for taking the time to be specific about your experience. We certainly make a big effort in our advertising to be transparent and although our rooms are not ensuited, the bathrooms are clean and new. We also accept that the Blue Pub is not highly recommended for families with young children as we have regular live music... More 

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Methven hotels
0.5 km away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
111 reviews
0.0 km away
Skibo house B&B
Skibo house B&B
#1 of 11 in Methven
46 reviews
0.6 km away
Ski Time
Ski Time
#1 of 21 in Methven
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Brinkley Resort
Brinkley Resort
#2 of 21 in Methven
169 reviews
0.5 km away
Methven Motels & Apartments
31.4 km away
Lake Coleridge Lodge
Lake Coleridge Lodge
#2 of 11 in Methven
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Budget accommodation in true authentic kiwi pub style. Warm, clean and comfortable rooms with singles, twins, doubles, king size beds and two quad rooms to cater for larger groups. Large common room and TV lounge as well as fully renovated kitchen and bathrooms. High speed Wi-fi. Off street parking, restaurant and bar on site. Mt Hutt ski area transport departs across the road. Walking, mountain biking, golf courses, rafting, fishing, skiing & snowboarding all close by. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blue Pub Methven

Address: 2 Barkers Road, Methven 7730, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Price Range: $65 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Pub Methven 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Pub Methven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Blue Pub Methven staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Unsure about rooms”
 of 5 bubbles rosemarykiwi, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“good property with character”
 of 5 bubbles FrankandTonia, 24 Jan 2016 | Read review
“stayed in room 10 which is warm as it gets sun”
 of 5 bubbles Zentraveller08, 30 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Avoid the rear-facing rooms at all cost. The front may be noisy due to visitors wandering the street, but at least you avoid the noise of the refrigerator- and air-conditioning units.”
 of 5 bubbles JKaz87, 28 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Avoid room 7. The beds are a bit spongy.”
 of 5 bubbles CreativeAnarchy, 10 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay