We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Forest Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Forest Lodge
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 15: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 November 2014

The location of the hotel is only a few moments walk to the centre of Methven which means it is in a quiet location just on the outskirts of town. Ample parking for just about any type of vehicle is a real bonus. Having checked in, I was surprised to learn that there were no bar and no restaurant facilities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EddieC566
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The hotel was wonderfully clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful, even when each day we would come down 10 minutes before breakfast finished. The only bad thing was the showers took about 10 minutes to warm up. I suggest turning it on the reading a book for a while.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikaB505
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had just arrived and my 10 year old had the start of a bad ear infection from the flight....the owner, Ann , made an appointment at a wonderful doctor and within a couple of days we were back to non stop fun!! We really enjoyed our stay at the lodge and the food is by far the best in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gumby111
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We based ourselves here for 6 nights (hubby played golf in an Ashburton tournament). Although the room was small it was very clean and serviced every day. The bathroom was spotless and quite roomy. Tea & coffee making facilities, along with ironing equipment and a hair dryer were also supplied. Walking distance to town and fabulous breakfast/coffee at Primo Cafe....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naomi K
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We arrived and were welcomed by the owner Ian. After a short conversation he had our accommodation sorted and it was exactly what we were looking for.Great hosts and a very friendly feel about the place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross L
Invercargill
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We booked a night at Forest Lodge on Booking.com. It looked to have everything we required. However the room did not come up with what was under "room details". We mistakenly thought that we would get Sky TV and did not ask about it when booking. However when we got there we found that it did not, even though it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lesley C
Wanganui
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Dreadful experience. Saw a staff member once. No information. Poky room, not even a knife and plate.NOT DELUXE. Too lazy to open the office. Recommended a restaurant that was closed the three days we stayed there. You should not advertise open for business because you were not. Very eexpensive, a rip off.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pumpfi
Anne M, Manager at Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Pumpfi, I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our lodge. We have taken your comments on board and appreciate your criticisms. I would like to point out that most country lodges are not the same as hotels and we do not employ full time receptionist staff. It is certainly not a case of laziness...

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 20 September 2012

3 of us stayed there on a boys week end (left the WAGs at home)- each had a basic room upstairs with shared facilities (13/09 to 16/09) At equivalent AUD$40 a night, Forest lodge is value for money- only comment is that breakfast could do with some ham/ cheese/ bacon- but at AUD$5....... The Beer was fantastic and evening meals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henry S
AUSTRALIA
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Have just come home from a great time at the Forest lodge ,Great resturant ,Stayed 3 nights here in a luxury room very nice but small ,No phone in room which we found a problem as we did not have a mobile ,we could not find a public phone anywhere on the property /,all in all great weather whilst there,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaOutback
Les Diablerets, Switzerland
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I have been staying already 4-5 times at the Forest Lodge. The new rooms are very nice and the atmosphere of the place is great. Good beer, nice bar and excellent food at the restaurant. Really recommend this place. Good for families or for friends.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ormonan

1 photo of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Methven hotels
1.2 km away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
111 reviews
0.6 km away
Ski Time
Ski Time
#1 of 21 in Methven
94 reviews
1.1 km away
Brinkley Resort
Brinkley Resort
#3 of 21 in Methven
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Methven Motels & Apartments
30.8 km away
Lake Coleridge Lodge
Lake Coleridge Lodge
#2 of 11 in Methven
40 reviews
0.9 km away
Blue Pub Methven
Blue Pub Methven
#4 of 11 in Methven
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge

Additional Information about Forest Lodge

Address: 140 Forest Drive, Methven, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Forest Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are a variety of choices available at Forest Lodge for accommodation.”
 of 5 bubbles RossL105, 16 Jun 2013 | Read review
“Don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles Pumpfi, 12 Dec 2012 | Read review
“The lowest floor and not too close to the bar,”
 of 5 bubbles ormonan, 20 Aug 2012 | Read review
“Be away from reception and drying room during ski season?lots of hall traffic and interruption.”
 of 5 bubbles RuthB422, 18 Jul 2012 | Read review
4 of 4