We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pinewood Motels

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pinewood Motels
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pinewood Motels
See the most recent reviews
Showing 103: English reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Excellent 3 days spent here. Very comfortable. Scenery amazing. Thanks for the wine you left in the room for my son's birthday. A lovely touch! Observatory in Tekapo a highlight. Highly recommended. Fairlie Bakery pies better than ever! Will definately be back. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 12,345,678,901,111,121
PinewoodMotels, Owner at Pinewood Motels, responded to this review

So glad to hear you had a great time - and you discovered our Fairlie pies! We're so lucky having them close by, even if it isn't great for the waistline!

Reviewed 24 July 2016

Stayed in the 2-bedroom unit, which was great for our family of 4. Super staff, and Gizmo the cat was an added bonus! Well located, with a short walk into town for meals, shops, and everything needed. Comfortable space, with efficient heat and heated bedding, which helped in the middle of winter. A great stop on our way to Mt....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marthaczb
PinewoodMotels, Owner at Pinewood Motels, responded to this review

Hi Martha, thanks so much for leaving a review, and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Gizmo was a bit subdued the following day and I'm sure he was missing all the cuddles from your wonderful children! Hope you enjoyed your flight over the mountains and enjoy the rest of your visit. Regards, Chris.

Christchurch
Reviewed 11 July 2016

We stopped for one night on our way through from Christchurch to Mt Cook - it's a convenient break to the journey. Friendly reception, very clean room, comfortable bed, surprisingly quiet considering it's on the State Highway. Our only compliant was the heating system is not great, which is a problem when you are staying in winter. The motel does...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whattosay
PinewoodMotels, Owner at Pinewood Motels, responded to this review

Hi, sorry to hear you had issues with the heating. The heaters usually manage to keep the room warm and perhaps there was a fault with your unit. If you could let us know which unit you stayed in we can get the heating checked over. Regards, Chris.

Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed the night here. Offers room for a couple and a family of four. I stayed in the room for four, and it was pretty spacious. It also comes with free unlimited wifi to every room. Good service, the reception is very friendly. Apparently, I find that it's pretty cold here (it was winter), unless you were really close to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
PinewoodMotels, Owner at Pinewood Motels, responded to this review

Hi Kevin Many thanks for leaving a review - we are upgrading the heating progressively. In the meantime there are additional heaters provided in each room. I can get pretty cold in the Mackenzie district - last year we were getting down to -15 overnight, I think it was about -9 when you where here which is cold enough! Regards,...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 31 May 2016

To be welcomed with a friendly smile is great, but the proprietor Chris went out of his way to make sure we were warm and comfortable upon arrival. We stayed in Unit #3 and found it to be very clean & tidy, with plenty of room (2 bedroom, lounge, kitchenette & bathroom). Free Wi-Fi and on site parking available. Within...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iris0219
PinewoodMotels, Owner at Pinewood Motels, responded to this review

Hi Iris, thanks for taking the time to write a review - so glad you enjoyed your stay. Regards, Chris.

Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed in room #5 (2 bedroom apartment) and everything is perfect. The room is very clean and beautiful and have all the stuff we need. Kitchen is very organized. Parking is right in front of the unit so it is very convenient. The information booklet is quite helpful. Internet is fast and reliable. Staff at the reception is really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whitefang1897
PinewoodMotels, Owner at Pinewood Motels, responded to this review

Hi Anne, many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Our small team try their best to maintain high standards and it's wonderful to know that it's appreciated. Thank you! Chris.

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 15 April 2016

The room itself was large, clean and comfortable, with a kitchette and free wifi that worked good. And the staff wasn't rude, but they also weren't particularly friendly or helpful. They sent an email ahead of time reminding us of their short office hours, which was actually nice since we sometime did sight-seeing till late. The check-in was short-n-sweet and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
PinewoodMotels, Owner at Pinewood Motels, responded to this review

Hi Bob, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear you didn't feel you received a warm welcome - we are a family run business and pride ourselves on providing a friendly welcome, and I'm sorry you didn't feel this was the case. Our office is open from checkin time at 2pm until 8.30pm, and...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

Spacious and lovely cosy place for family trip. Friendly staff. Heater, stove and wifi is available. Recommend others to stay if driving. Not very near town area nor are there shopping centre around but a drive away to Geraldine and Mt. Cook.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank getmesomething
PinewoodMotels, Owner at Pinewood Motels, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Regards, Chris.

Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Beautifully CLEAN (a huge plus for me) Everything we need & plenty of space. Water pressure a little lack lustre & a bit of up dating wouldn't go astray but I couldn't fault hygiene standards& comfort, great value for money. Owners very helpful & pleasant on the phone Thanks.... Ps, We loved seeing the felines, we miss ours when we're...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janis C
PinewoodMotels, Owner at Pinewood Motels, responded to this review

Hi Janis, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review - we take pride in our cleaning standards and know how cleanliness is to our guests. I'll be sure to pass your feedback onto our cleaners. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thanks, Chris.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 12 March 2016

We stayed here this week. We asked for an accessible room as Husband is in a wheelchair. Great rooms (double and single room with two beds) Bathroom well set up for a wheelchair, and no issue for able bodied people. Basic basin, shower and toilet but with hand rails. The owners are helpful and friendly. The unit was spotless. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cb4676
PinewoodMotels, Owner at Pinewood Motels, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I understand your point about the gravel in the car park. We are having some concreting done over the winter in another area, and I'll explore the possibility of putting a concrete parking area in front of the access unit to remove that problem. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Regards,...

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairlie
0.1 km away
Aorangi Motel
Aorangi Motel
#1 of 4 in Fairlie
113 reviews
29.9 km away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,237 reviews
29.7 km away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Mt Dobson Motel
Mt Dobson Motel
#3 of 4 in Fairlie
34 reviews
1.0 km away
Musterer's High Country Accomodation
0.7 km away
Gladstone Grand Hotel
Gladstone Grand Hotel
#5 of 6 in Fairlie
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our comfortable, friendly, family owned and operated motel, situated a short walk from the centre of town, is the perfect base for travellers wishing to explore Fairlie, Tekapo, and the many attractions that the Mackenzie district has to offer. We have a wide range of rooms available, all with fast free unlimited Wifi, cooking facilities, bathrooms and outdoor seating areas. Your hosts, Chris & Leanne are on hand to ensure you have everything you need to make your stay comfortable, and we can provide information and bookings for most local attractions. Continental breakfast is available for a small extra charge. Children will love the playground! DVD players, DVD's and board games are available on loan from reception. Enjoy outdoor dining with our complimentary gas BBQ. A guest laundry with washer, dryer and a drying room for ski gear are available for a small charge. Cot and high-chair are provided on request (no charge). Pinewood Motels is also the ideal location for business and corporate clients being centrally located between Timaru, Geraldine and Tekapo. Contact us for the best corporate rates. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pinewood Motels

Address: 25 Mount Cook Road, Fairlie 7925, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Fairlie
Price Range: $115 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinewood Motels 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pinewood Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pinewood Motels staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Disabled room has terrible double bed”
 of 5 bubbles boxesandboxes, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 5 is accessible to wheelchairs and is 2 bedroom”
 of 5 bubbles cb4676, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are the same I believe.”
 of 5 bubbles LiJohn80, 4 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms suck”
 of 5 bubbles randomguy2016, 28 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles Rhonda15, 25 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5