We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bellwood Inn Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitney
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Bellwood Inn Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 17: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We wanted to stay inside or very near to the park. This bnb is a great choice. The backyard is a small campground and a gateway into forests. You can walk or bike around that area and still feel like you are almost inside the park. Unknowingly we booked room 1, which can house 4 people but you have to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D S
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 10 July 2016

From my perspective the Inn was a wonderful international meeting ground and met my needs much more than adequately. I met people from Europe and we spent much time in discussion over a serve yourself breakfast that was ready, full and neatly set out for our ease and comfort. My room had a Jacuzzi tub , comfortable good size bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank braincandy19
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 September 2015

It is true that some rooms have been renovated, we stayed in one of them room #2, but the fact that they were not clean ruined it for us: the sheets were too small for the double bed so we were fighting to avoid rubbing against the things that never get cleaned, like the bed covers, which really smelled of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nathalie B
BellwoodInn, Manager at Bellwood Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Its safe to say that some people want to have a holiday and resent spending money to have it. I believe that to be true with this customer. We believe paying $50 a night does not warrant a dirty room, nor did we give customers that 20 years ago when we were $50 a night.The old runner she spoke of...

Reviewed 11 August 2015

We stayed at Bellwood Inn Bed and Breakfast,Whiteney during Aug 2015 long weekend.The stay was very comfortable.Since it is very close to Algonquin East Gate, going to different trail and parks from here was very easy. The owners are friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaganathan P
BellwoodInn, Manager at Bellwood Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review! its was a real pleasure to have you stay with us!

amsterdam
Reviewed 28 July 2015

After our initial hesitation we decided to stay in the completely refurbished rooms with spotless bathrooms. The 2 brothers were extremely helpful to make us feel at ease after our initial disappointment that the Dreamcatcher Motel was full and the room booked was in the B&B. (that was not clear on the phone) We had a great laid-back evening in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marcelet
BellwoodInn, Manager at Bellwood Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review!

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 21 October 2014

A group of friends and I stayed at the Bellwood Inn October 2014. We were heading into Algonquin for some wildlife viewing and birding. We enjoyed the proximity to the park and also how interested the gentleman at the Inn was in hearing about it. The owners of the Inn had stayed opened later then normal to accommodate our group...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KarineL2
BellwoodInn, Manager at Bellwood Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review. We will work on the details you talked about as soon as we can.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 11 September 2014

Booked reserved and confirmed room No.2 in the new Algonquin Dream Catcher Motel on there internet side. Upon arrival I was given a key to room No.3 in Bellwood Inn Bed& Breakfast. After me telling the owner I had a reservation in Dream Catcher Motel room 2 , I was told People always make mistakes booking on line for there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frank B
BellwoodInn, Manager at Bellwood Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I understand this customers frustration but am really disappointed that he felt the need to take it to a public forum in order to get us back for a situation that was outside of our control and that we did our best to make him feel comfortable with. The actual situation is that he had booked a room at our...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Bellwood Inn B&B, along with its adjoining business, the Algonquin Dream Catcher Motel, are the 1st accommodation after exiting the east gate of Algonquin Park. My (young adult) son & I stayed at the charming B&B after a day in the park. This family-run business (establ 1929) has recently been renovated by grandsons of the original owners; they were raised...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DianeAllen
BellwoodInn, Manager at Bellwood Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, it was a pleasure to have you!

Breda, The Netherlands
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Very cozy home-from-home. The owners/hosts were very friendly, and really take it easy in a good way. The room was small but nice (whirlpool! and airconditioning), and the breakfast was very nice. By the way, the breakfast room was decorated with all kinds of stuff, you could really just spend an hour there to see everything in that little museum....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hans W
BellwoodInn, Manager at Bellwood Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review! it was our pleasure to have you!

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 2 October 2013

spent 1 night at this motel. Its located just before the east gate of Algonquin Park. Its very clean and quiet. Although the rooms are small. They had a microwave,fridge, and cofee maker For a 1 night stop it was perfect Also not too pricey- $104/night

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fatima027
BellwoodInn, Manager at Bellwood Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay! For people reading this, our rooms range from $69 to $99 for two people depending on the room you choose. Hope you can come back and visit us again some time!

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitney
36.5 km away
Arowhon Pines
Arowhon Pines
#1 of 1 in Algonquin Provincial Park
159 reviews
0.9 km away
The Mad Musher
The Mad Musher
#5 of 6 in Whitney
10 reviews
33.7 km away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#3 of 15 in Algonquin Provincial Park
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 km away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
38.6 km away
The Arlington Hotel
The Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maynooth
33 reviews
28.2 km away
Madawaska Lodge
Madawaska Lodge
#2 of 4 in Madawaska
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Historic Bellwood Inn, Family owned since 1929. We are the closest accommodation to Algonquin Provincial Park. We have 6 clean, comfortable and affordable rooms in a country friendly decor. Some of our rooms offer private Jacuzzi baths and a forest view. Enjoy our sitting room with coffee and tea center or relax on our country deck or around a cozy camp fire. Whether you're looking to spend a day in Algonquin Park or a week or more, Bellwood Inn is your best choice for value, cleanliness and comfort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bellwood Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: Hiway 60, Whitney, Ontario K0J 2M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Whitney
Price Range: $70 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bellwood Inn Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in the back are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles NathalieB427, 2 Sep 2015 | Read review
“You are better of camping in Algonquin Park. And that is the truth.”
 of 5 bubbles frankb71, 10 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Ask to see the rooms 1st before deciding whether to say, & if so, which one to choose.”
 of 5 bubbles DianeAllen, 23 Aug 2014 | Read review
“We had a room at the back, and that seems to be the better option, as the front side is just off the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles 584hansw, 14 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Rooms to the north (back) face the forest. Rooms on the south side face the highway. We have stayed in both and found that there is no appreciable noise coming from the highway, so orientation can be mainly personal choice.”
 of 5 bubbles Ted1945, 22 Sep 2013 | Read review
5 of 5