We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cordillera Escalera Lodge

Traveller (43)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (1)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Looking for a place to stay in Tarapoto? Then look no further than Cordillera Escalera Lodge, a family-friendly lodge that brings the best of Tarapoto to your doorstep. As your “home away from home,” the lodge rooms include a desk, a safe, and a minibar. In addition, Cordillera Escalera Lodge offers free breakfast, which will help make your Tarapoto trip additionally gratifying. Cordillera Escalera Lodge makes getting online easy, with free wifi. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests. For those interested in checking out Parroquia el Triunfo de la Santisima Cruz (2.1 km) while visiting Tarapoto, Cordillera Escalera Lodge is a short distance away. While staying in Tarapoto, you can check out a popular seafood restaurant like Si Senor Mas Aji, which is serving up some great dishes. During your visit, be sure to check out popular attractions like Centro Urku (1.1 km), Tierra Verde (2.0 km), and Sacha Runa (2.0 km), which are all within walking distance of the lodge. We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Cordillera Escalera Lodge as you experience everything Tarapoto has to offer.
Read more
Property amenities
Breakfast included
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Concierge
Laundry Service
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Room features
Family Rooms
Minibar
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Safe
Romantic
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
29Reviews
63Photos
0Q+A
2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 20
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
The reserve the lodge is located in is a very beautiful, but that is not enough to make up for the horrible service. First of all, the cabins are situated on top of a steep hill and the stone walkway is covered in moss and becomes very slippery when wet, which, in the
Read more
Response from Cordillera Esca... E, Director de Recepción at Cordillera Escalera Lodge
Responded 3 Jul. 2017
Again? The same couple of girlfriends that post the other last comment, the one of June 19th; Please to the public opinion: We don´t know why they want to discredit us, maybe because they tried to get advantage of us making some "schemes and stories" and ask not only for a night free also ask for money us to pay them because "someone was at the window looking" as one of the gals dare to affirm; we don´t fall in their game. Please get our word that we allways take care of our guest (our motivation) and accomplish all our travelers needs and take part of the search of guest´s unique experiences. (Just compare with the other 27(?) comments of us) Thanks Cordillera Escalera Ecolodge.
Read more
Although the lodge was beautiful, I cannot recommend anyone stay here because of the owners'/mangers' blatant disregard for guests' safety and comfort. They were unwilling to assist or claim responsibility for the traumatic experience we had or the mistakes they made. First
Read more
Response from Cordillera Esca... E, CEEL Reception. at Cordillera Escalera Lodge
Responded 21 Jun. 2017
Hello, first of all the main issue is money here involved...to decide if you stay one more night by a discount since you said "apologize / COMPENSATE" , since is a "word of one against other"... We have the right to tell our possition. 1.- Our site offers pick up fron airport as we did we have a brand new Trimobile for doing so since we are a small an cozy Lodge we use that transportation as the main way of transportation as the almost 90% of locals. 2.- What missinformation you said? You choose your own tour from a number of choices and prices ( not included), you knew when the tour guide will pick you up where to go, what to see, duration, and a long list of etcs, as well of photos in the flyer we provided at first. 3.- We use hotel locks for the main entrance and other for the bathroom, specially the last is to avoid risk or easy rescue for an a solo accident in shower, for example. 4.- The Walkway... is the first time someone complains about, well we cannot please everybody all the time, but talking about that... if were not there, travelers will not get to see the marvelous views of the Cordillera Escalera natural Preserve, as the bungalows are in a small hill and to get to them is a stone walkway with some incline, that makes the stay a global experience of the kindness and relax of the jungle. 5.- About security and incidents: Here is the main issue with money involved. - First of all we have a night shift gard. - The front desk attends fron 07:00 to 18:00 as we said including that we waited you from that hour yo to arrive and to book you in our lodge. - There´s no possibilitie that you came to reception at that time (with nobody attending as you knew) and without being attended with the night shift gard. - We have cameras all arround main and common areas of the lodge, and you dont leave your bungalow at anytime that night (video records the inclined walkway you dislike also), and also nightshift man was all the time before that "supposed intromission" in the first floor or mainhouse - reception surroundings. (he wasnot at your window looking at you - again video records that) - The time you said "shortly we arrived" was also not accurate... you arrived at 21:00 made check in, we helped with your bags and you called me at more or less 23:00. - The supossed "face in the window"... there were nobody of our employees at the upper bungalows at that time, and if was not someone (that we proved with video records) must be something or your only immagination since the bungalows are at the bottom of a untouched jungle, thats why we said maybe a leaf or shadow or the willing of get your stay free as you claimed us to return your money - we have proof that noone was there. - Paranormal activities? - We are kind and respectfull we never ever yell a guest, impossible! We love this activities and serving guest is our main priority. - Yes, we offered help that´s why we sended our gard to look for a intromission with no signs, footprints (shoe or bootprints), arround your bungalow, and changing you to another bungalow will make no difference with the "supposed face in window". - We make this response so readers will see what happened really and not make false assumptions of this kind of try to get ahead of money compensations with fake actions. Thanks.
Read more
We stayed at this property that is a bit out of the city in a protected area but the view, nature and tranquillity all worth it. The service was excellent, breakfast was delicious and staff are friendly. I would definitely go back.
Read more
You can simply look at the photo I included in my review, it says it all: the view from the Cordillera lodge is simply stunning. Seldom have I seen a garden this well maintained. Reception was super friendly and breakfast was copious, including even Amazon specialties. Minor
Read more
The rooms and property were very clean, the breakfasts were delicious with produce from their property and animals. Most importantly to me, the entire staff was loving, gentle and playful. Highly recommend!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
Descanso en hamaca
vista desde la habitación
Bungalows Cordillera Escalera Lodge
View from room!
PreviousNext
123
"I chose a cabin at the top of the property. The views are spectacular!"
"The lodges are all equally well appointed ."
PRICE RANGE
USD 55 - USD 174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PeruSan Martin RegionTarapoto
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing